Nogan

How to fight Dengar??

Hello guys,

Ill like yo ask your ways and ideas to fight dengar back, im kinda new to the game and Dengar is pretty popular in my FLGS, and I have had some trouble fighting him, so please any advice will be highly appreciated.

Thanks!

Block him. He wants you in arc, so he'll try for that white sloop. Get someone in place to prevent that, then hammer on him from outside of arc. Unless you are in a really good position or are in dire straits, don't shoot at him inside his arc. You can try to control his movement with Ion and Stress tricks as well, but both have their downsides. 

Need to avoid his arc. Blocking to deny actions/sloops, hugging asteroids so he cant turn as well, or offering him something he doesnt want to shoot at (rebel captive when hes running expertise for instance).

There is no surefire way to counter him, its mostly positional play which requires practice.

Focus fire on him early in the game, he must be the first enemy ship to go down. If you have lower PS ships than him, set up on your left side corner so that he has to choose to either get your Alpha attack or approach you doing right turns or banks.

Edited by tsondaboy

26 minutes ago, tsondaboy said:

Focus fire on him early in the game, he must be the first enemy ship to go down. If you have lower PS ships than him, set up on your left side corner so that he has to choose to either get your Alpha attack or approach you doing right turns or banks.

Best info yet on dealing with Dengar.

The nature of Dengar's ability means he wants to be shot at over many turns by a single weak attack.