Jump to content
dvirsmail

Lucky Charm when rolling two dice

Recommended Posts

Hi all,

 

when using lucky charm for rolling two dice, can I roll one die and then decide on the other? Or must I use it on the "first" die then roll the other?

 

also, can dark fate be used on a die roll determined by lucky charm?

 

thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

when using lucky charm for rolling two dice, can I roll one die and then decide on the other?

No, you use the charm before you make the roll.

also, can dark fate be used on a die roll determined by lucky charm?

I would say no because the die wasn't rolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

when using lucky charm for rolling two dice, can I roll one die and then decide on the other?

Bludgeon is correct.  You use the charm before you make the roll.  So you could use the charm to make one die a 6 (or whatever you want) and then hope you get the result you want with the other die.  What you may do, however, is roll both dice, spend a fate to reroll one of them, and then use the charm to determine what that result will be.

also, can dark fate be used on a die roll determined by lucky charm?

I agree with Bludgeon on this one.  Here are the wordings in question:

Lucky Charm: You may discard the Charm when you are about to make a die roll.  You choose which result on the die to use instead of rolling it.

Dark Fate: A player may only spend dark fate to reroll a die that another character just rolled. (page 8, The Woodland Expansion rule book)

The Lucky Charm explicitly states that a die result is chosen INSTEAD OF ROLLING IT.  This means that there was no die roll.  According to the rule book, Fate (either light or dark) may only be spent when there has been a die roll.  This is different than, say, the spell Marked for Glory, which allows you to "add up to 6 to the result of the die roll."  In that instance someone could still spend dark fate to make you reroll, even though you can still adjust the outcome due to the spell.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...