Jump to content
Danthrax

So what are the differences between 3rd and 4th editions?

Recommended Posts

4 minutes ago, MikeEvans said:

Another difference I noticed:  Can Dreadnoughts now carry 1 unit each?  Basically built-in Stasis Capsules?

I haven't seen anything that states that the capacity on the Dreadnought is limited to just ground troops either. It seems like everyone gets this upgrade for free now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, MikeEvans said:


With this change in rules, let's say I have 2 Carriers, carrying a combined total of 2 GFs and 2 Fighters.  Both ships travel through the gravity rift.  One of the ships dies.  Can I remove one Carrier and carry all of the GFs and FFs on the surviving carrier? 

No. Because this "redistribution" is on possible after combat. Else they are assigned for transport and the units are "pinned" to the carrier (for this topic, I have to write a disclaimer: As I interpret it)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/11/2017 at 5:59 PM, Archangelion said:

Not the tech symbols (on the left of the planet) the other symbols to the right of tbe planet name. What are those symbols?ti07_movement_diagram.png

Planet traits, right now there are 3, cultural, industrial, and hostile. Currently they don't have any effect in game but it did say in the rules that there are some cards (upgrades, agendas, ect.) that interact with these symbols.

 

On 8/12/2017 at 9:06 PM, Brikhause said:

So those symbols on the right I am leaning more and more to a sort of distance sun mechanic.  Red couldmean it is a more hostile planet to take control of or something so there will be a heftier price in doing so or it might require more troops to take it.   While a green planet would be a more peaceful means of takeover. 

In a way I can see a distant sun mechanic put in with one of these. More like an encounter deck that has different effects depending on the symbol. That way it is a little less RNG you can expect bad things to happen when annexing a hostile planet so you are better prepared without having to fighter probe it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Flolo said:

No. Because this "redistribution" is on possible after combat. Else they are assigned for transport and the units are "pinned" to the carrier (for this topic, I have to write a disclaimer: As I interpret it)

I dont think this is correct.

i dont have the rules available right now but in pretty sure it says that if the number of fighter/gf ever exceeds the available total capacity of a system you choose which fighter/gr to remove down to capacity limit.

so essentially we are only ever interested in a systems total capacity, no need to ever track which ahip carries what. Imo a perfect way to keep the depth but make away with some bookeeping.

 

I might be wrong so please correct me if thats the case.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Soulless said:

I might be wrong so please correct me if thats the case.

Sure :P.

16.4: "Fighters and ground forces are not assigned to specific ships,
except while they are being transported."

That means, e.g. that when you loose a carrier through Gravity Rift, the units that are carried with that specific carrier are also lost.

Edited by Flolo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, Flolo said:

Sure :P.

16.4: "Fighters and ground forces are not assigned to specific ships,
except while they are being transported."

That means, e.g. that when you loose a carrier through Gravity Rift, the units that are carried with that specific carrier are also lost.

So would that mean they're still assigned during Space Cannon Defense/Offense? Since that takes place outside the framework of the "Space Combat" step, the fighters and ground troops are still being transported, and it matters which Carrier your opponent's PDS targets.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well ready or not, this is the version I will jump into Twilight with, after looking at it for years now. Finally getting my best friend into gaming, having a fiancé who is up for some and then of course having Meetup provide other folks means that there is just no excuse not to take the plunge when I can!!! Just scared to see what the learning curve is like. Time to watch some how to play videos, maybe see a game played as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Flolo said:

Sure :P.

16.4: "Fighters and ground forces are not assigned to specific ships,
except while they are being transported."

That means, e.g. that when you loose a carrier through Gravity Rift, the units that are carried with that specific carrier are also lost.

Well there you go, I looked through the rules as I came home and dunno how but i had managed to slightly mix the rules for capacity and fleet pool :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 16.8.2017 at 10:30 PM, Flolo said:

It is different when you got systems with multiple planets.

In 3rd the play was: You select your first Planet (lets call him) A. There you assign the troops that go down, you make PDS and then the fight. Afterwards you make planet B (the other one) the same way. So when e.g. the first invasion was total fail, and you dont want to risk all your remaining other troops, you could say, that e.g. you just go down with 1 unit (or not at all).

