Richardbuxton

Sorry About The Mess: Arena D

143 posts in this topic

 

 

Forgive my intrusion, but do you guys think Arissa should be able to use her lightsaber to free herself? It's already in her hand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, SithArissa said:

Also I will use that threat on the Environmental table - 

One Threat - Grease Patch: Character either suffers two strain or becomes prone

AH HA take that!2 strain @SavageBob

Kinda wish you'd have made Pango go prone. Not sure how I'd have narrated that when he's shaped like a beetle. :)

Rostek Horn likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, awayputurwpn said:

 

 

Forgive my intrusion, but do you guys think Arissa should be able to use her lightsaber to free herself? It's already in her hand.

Do you mean use Lightsaber in lieu of Athletics? Maybe at an upgraded difficulty to represent the danger of cutting herself with it?

awayputurwpn likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, SavageBob said:

Do you mean use Lightsaber in lieu of Athletics? Maybe at an upgraded difficulty to represent the danger of cutting herself with it?

Yeah something like that. Like R2-D2 cutting through the rope net with his circular saw, but with ferrocrete and a lightsaber :)

SavageBob likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, awayputurwpn said:

Yeah something like that. Like R2-D2 cutting through the rope net with his circular saw, but with ferrocrete and a lightsaber :)

I'd be cool with that. It's up to @SithArissa if she wants to try!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, SithArissa said:

Crit Roll - 1d100: 4 [1d100=4]

HAHAHAHAHA I take one strain from the auto crit!!! @SavageBob

Also, the Crit Roll only happens once the suffocations causes you to exceed your strain threshold.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

7 minutes ago, awayputurwpn said:

Also, the Crit Roll only happens once the suffocations causes you to exceed your strain threshold.

so I am at 15/15 and if I fail I once again pass out like a cheap high school date?

Edit - But I'm taking 3 strain at the beginning am I not?

Edited by SithArissa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

6 minutes ago, SithArissa said:

so I am at 15/15 and if I fail I once again pass out like a cheap high school date?

Edit - But I'm taking 3 strain at the beginning am I not?

Oh right, your call on how you guys wanna handle that. (I would suggest that a player could mitigate anything that happens at the beginning of that player's turn with an incidental; they essentially happen simultaneously...fits in with my idea of cinematic heroism in RPGs. But I'm not the ref here so it's up to you guys & @Nightone!) Apologies for butting in previously :)

Edited by awayputurwpn
Nightone likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, awayputurwpn said:

Oh right, your call on how you guys wanna handle that. (I would suggest that a player could mitigate anything that happens at the beginning of that player's turn with an incidental; they essentially happen simultaneously...fits in with my idea of cinematic heroism in RPGs. But I'm not the ref here so it's up to you guys & @Nightone!)

If @SavageBobagrees to it I'll flip the last destiny got to 11/15 then 15/15, make a Saber check at (1 Challenge 1 Difficulty? Add my own defensive rank in Setbacks since I'm targeting myself? an additional Difficulty?) to free myself THEN he can knock me out himself.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, sorry — I misread the bit about the autocrits. @awayputurwpn is right; no crits till you exceed Strain Threshold, so you should restore the strain that crit cost you and remove the crit completely from your sheet if you haven't already.

So, yeah, I think you can flip that second DP to get back up to 11/15 using Intense Presence  but you'll take 3 strain immediately once your turn starts, which will put you back at 14/15. But at least you get to try the Lightsaber check! I'd rule that you're targeting the glop, not yourself per se, so I wouldn't add the Defense setbacks. The Challenge die is enough to account for the difficulty of surgically removing yourself while entangled in hardened foam. @Nightone is, of course, welcome to overrule any of these ideas.

