Cybran

Darth Vader noob question

6 posts in this topic

Since you can only attack once per unit per round is it possible to use Vader's Force Grip ability in addition to a normal attack/Brutality ability? I guess you aren't performing an attack roll with dice so it's allowed but would like to know for sure.

Many Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

just to clarify, you can make more than one attack per round technically.

The restriction is around using an action that involves performing an attack.  (That's how Luke can use his free Heroic attack, plus an action for another attack)

Having said that though, yes you can use Vader's Force Choke and attack, as the Force choke ability isn't an attack

Uninvited Guest likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

9 minutes ago, RoyalRich said:

just to clarify, you can make more than one attack per round technically.

The restriction is around using an action that involves performing an attack.  (That's how Luke can use his free Heroic attack, plus an action for another attack)

Having said that though, yes you can use Vader's Force Choke and attack, as the Force choke ability isn't an attack

So using an action to perform an attack essentially means to roll the die for a melee or ranged attack? (Fenn Signis being a unit who can attack twice using his Assault ability)

Thanks

Edited by Cybran

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

It's not per turn, it's per activation. (E.g. New Orders)

It's not one attack, but one action including one or more attacks. (E.g. Vader's Brutality)

Luke's Heroic is not an Action. Force Choke is not an attack.

Usually the text says attack when it's an attack.

Edited by DerBaer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
48 minutes ago, Cybran said:

So using an action to perform an attack essentially means to roll the die for a melee or ranged attack? (Fenn Signis being a unit who can attack twice using his Assault ability)

Thanks

Think if it this way: 

During your activation you get two actions.

You may spend an action to:

Perform an attack

Perform a move

Perform an Interact

Perform a special action

 

None of these things are Actions.  You're just spending an action to do it.

Other circumstances could grant an opportunity to do any of these.  Such situations do not count as an action.  So you may only spend one Action that allows you to perform one or more attacks, any attacks that are not part of an action do not count towards this limit.

Attacks are not inherently actions.

a1bert likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
44 minutes ago, Uninvited Guest said:

any attacks that are not part of an action do not count towards this limit.

That's what I needed to hear. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now