Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Myking04

Rules clarification: Declare Attack vs. Declare Target

Recommended Posts

Hi guys, I am pretty new to Imperial Assault and I can't seem to find an answer on this and checking if anyone can help. When exactly is the "declare attack" step when performing an attack. Is it exactly the same as "Declare Target" on RRG for Attacks? Or is it the declaration of the "attack" action itself?

Here is the use case, Mak Eshka'rey's Ambush ability states "Use when you declare an attack targeting...",  Let's say the target didn't die after that attack, he then uses No Escape which states "...perform 1 additional attack targeting the same figure." 

If the declare attack is the Attack action itself, then Mak will not be able to use Ambush during the No Escape attack, as you are no longer declaring the attack action but instead following the Abilities instructions to perform an additional attack.

Correct me if I am wrong guys, as to my understanding, declaring is the action itself, so in other words, during your activation, you can only declare an Attack, Move, Rest, Interact, and Special Action.

If declare attack is the same as Declare Target, then why not say Declare target to begin with. i.e from Ambush above "Use during the declare target step during an attack targeting...". It is going to make ability text longer, but makes things a bit easier and specific. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Declaring attack and declaring target are the same trigger.

You can only declare attacks against valid targets, so to declare an attack you have to declare a target.

8 minutes ago, Myking04 said:

If declare attack is the same as Declare Target, then why not say Declare target to begin with. i.e from Ambush above "Use during the declare target step during an attack targeting...". It is going to make ability text longer, but makes things a bit easier and specific. 

You said it. It's longer, and makes the sentence structures less clear. Sometimes it takes quite a lot of work to both get the abilities work like expected according to the rules, and also readable, and fit the text space available.

Also see the long story: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1631857/ability-resolution-order-during-attacks

Also note that figures can perform attacks without the Attack action, so declaring that you are spending an action to perform an attack (Attack action) cannot be declaring an attack.

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
On 9/12/2017 at 12:06 AM, a1bert said:

Declaring attack and declaring target are the same trigger.

Sorry for resuming this.

Does this quote means I can use Arcing Shot when this FAQ kicks in?

"During an attack, if the attacker’s line of sight to the target space changes or if the defender moves, the attacker must then re-declare a target space. If none of the defender’s spaces are eligible, the attack misses, there is no target space, and abilities that refer to a target space have no effect."

In other words can I still draw line of sight to the on-the-lammer in the lucky case I can target a space adjacent to him thanks to Arcing Shot?

Thanks.

Edited by Trevize84

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Sure, Arcing Shot allows just that. Edit: provided you already used it for the attack. (Arcing Shot is before declaring an attack.)

Note that you are not declaring a new target (or a new attack) when the defender moves or the line of sight changes, you declare a new target space for the existing target (figure or object). The attack proceeds as normal (or is cancelled), you are not restarting the attack.

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, a1bert said:

Sure, Arcing Shot allows just that. Edit: provided you already used it for the attack. (Arcing Shot is before declaring an attack.)

Note that you are not declaring a new target (or a new attack) when the defender moves or the line of sight changes, you declare a new target space for the existing target (figure or object). The attack proceeds as normal (or is cancelled), you are not restarting the attack.

Ah cool so it actually works for "both" declarations pre-OtL and post-OtL! Thanks @a1bert!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, a1bert said:

Arcing Shot applies to the following attack, so I don't see why Arcing Shot would not apply to the redeclaration.

@a1bert, I considered that:

Arcing shot: "Use before you declare an attack, ..."

Then from your previous comment:

"Declaring attack and declaring target are the same trigger."

Then from FAQ:

"During an attack, if the attacker’s line of sight to the target space changes or if the defender moves, the attacker must then re-declare a target space"

So summing up these three I said: "wow because I 're-declare a target space' that's same as 're-declare an attack', so I can use such declaration to trigger an Arcing Shot and surprise my opponent after he moved with On the Lam to target a space adjacent to him".

Also I thought Arcing Shot ended it's effect once the space was declared. If On the Lam forces a re-declaration, I expected the card was discarded already and its effect over the very same moment I declared a target space the first time.

Edited by Trevize84

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/12/2017 at 5:58 AM, Myking04 said:

No Escape which states "...perform 1 additional attack targeting the same figure." 

Sort of related.  Can Mak use "No escape" on a non-figure (like an object).  Can he use it on a terminal?  We had this come up on the weekend.  I said I didn't think so because a terminal is not a figure but maybe I was wrong. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From Todd:

Arcing Shot must be played “before you declare an attack,” so unfortunately you cannot use it when redeclaring the target due to On the Lam.

Additionally, Arcing Shot only applies to the initial declaration. Even if it was played before the attack, it does not apply to a redeclaration later during the attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...