Jump to content
paradox22

Corner to corner contact - are you still engaged?

Recommended Posts

If I flank a unit, hit them on their back row and then destroy a tray...  leaving my unit now in corner to corner contact with their unit...   are we still engaged?  

 

34 in the rulebook under engagement:  "If any part of a units trays are touching any part of an enemy units trays those units are engaged."

So why wouldn't corner to corner contact be still engaged?  What am I missing here?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As for the spirit of the rules, closing in is supposed to handle this sort of situation.  However, there is obviously an advantage to NOT close in if you attacked first, so the opponent cannot retaliate with a simple attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
58 minutes ago, Glucose98 said:

As for the spirit of the rules, closing in is supposed to handle this sort of situation.  However, there is obviously an advantage to NOT close in if you attacked first, so the opponent cannot retaliate with a simple attack.

unless your opponent dialed in a charge in which case it is to your advantage to close it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question around this, lest imagine 2 2x1 units in combat only in contact in one of the trays. A third unit destroys one of the contact trays with a ranged attack. Does any of the units have the opportunity to close in? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×