Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
granpachook

Can Qui-Gon Jin's ability do more than one damage?

Recommended Posts

Surprisingly, I haven't seen this exact question posted anywhere on here or elsewhere (Reddit), so I just I just want to get clarification.

You have a die that shows 1, 2, or 3 shields, Qui-Gon Jin has a shield already.  You resolve the die, using the ability, it does 1 damage always (and he gains shields if he can for 2 or greater die sides)

You use a card that generates shields (take cover, caution, defensive stance) and Qui-Gon Jin has a shield already.  You use the ability, it does 1 damage always (and he gains the shields if he can for effects that grant 2 or more).

Correct?

 

Edited by granpachook

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, you are correct, he can only ever use one shield at a time. If you have multiple dice showing shields, you can resolve them each separately as part of the same action, and deal a damage for each one, but a card effect that grants shields always has to be one for one.

As an aside, you also might be interested in this clarification, which was added to the rules reference:

QUI-GON JINN (37)

When Qui-Gon Jinn has max shields, you can still use his ability and remove one of them before gaining the new shield. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Use force training to do 2 damage with Qui-Gon.  One damage, one shield that he converts to damage. 

His ability to convert shields to damage makes him one of the better Heroes 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, ozmodon said:

Use force training to do 2 damage with Qui-Gon.  One damage, one shield that he converts to damage. 

His ability to convert shields to damage makes him one of the better Heroes 

But just remember that he needs a shield already on him to use his ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yup, Had Qui-gon kill my fully healed FO Trooper in one turn: Played Jedi robes on Qui-Gon (had 1 shield on him) Robes Qui-gon had 2 shields showing on his die, Lightsaber on shield, and Makashi Training and Force Speed on Rey, both with shield. Resolved shield, then defensive stance.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, Kieransi said:

The other great thing about QuiGon is that the card Synchronicity seems like it was made for him! They should have added a rule that it does three damage if you're also listening to the song Synchronicity.

Especially if it's Synchronicity 2!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, hobomagic said:

So... if you have a Force Protection special and already one shield on Qui-Gon... because you distribute shields as you wish... could you essentially use this for three damage?

2 damage

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, nismojoe said:

2 damage

No, it's three damage. 

You already have a shield on QGJ. You resolve the Force Protection, remove the shield on him already, deal a damage, and give him the first shield from Force Protection. Next shield resolves separately, do the same thing. Last shield resolves separately, a third damage. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Kieransi said:

No, it's three damage. 

You already have a shield on QGJ. You resolve the Force Protection, remove the shield on him already, deal a damage, and give him the first shield from Force Protection. Next shield resolves separately, do the same thing. Last shield resolves separately, a third damage. 

I thought it would be 1 damage since you resolve the ability at one time. My understanding is, for instance, when taking damage from Emperor Palpatine or Planatary Uprising, Dooku could block one damage with a discard rather than both because it's one effect resolution rather than two. Is that incorrect?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's resolved simultaneously, but distributed as you wish - so 1 damage if Qui-Gon already has a shield.

If it could deal 3 (or 2 if QG's shieldless), you'd see way more Qui-Gon decks running Force Protection, that's for sure. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, thanks everyone, makes sense. 

I still think it seems weird that Force Protection shields, distributed "as you wish", are all at once, but Palpatine damage, also distributed "as you wish" is dealt seperately (individual damage sources). I guess the weirdness arises from that these effects have things dealt individually but also simultaneously. 

Edited by Kieransi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Kieransi said:

Ok, thanks everyone, makes sense. 

I still think it seems weird that Force Protection shields, distributed "as you wish", are all at once, but Palpatine damage, also distributed "as you wish" is dealt seperately (individual damage sources). I guess the weirdness arises from that these effects have things dealt individually but also simultaneously. 

If you mean the 2 damage after resolving a die of Palpatine, I don't think they are dealt separatetly. Exemple, you could not discard 2 cards with Dooku to gain 2 shields. You distribute them as you wish, but if you deal both to the same character, it's 2 damage once, not 1 damage twice.

Or has it been clarified otherwise that I'm not aware of?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Red Castle said:

If you mean the 2 damage after resolving a die of Palpatine, I don't think they are dealt separatetly. Exemple, you could not discard 2 cards with Dooku to gain 2 shields. You distribute them as you wish, but if you deal both to the same character, it's 2 damage once, not 1 damage twice.

Or has it been clarified otherwise that I'm not aware of?

I'm referring to the Force Illusion decision, where it was said that you can only use Force Illusion for one of the two damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Kieransi said:

I'm referring to the Force Illusion decision, where it was said that you can only use Force Illusion for one of the two damage.

Any reference to that decision?

Was it a rule call from Lukas, or just a discussion/consensus on the forum? Because I'm really curious to know why it went this way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...