Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
WonderWAAAGH

Community FAQ: a Consolidated Resource for All Players

Recommended Posts

In the absence of a proper rules sub-forum I thought it would be appropriate (and only slightly overdue) that we, as a community, come together to create a space for all rules queries or discussions. This could be a resource for all players, new and old alike, to share their questions, comments, or concerns; it is intended to act as a substitute for the current rules only insofar as those rules are not properly addressed in the rules reference guide (henceforth substituted for 'RRG'), and there are bound to be questions that remain in dispute until such time as they see print in the official FAQ. To that end I ask that all posters, myself included, remain objective and civil throughout, though there is no deliberate reason to shy away from healthy debate or discourse. In fact, new users should be aware that many interactions may be left up to personal interpretation, and thus wholly unresolvable without official developer input. In order to contribute here I ask only the following, as courtesy rather than mandate: 

For new users:

1) Check the RRG to see if your question has already been addressed. The official errata, clarifications, and FAQ begins on page 23. The RRG can be found here: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/22/71/22719609-501a-40f2-8b75-343b672839c4/swd_rules_reference_13.pdf

2) Search this forum for any relevant keywords, starting with the title of the card in question. The search bar can be located in the upper right corner of the screen, just beneath your profile picture and username. Alternatively, use CTRL + F to search the current page for specific text. Here's a link to the advanced search option: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/search/

3) If you'd like to ask a question in this thread, please feel free to do so without any fear of embarrassment or criticism. As a courtesy to other users who may have similar questions down the road, please make sure to include the card title in your post, and preferably an excerpt of the card text or even an image. To include an image from the internet in your post, right click on it and select 'copy image location,' and then either right click -> paste into the body of your post or press CTRL + V. SWDestinyDB is a terrific resource for either, and their advanced search can be found here: https://swdestinydb.com/search

For veteran forum-goers:

I would like to call upon you, my peers, to help me establish this thread as a viable resource for all users. I will do my part in keeping this thread updated between (and immediately after) official FAQ updates, but in the interim I would like to consolidate any outstanding rules issues here, especially from those who have had official contact with the developers. Please feel free to either post or send me a personal message with any rules queries that Lukas et al. have resolved privately by email, with as much precision and faithfulness to the original exchange as you can muster. The same goes for Facebook; I do not engage in social media, so please don't hesitate to bring any official public feedback to my attention.

So... any questions?   

 

Edited by WonderWAAAGH

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks WAAAGH! I'll definitely be using this thread in future if I have a rules question.

Here's some stuff that our community has figured out after several threads that I feel is worth putting here:

FN-2199 and Riot Baton: When you play the weapon and roll it out, you can either reroll the dice or resolve it, but you can't do both due to timing and the queue. 

Obi-Wan and any blue card that heals damage: Obi-Wan still is defeated because his ability does not replace the defeat (also in the RRG)

C-3PO: Any dice side may be changed to show any symbol. The original value and resource cost are retained. Modifiers still can't be resolved. Specials still always have a value of zero - this supersedes Threepio's ability. Specials only do something if the die itself has a special and you must choose the special on that same dice (it's an inherent dice ability).

Cargo Hold: does not supercede the rule that any character can only have three upgrades (you can do it, but then you have to choose and discard one) (also in the RRG)

Here's some rules that new players often seem to not understand due to FFG using unconventional wording:

Spot a character: this means that you have to have a character described by "spot" in your team, in the play area, not defeated. For example, if a card says "spot a blue character", I can play it if Rey is on my team, but I can't play it if she's defeated. I also can't spot my opponent's Kylo Ren to play the card - it has to be my character.

Shields and something else that blocks damage: you choose the order, and therefore you can split up the damage however you want. Force Illusion, for example, can trigger after shields have already blocked some of the damage.

Edited by Kieransi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question. I was playing a Tie Pilot and the Emperor, and had two dice showing ranged damage in my pool. My opponent played Guard and removed a die showing two melee damage. He was under the impression that he could then removed my dice sequentially, so could remove the Tie Pilot's die then the Emperor's. I thought that the removal was simultaneous and therefore the Emperor's die was protected unless he used a second effect. The only examples I could think of, however, were of Dug In and Dodge, which clearly indicate the dice are removed at the same time, and is covered in the RRG. Can you clarify for me whether there is any reason to believe that the die are sequentially or silmutanously? Or did we hit upon a grey area in the game?

