Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
GreyFoxx

Pursuant tirle

Recommended Posts

Hi, sorry if this has already been asked but had a quick search and can't find it. 

When you discard the pursuant title, do you get to resolve a squad command AND whatever command dial you flipped over? Or does discarding the title card effectively change the dial to a squadron. 

 

Thanks in advance! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, GreyFoxx said:

Hi, sorry if this has already been asked but had a quick search and can't find it. 

When you discard the pursuant title, do you get to resolve a squad command AND whatever command dial you flipped over? Or does discarding the title card effectively change the dial to a squadron. 

 

Thanks in advance! 

You get both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

If have a squadron command due anyway and discard Pursuant can you bank one of them as a token so you can activate 5 squadrons (4+1) or would that fall fowl of the no resolving the same command twice rule?

Pursuant specifically reads "When you reveal a command other than a squadron command", so it doesn't trigger at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
24 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

If have a squadron command due anyway and discard Pursuant can you bank one of them as a token so you can activate 5 squadrons (4+1) or would that fall fowl of the no resolving the same command twice rule?

Pursuant only works if you DON'T have a squadron command.

Also, Pursuant cannot be combined with a token, due to the specific wording (not sure about that one, have to ask @Snipafist).

Edited by Green Knight

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that Pursuant can be combined with a squadron token if you already had one as the only restriction to not be able to use it is if you revelaed a squadron command. Once you trigger it, you resolve a normal squadron command as if you have a dial, so my understanding is that you can combine it with a previous token

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
32 minutes ago, GhostofNobodyInParticular said:

Me too. My initial thought was that as the card says 'spend as if it's a dial' means that it replaces your original dial. It appears that this is not the case. 

There was a side discussion about this in the Leia thread, starting from this post. I don't have time to read through it in detail right now, but I'm pretty sure the consensus was that you get both dials.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You don't get a second dial.

  1. When you activate, you reveal your normal ship dial.
  2. You immediately discard Pursuant and resolve a full Squadron command (as if you had spent a dial).
  3. Then you do whatever you want with your normal ship dial.

 

Even if you had a Squadron token saved up, you don't get to resolve a Dial+Token command. You simply get instructed to "resolve a Squadron command as if you had spent a dial", right then and there. You are never given the choice to add a token if you have one - and you can't resolve the same command twice, so you can't spend the token immediately after using Pursuant, either.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indeed, it's discarding - but it still works.

Otherwise...  there's not a lot you can do with a Squadron token that turn. You could feed it to a Liaison officer: in an emergency, you could use Defense Liaison to change your top dial from Squadron to, say, Repair - and then still resolve a full Squadron command thanks to Pursuant. Though of course this would all happen before Pursuant resolves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about Flight Commander?

I suppose no but I would like to be sure. Could I resolve the "given" command after the maneuver?

I ask cause I can see a logic behind "I use Pursuant so I resolve a squadron command and FC allows me during my activation to resolve it later".

My guess is that Pursuant doesn't give a squadron command which I could resolve it later. It says "resolve a squadron command now".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree. It says to "resolve a [SQUAD]. Treat this command as if you spent a [SQUAD] dial."

If I had spent a Dial, I would be allowed to resolve after the move. Why does Pursuant get treated as not a dial?

 

Never mind. A more careful reading of the rules laid it out for me. You RESOLVE a command by SPENDING the dial. You do not SPEND the dial in order to RESOLVE the command.

 

Edited by JgzMan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...