Nightone likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Glop Sliceroo

1eB+2eP+2eA+1eC+1eD: 4 successes, 1 advantage [1eB=-] [2eP=A/A, S/S] [2eA=S/A, S] [1eC=Th] [1eD=Th]
b--.pngp-a-a.pngp-s-s.pnga-s-a.pnga-s.pngc-th.pngd-th.png

So I guess I'm out, spend that advantage to recover one strain cause that's important(!).  I will also use the environmental thingie to get behind cover

"General Properties

1. Taking cover may be performed as an incidental" 

I'll let you decide what that entails, another Setback on ranged checks maybe? 

 I'm also going to go prone with my manoeuvre (if I have one?) to add an additional Setback to ranged attacks that target me. 

Sorry I'm not RP-ing this much. The situations too funny. @SavageBob

Edited by SithArissa
Rostek Horn, SavageBob and Nightone like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

No sooner had Pango lobbed the stun grenade than he noticed his forward momentum stalled. His locomotor gears switched forward, reverse, forward, reverse, but the treads just spun in place. Finally, the droid found he could move again, and he spotted what had caused the problem: a grease spot on the ground. Never mind; he was free now, and he still had to put the Twi'lek woman out of her misery...

But what was that? Turning his photoreceptors back on his target, Pango saw the woman break free of the foam, laser-sword in hand! She dropped down behind a crate. Pango's logic algorithms couldn't process what was going on—why didn't she just give in and let this end? The droid fired up his targeting subroutine once more and prepared another stun grenade.

Alrighty: One maneuver to draw the grenade, one to aim (-2 strain), and then throwing! Lots of upgrades to worry about, so also flipping a Destiny Point...

Stun grenade for the win?: 5eP+1eB+1eC+1eD+2eS 4 successes, 2 threat, 1 Triumph
p-tr.pngp-s.pngp-s-s.pngp-s.pngp-s.pngb-s-a.pngc-th-th.pngd-f-th.pngs-f.pngs-f.png

That's 12 Stun damage, minus your soak. Should be game? Just in case, the Triumph will be that all these blasts have damaged the ship's life support systems. Per the arena rules, that means an upgrade of 1 to your checks next turn, then 2 after that, then finally 3. (As a droid, I'd be immune.) Threat's to you, assuming you have some way to get back above your strain threshold! :)

Edited by SavageBob
SithArissa likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm finally awake and see: you guys are already done with everything. No need to overrule anything!

Fair sport @SavageBob for letting Arissa use her LS to get free since her Brawn/Coordination is so low.

Good sportmansship @SithArissa for tagging along until the end under the worst circumstance possible.

Thanks @awayputurwpn for helping out with the ruling while I was deep asleep. The OOTI before/ at the same time as the suffucation is exactly how I see this.

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And yes Arissa is down even if she use the ooti to flip a destiny point (somehow lost track how many black and white are in play rightnow) (bringin her to 9strain) and the use reflect (up to 12 again) she would still get 6 Stun Damage which puts her at 18 of 15. So this fight was totally yours @SavageBob

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The deep voice of the Hutt coming over the speakers is the last think the incapitated Twi'lek hears, before passing out:

"MUHAHAHA GOOD, so many explosions the people will love this recording. They love it to see the struggle of helpless creatures like this girl.

Pango show her the way out, I think one of the pods should still function, if not... well life's a gamble! MUHAHAHA. Oh yeah may be I'll allow you to see the sullustian girl tonight, finally you've done something right!"

 

Technical Engeenering defeated the Darkside of the Force,
while showing mercy at his opponent PANGO wins this match with an explosive finale,
poor Arrissa is totally overwhelmed and send to the land of dreams,
may her dread soul find some relief and peace within the sleep that was forced on her!

 

Thanks again to you both @SavageBob and @SithArissa for this explosive match!

SavageBob likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, SithArissa said:

Completely dominated. Gig @SavageBobeven starting at short range my defense just isn't built for that kind of firepower. 

Yeah, it wasn't a very conducive arena to you, either. You might have taken Cheevil's tactic and tried to crit me on your first attack (rather than use Sense), but even that would have been a gamble. I think hoping for Despairs on my part was just as valid a tactic. Nice slapsticky match, and thanks for the hilarious commentary!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now