Jump to content
Wussypillow

Hammerhead task force cards: What a crock

Recommended Posts

1 minute ago, Wussypillow said:

Well figure this:

-Torp Hammerhead

+ External Racks

+ Ordnance Experts 

+TF Antilles

 

...commanded by Commander Sato

...escorted by some sort of fighters to trigger Sato's ability

 

For one glorious attack, each Hammerhead rolls: 

-5 BLACK on it's front arc (3 black + 2 black replacing 1 red, 1 blue 'cause of Sato)

-rerolling 2 of those 'cause of Ordnance Experts

 

...with all of the Hammerheads spreading any damage done to them around due to all being in TF Antilles.

 

What d'you think? 

 

Don't you mean 6 black dice cause CF command?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, TallGiraffe said:

Don't you mean 6 black dice cause CF command?

Oh did I leave that out? Silly me: SIX BLACK (rerolling 2) it is, then!

And as I say: survivability problems at least partially addressed due to everyone being in Task Force Antilles.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Wussypillow said:

Oh did I leave that out? Silly me: SIX BLACK (rerolling 2) it is, then!

And as I say: survivability problems at least partially addressed due to everyone being in Task Force Antilles.

Why reroll only 2 dice? Ordnance experts works on all black dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, TallGiraffe said:

Why reroll only 2 dice? Ordnance experts works on all black dice.

Oh shoot, did I misremember that, too? Checking . . . you're right! I had thought it was only 2 Black but it's as many as you want!

So: For one glorious, stupendous round, from the front arc, a Hammerhead punches about as hard as an Imperial Star Destroyer but at half the cost. And then there are his SEVEN FRIENDS.

(EDIT: "Call up a Hammerhead Corv--wait, no: Call up EIGHT Hammerhead Corvettes! I have an even better idea!")

Edited by Wussypillow

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm, and maybe I wouldn't be able to bring along quite EIGHT of these guys:

-Sato is 32 points

-8 Hammerheads w/Ordnance Experts, Racks and TF Antilles are 46 points apiece

...equals exactly 400 points. No room for anything else, including the squadrons I'd need to make Sato work. 

So figure I'm fielding 6 or 7 of these guys instead.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Ginkapo said:

Or take Dodonna. 8 of them and use the red and blue dice for an acc :)

Its time to bring em back Mad! All those ECMs unused.... 

Nah, all black dice all the time. Don't fire until you can smell the whites of their eyes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
51 minutes ago, Ginkapo said:

My bad. Misremembered

TF Organa is  . . . hinkier. I'm not sure I'm smart enough to use it right. From what I can understand, it's something you have to time absolutely right: Half your ships need to have already fired and then the other half can tap into this 'pool' of rerolls. (EDIT: Plus, in the context of the Torpedo Hammerheads, it seems like something that's largely replaced by Ordnance Experts).

Going all-in on TF Antilles seems much more straightforward: You simply shunt damage around your (multiple) Hammerheads. 

I *AM* a little unclear about whether multiple Hammerheads can 'bodyguard' a friend on the same attack (i.e. you have 3 Hammerheads, A,B and C. Ship A is attacked for 3 damage. Can *both* B and C use their TF Antilles cards, each thus absorb one damage intended for A?).

Edited by Wussypillow

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Wussypillow said:

TF Organa is  . . . hinkier. I'm not sure I'm smart enough to use it right. From what I can understand, it's something you have to time absolutely right: Half your ships need to have already fired and then the other half can tap into this 'pool' of rerolls. (EDIT: Plus, in the context of the Torpedo Hammerheads, it seems like something that's largely replaced by Ordnance Experts).

Going all-in on TF Antilles seems much more straightforward: You simply shunt damage around your (multiple) Hammerheads. 

I *AM* a little unclear about whether multiple Hammerheads can 'bodyguard' a friend on the same attack (i.e. you have 3 Hammerheads, A,B and C. Ship A is attacked for 3 damage. Can *both* B and C use their TF Antilles cards, each thus absorb one damage intended for A?).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...