I appreciate your support! I've attached the pertinent cards. 

IMG_0279.PNG

IMG_0280.PNG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This has probably been addressed, but I can't find it and have been searching. With FN-2199 if you play an upgrade and leave the die in the pool, then activate FN do you reroll that upgrade die?

 Rules book on page 14 says to roll all character and upgrade dice when you activate and you don't get to choose which dice to roll. Then on page 21 it states a roll is considered rolling dice into your pool as well as reroling dice already in your pool. 

Edited by dschaakster

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2017-6-10 at 5:26 AM, PeoplesChampion said:

I have a question. I was playing a Tie Pilot and the Emperor, and had two dice showing ranged damage in my pool. My opponent played Guard and removed a die showing two melee damage. He was under the impression that he could then removed my dice sequentially, so could remove the Tie Pilot's die then the Emperor's. I thought that the removal was simultaneous and therefore the Emperor's die was protected unless he used a second effect. The only examples I could think of, however, were of Dug In and Dodge, which clearly indicate the dice are removed at the same time, and is covered in the RRG. Can you clarify for me whether there is any reason to believe that the die are sequentially or silmutanously? Or did we hit upon a grey area in the game?

I appreciate your support! I've attached the pertinent cards. 

IMG_0279.PNG

IMG_0280.PNG

On page 27 of the RRG there is a pretty similar example with dodge. A single effect removes dice simultaneously, so TIE Pilot protects Palpatine in your example.

 

29 minutes ago, dschaakster said:

This has probably been addressed, but I can't find it and have been searching. With FN-2199 if you play an upgrade and leave the die in the pool, then activate FN do you reroll that upgrade die?

 Rules book on page 14 says to roll all character and upgrade dice when you activate and you don't get to choose which dice to roll. Then on page 21 it states a roll is considered rolling dice into your pool as well as reroling dice already in your pool. 

Also on page 27. If a character activates when som of his dice are in the pool, those dice are not rolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Willy Jarque said:

On page 27 of the RRG there is a pretty similar example with dodge. A single effect removes dice simultaneously, so TIE Pilot protects Palpatine in your example.

 

Also on page 27. If a character activates when som of his dice are in the pool, those dice are not rolled.

Agreed.

TIE Pilot protects Palpatine's dice, and you don't have to reroll the dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Willy Jarque said:

On page 27 of the RRG there is a pretty similar example with dodge. A single effect removes dice simultaneously, so TIE Pilot protects Palpatine in your example.

 

Thanks! The single effect thing really helps. I'm aware of FAQ on page 27, but he was trying to make a distinction that Dodge is clearly a simultaneous as the card shows. But he had some argument that since Guard removes a die and dice resolve individually, that somehow it meant that he could remove the dice sequentially. I didn't agree, but I didn't want to fight about it. 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dice resolve individually, but the effect of each one is resolved simultaneously. Maybe if you tell him that, and compare it to doing damage (you cannot split damage from a single die, nor do it one after another), he will come to reason

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, PeoplesChampion said:

Thanks! The single effect thing really helps. I'm aware of FAQ on page 27, but he was trying to make a distinction that Dodge is clearly a simultaneous as the card shows. But he had some argument that since Guard removes a die and dice resolve individually, that somehow it meant that he could remove the dice sequentially. I didn't agree, but I didn't want to fight about it. 

Thanks!

Resolving dice and removing dice are two very different things. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Waag, I'm going to start writing up characters tonight to help with scenario clarifications. If it meets your approval, would you consider adding it into that main post? The goal is to have a community based rules clarification and scenarios to hopefully try to end questions of card combos when people come up with such ideas.  I would like to see a user have the ability to open this thread and have their questions on any card answered before they make it out of the first post. I know it sounds outlandish, but I want to try.  I as going to make my own thread but you have already taken the initiative.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right now, nothing. At work. I'll pm you what I come up with in the next 6 hours.

