Jump to content
ATM2100

treasure hunter

Recommended Posts

sleight of hand says that when another hero draws a search card, exhaust this card to allow him to immediately give you the search card. then delver says each time you would draw a search card draw two and put the other on the bottom of the search card on the bottom of the deck. I interpreted this as i draw two and put the other on the bottom, however, others in my group say that I would only get the top card, advice?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sleight of Hand and Delver have no relation to each other. That is, you cannot combine their effects- they are totally separate as one works when YOU draw a search card, and the other works when SOMEONE ELSE draws a search card. I'll break them down separately:

Sleight of hand is rather straightforward. Syndrael performs a search action and draws a health potion. Tomble exhausts "Sleight of Hand", and now he is holding the health potion instead of Syndrael. It does not matter how far Tomble is from Syndrael.

 

Delver lets you draw 2 search cards instead of drawing 1. Then, you have to put ONE of those cards on the top or bottom of the deck.

Tomble performs a search action. He draws 2 search cards: Treasure Chest and Stamina Potion. He decides he wants the stamina potion, so he keeps that.

The treasure chest has to be put back. Since it's a good card, he decides to place it on top of the deck (so the next hero will draw it).

ALTERNATELY

Tomble performs a search action. He draws 2 search cards: Treasure Chest and Stamina Potion. He decides he wants the treasure chest, so he keeps that.

The stamina potion has to be put back. Since it's a only worth 25 gold, he decides to place it on the bottom of the deck (so the next hero has a better chance of drawing a 50 gold card).

(Either of the above situations is legal).

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

one single answer or stuff that answers the question is what i a looking for.

2 hours ago, Lightningclaw said:

I don't think I see what you're saying. When you exhaust sleight of hand, that hero already drew the card, so the trigger condition for Delver isn't available.

Ninja'd by Zaltre duh

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, ATM2100 said:

one single answer or stuff that answers the question is what i a looking for.

 

Zaltyre is one of the most prolific posters on the forum, and an actual playtester for the game. Unless you see something that contradicts him, it's pretty safe to accept his answer. If you want an actual official answer then submit your question here. FFG employees do not post on these forums.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Proto Persona said:

Zaltyre is one of the most prolific posters on the forum, and an actual playtester for the game. Unless you see something that contradicts him, it's pretty safe to accept his answer. If you want an actual official answer then submit your question here. FFG employees do not post on these forums.

I don't think he thought Zaltre was incorrect or anything, (I can't speak for @ATM2100 though) I just think ATM meant Zaltre gave him more than he was looking for. It is quite a bit on mobile.

Again, I can't speak for him. That's just what I thought he meant.

Edited by Lightningclaw
Clarity

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
41 minutes ago, Lightningclaw said:

I don't think he thought Zaltre was incorrect or anything, (I can't speak for @ATM2100 though) I just think ATM meant Zaltre gave him more than he was looking for. It is quite a bit on mobile.

Again, I can't speak for him. That's just what I thought he meant.

If that's the case then the TL;DR is you can't combine Sleight of Hand and Delver, since SoH does not cause the Treasure Hunter to draw a card, only to take it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

11 hours ago, ATM2100 said:

one single answer or stuff that answers the question is what i a looking for.

 

I cannot image that ATM2100 was actually complaining that a community member took his time to compose a knowledgeable and thorough answer to his/her question. That would be incredibly rude.

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Sadgit said:

 

I cannot image that ATM2100 was actually complaining that a community member took his time to compose a knowledgeable and thorough answer to his/her question. That would be incredibly rude.

That 's an interesting perspective actually. That possibility didn't cross my mind.

The reason I made the assumption I did about ATM's answer was because that reaction is generally what I've observed in my own experience- from all sides of the conversation.

But I appreciate the perspective- it wasn't something I'd considered.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This was fun to read but what i was going for was answers to stop if they didn't answer the question.

19 hours ago, Lightningclaw said:

I don't think I see what you're saying. When you exhaust sleight of hand, that hero already drew the card, so the trigger condition for Delver isn't available.