In 4th the play is interleaved, you make planet A at the same time as with planet B. You have to commit your troops to all planets first. Then you do PDS for all. And then you do the actual Ground combat (now first A then B). So, for example, here it can happen that you already know you lost the other planet invasion before you do your actual fight for the first planet (if the PDS of the other planet kills all invading ground forces).

 

I always played it the 4th edition way. Never realized this was wrong. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Stefan said:

I always played it the 4th edition way. Never realized this was wrong. :D

I wouldn't say it was really wrong of you. But whatever. The new way just forces the player to decide on what forces to commit to what planet and then resolve each of the resulting invasions one planet at a time, in whichever order you like.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 17/08/2017 at 4:54 PM, Flolo said:

I would say: Yes.

Based on the transport rules I am inclined to say no, seems like transporting only lasts as long as the ship is moving, and any space cannon occurs after the ships have moved. So the only way to lose ships (and it's onboard units) during transport I can think of is gravity rift, maybe some action cards as well?

If this interpretation is correct, it's a little bit disappointing for me that they didn't simplify the rules to never assign fighters and ground forces to specific ships and just always watch for total capacity, but we'll see how it plays out.

Edit: I didn't know how to double quote the post you were replying to as well, sry, but it's just a few posts up.

Edited by CleanAndClear

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RRG, Pg 3: "After placing all the dealt system tiles, players attach their home systems to the rest of the galaxy."  Is this not different from TI3 where as soon as you placed a system tile next to a starting system position you attached your home system in that position?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Braneric said:

RRG, Pg 3: "After placing all the dealt system tiles, players attach their home systems to the rest of the galaxy."  Is this not different from TI3 where as soon as you placed a system tile next to a starting system position you attached your home system in that position?

Yes it is the same like in TI3 ;)

 

PS.: 

I updated the google document:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1pziT_7fKJsQWDvyDOBsybKbqoYF6UThiv-39-TIgRWs/edit?usp=sharing

Now we have the comparison of
* Racial Technologies
* Generic Technologies

Also new
* Racial Promissory Notes
* Unit Upgrades, e.g. Unit Upgrade Overview 

CJGy8vF.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Forgottenlore said:

What is this?

If I had to guess it is a graphical representation about what kind of prerequisites are necessary to be able to research that particular unit upgrade.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Rico01 said:

If I had to guess it is a graphical representation about what kind of prerequisites are necessary to be able to research that particular unit upgrade.

Good that you see it without a legend or title :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like FFG played it safe regarding the changes. I don't see anything that would make me want to give it a try if I didn't enjoy TI3.

So, it's pretty much just an upgrade for hard-core TI3 fans or players who enjoyed TI3 but haven't bought it yet, waiting for the right opportunity to come around...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/11/2017 at 0:37 PM, zwara81 said:

Politics - Previously, in Third Edition, the politics phase began with the primary ability of the Politics strategy card. Now the agenda phase occurs at the end of every round after Mecatol Rex has been claimed. Players get to refresh all their planets for the agenda phase, meaning they don’t have to split their planets for use between resources and influence. Like Third Edition, agenda cards are used to pass new laws in the galaxy, flipped from the top of the deck. After one law is voted on, a second card is flipped and another round of voting occurs. Planets are refreshed again after the agenda phase ends.

Where in the Learn to Play book, or in the Rules Reference does it say that a player get's to refresh all of their planets for the agenda phase? I only see mention of it in this post. I cannot find it in either of the rule books, or on the over view post from FFG at Twilight-Imperium-Fourth-Edition

Seems like it's just as important as it was previously to save some influence for the two voting rounds during the Agenda phase after Mecatol Rex has been claimed.

Edited by IndyBart
typo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, IndyBart said:

Where in the Learn to Play book, or in the Rules Reference does it say that a player get's to refresh all of their planets for the agenda phase? I only see mention of it in this post. I cannot find it in either of the rule books, or on the over view post from FFG at Twilight-Imperium-Fourth-Edition

Seems like it's just as important as it was previously to save some influence for the two voting rounds during the Agenda phase after Mecatol Rex has been claimed.

Step 6 of the Status Phase is to Ready Cards, including all exhausted planets. This occurs before the Agenda Phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Network57 said:

Step 6 of the Status Phase is to Ready Cards, including all exhausted planets. This occurs before the Agenda Phase.

Thank you! I was just trying to make it more complicated than it needed to be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...