PMed you.  I'll post it here too so others can give feedback.  The asterisks represent my/community/Lukas feedback/responses/rulings.  If anyone has anything to add or subtract, please let me know.

Characters
    Acolyte
    -Before you resolve this die, increase its value by 1, if it showing the same symbol as one of your other dice.

    Admiral Ackbar
    -After an opponent plays or discards the last card from their hand, they choose and deal 2 damage to one of their characters.
        *this 2 damage may be assigned to a character with 1 remaining health
        *if your opponent plays Cheat and uses their last remaining card in their hand, Ackbar will not trigger because their
         last card is swapped with a card from the discard pile and their hand is not reduced to zero cards

    Asajj Ventress
    -After an opponent discards a card from their hand to reroll dice, you may force them to choose and discard another card from their hand.
        *this is one additional card, not a different card
        *if they only have one card left in their hand, Asajj does not affect them

    Aurra Sing
    -Before you resolve this die, you may discard a card from your hand to increase its value by 1.
        *you may only discard 1 card per die resolution

    Bala-Tik
    -After an opponent's character is defeated, you may ready this character
        *when you ready Bala-Tik via his ability, any dice in the active pool remain there
        *when you activate Bala-Tik after he has been readied by his ability, any of his dice left in the active pool do not get re-rolled

    Baze Malbus
    SPECIAL-Deal 1 damage to each of an opponent's characters.
    
    Captain Phasma
    -Your non-unique characters have the Guardian keyword
        *color of the non-unique character does not matter
        *Guardian - Before you activate this character, you may remove an opponent's die showing damage against it.
            **you may remove a modifier this way
            **the character with the Guardian keyword receives the damage
            
    Chewbacca
    SPECIAL-Turn an opponent's die to a side showing damage (R or M) to deal that damage to a character.
        *you may turn an opponent's die to a side showing modified damage to deal that damage to a character
        *the opponent's die you turn is not removed from their active pool after you resolve Chewbacca's ability

    Chirrut Imwe
    -You cannot play Blue abilities on this character.
    -After you activate this character, you may reroll all of you dice showing blanks (-).
        *you may use effects such as Cargo Hold to move Blue abilties onto him
        *you may reroll any blanks Chirrut rolls after you activate him
        *you must reroll all or none of your blanks after Chirrut is activated

    Count Dooku
    -Before this character is dealt 1 or more damage, you may discard a card from your hand to give him 1 shield.
        *if Count Dooku is dealt 3 sources of 1 damage each, you may discard 3 cards to block all 3 damage
        *if Count Dooku is dealt 1 source of damage from a 1 damage side and two +3 modified sides, you may only discard 1 card to block 1 damage
        *if Count Dooku is deal 1 or more unblockable damage, you maybe discard 1 card per source of unblockable damage to ain that many shield. You still take all unblockable damage
        *if Count Dooku has 3 shields already on him, you may not use his ability until sources of damaged are interrupted, i.e. if you have 3 shields and are dealt 1 source of
         4 damage and 1 source of 1 damage, Dooku will lose 3 shields and take 1 damage, then you may discard 1 card to block the last source of damage
        *Mind Probe vs Count Dooku - when the Mind Probe special triggers, Dooku will be dealt damage equal to the number of cards in his hand when the special resolves.
         i.e. in the case of Mind Probe dealing 5 damage, Dooku discarding one card to block the damage will not reduce Mind Probe's resolution to 4 damage, resulting in Dooku
         only taking 3 damage.  Mind Probe resolves for 5, Dooku discards 1 card to block 1 damage and then he takes 4 damage

    Darth Vader - Dark Apprentice
    SPECIAL-Deal 3 damage to a character. Then deal 1 damage to this character
        *if DV-DA has 1 health remaining and an opponent's last character has 3 health remaining, DV-DA may use his special and win the game.
        *if an opponent uses Cunning against DV-DA, DV-DA will receive 4 damage
    
    Darth Vader - Sith Lord
    -After you activate this character, you may force an opponent to choose and discard a card from their hand.
        *this ability happens after DV-SL's dice have been rolled into the active pool and after the player activating him asks his opponent to discard, not before