Ninja'd by Zaltre duh

almost every post beyond this had no tie to the question

 

11 hours ago, Proto Persona said:

Zaltyre is one of the most prolific posters on the forum, and an actual playtester for the game. Unless you see something that contradicts him, it's pretty safe to accept his answer. If you want an actual official answer then submit your question here. FFG employees do not post on these forums.

I could tell that he knows a lot by how sometimes he says stuff like "let me grab my rule books" which one(s) did he play test, i wasn't aware of that. (how do you even sign up for play test?)

 

6 hours ago, Sadgit said:

 

I cannot image that ATM2100 was actually complaining that a community member took his time to compose a knowledgeable and thorough answer to his/her question. That would be incredibly rude.

if it looked like I was complaining that was not my intention. with less than 200 posts anywhere online like this I have little knowledge at this time.

 

1 hour ago, Lightningclaw said:

That 's an interesting perspective actually. That possibility didn't cross my mind.

The reason I made the assumption I did about ATM's answer was because that reaction is generally what I've observed in my own experience- from all sides of the conversation.

But I appreciate the perspective- it wasn't something I'd considered.

I was trying to share the idea of not posting unnecessarily. clearly i didn't read your first post well enough or I would've seen the answer in there. it was a little more hidden than Zaktyre.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry for being blunt here,  but maybe you are not familiar with this form of communication called a discussion board. 

Posting a question here is the equivalent of stepping onto a wooden cabbage box in a crowded marked place, shouting a question and hoping to get somebody to answer it.
People might find your question interesting and start discussing certain aspects of it on their own.

You just told everybody  to shut the f..k up. Including someone who really wanted you to understand how this works. This is considered to be rude.

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
37 minutes ago, ATM2100 said:

k, will keep it in mind next time. my apologies.

Please don't get the wrong impression. "Questioning zaltyre" is not a sin. I've been wrong, it happens often enough.

I think people are simply stressing the importance of being civil and friendly here.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Zaltyre said:

Please don't get the wrong impression. "Questioning zaltyre" is not a sin. I've been wrong, it happens often enough.

I think people are simply stressing the importance of being civil and friendly here.

I'm was never trying to say not to question you. The impression I got from that earlier post was OP was looking for a better answer. My opinion was there isn't one short of submitting it to FFG.

I also agree with Sadgit, the forums are here to get answers from everyone in the community, not just official responses or a single right answer.

(goes back to praying at his Zaltyre altar :D)

Edited by Proto Persona

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zaltyre does have a respectable track record and in general I would vouch for his knowledge and his being  nice and friendly person ;) .  In this case I would also agree that he is correct.  I do believe he has made a few bad rule interpretations but I cannot sight any of them right now.   As for him doing playtesting, I either do not know or cannot commend due to an NDA which I may have signed :).

 

To answer your question on how do you join play testing here is a link which has the details to apply for it.

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/more/playtesting/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the record, Ben, if an example comes back to you, I'd like to hear about it.

There are numerous cases where I came to the wrong conclusion and then an FFG ruling or another user set me straight- but especially if you feel there is an issue that is still incorrectly resolved, please do let me know. Thanks!

As for me being a playtester, it is public knowledge that I have playtested Mists and Chains and a few H&M packs. NDAs do prohibit discussing any current or unreleased material (obviously). However, I feel it important to remind everyone that having been a playtester does not give me any special authority or knowledge. I am not a representative of FFG/ANA.

And thanks for the link, I'd forgotten about that.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
48 minutes ago, Zaltyre said:

having been a playtester does not give me any special authority or knowledge. I am not a representative of FFG/ANA.

Darn, there goes the plans to take control of FFG and bring back the best product ever for Descent, Sea of Blood. :P

Edited by Proto Persona
Curse filter

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, BenOverlord said:

Zaltyre does have a respectable track record and in general I would vouch for his knowledge and his being  nice and friendly person ;) .  In this case I would also agree that he is correct.  I do believe he has made a few bad rule interpretations but I cannot sight any of them right now.   As for him doing playtesting, I either do not know or cannot commend due to an NDA which I may have signed :).

 

To answer your question on how do you join play testing here is a link which has the details to apply for it.

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/more/playtesting/

This is the best post I have seen today.

Edited by ATM2100
fix

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...