    Death Trooper

    Director Krennic
    -After you activate this character, if you control the battlefield, roll a Death Trooper (SoR #1) die into your pool. Set aside that die after it is resolved or removed.
        *if you do not have a Death Trooper die, you probably shouldn't be playing Krennic
        *if the Death Trooper die is in your active pool and your opponent takes control of or claim's the battlefield, it is not removed
        *if you have Fast Hands on Director Krennic and roll a Death Trooper die into your pool, you may not use Fast Hands on it
        *the Death Trooper die is a valid target for cards such as Isolation
        *the Death Trooper die is not a valid target for cards such as Decisive Blow

    Emperor Palpatine
    -After you resolve this die, force an opponent to deal 2 damage to their characters as they wish.
        *your opponent may not deal 2 damage to a character with only 1 remaining hp
        *if an opponent uses a card such as Anger against you resolving one of your ranged damage, Palpatine's card ability does not trigger. Only the owner of the card may use the card effect

    Finn
    -You can attach any weapon to this character, ignoring play restrictions.
    -You can include Red Villain weapons and vehicles in your deck.
        *you may play cards such as Luke Skywalker's Light Saber on Finn assuming you have paired him with a Blue Hero
        *you may not play cards such as Kylos Ren's Light Saber on Finn because he cannot be paired with a Villain
        *Finn may not have more than 3 upgrades on him

    First Order Stormtrooper

    FN-2199
    -After you play a weapon on this character, roll that weapon die, if able. You may immediately resolve it.
        *if you roll the Z6 Riot Baton into your pool via FN's ability, you may not reroll it then resolve it in that action
        *currently, nothing applies to the "if able" clause of his ability

    General Veers
    ACTION-Remove this die to turn one of your support dice to any side

    Grievous
    -Before an opponent's character is defeated, you may move one of their non-ability upgrades to this character.
        *Grievous will take nothing from a character who has just had second chance removed
        *if Grievous has been defeated, the stolen upgrade goes to the discard pile of its owner, not the controller, unless that card has the Redeploy keyword    
        *if a stolen upgrade on Grievous is targeted by a card such as Imperial Inspection, it is return to its owner's hand, not its controller

    Guavian Enforcer
    ACTION-Remove this die to remove 1 shield from a character.
    
    Han Solo
    -After you play a card with the Ambush keyword, you may give this character 1 shield.
        *if a card already has Ambush, it cannot gain a second Ambush

    Hired Gun

    IG-88
    SPECIAL-Play a Yellow weapon or equipment from your discard pile on this character, decreasing its cost by 2.

    Jabba the Hutt
    -After you activate this character, you may reroll a Yellow die.
        *after Jabba's dice are in the active pool, you may trigger his ability to reroll any 1 Yellow die in either player's active pool, including Jabba's own character dice

    Jango Fett
    -After an opponent activates a character, you may activate this character.
        *after an opponent's character is rolled into the active pool,  Jango's ability is triggered and enters the queue.  You must choose to resolve it or not.

    Jyn Erso
    -The cost of the first Yellow event you play each round is decreased by 1.

    Kylo Ren
    SPECIAL-Choose an opponent's character. Then lokk at a random card in that opponent's hand and deal damage to that character equal to the cost of the card you just looked at.
        *you must choose an opponent's character first

    Leia Organa
    ACTION-Remove this die to reroll up to 2 of your dice.

    Luke Skywalker
    -After you activate this character, draw a card.
        *you draw a card after Luke's dice are rolled into the active pool
        *this is not optional, you must draw a card, unless your deck is empty
    
    Luminara Unduli
    SPECIAL-Resolve one of your character dice, increasing its value by 2, or by 3 instead of it is a non-unique character die.
        *if you have 2 different dice showing 1 melee in your pool and one is an Acolyte die, you may resolve that die via Luminara's special and by the Acoltye's ability for 5 melee

    Maz Kanata
    -After you activate this character, you may resolve up to 2 of your dice.
        *after Maz's dice are rolled into the active pool, you may resolve any two in your pool, this include a black damage die along with a modifier die
    
    Mon Mothma
    -After you play an event, you may reroll a die of the same color as that event.
        *you may reroll any die in the active pool matching the color of the event you play, even an opponent's

    Nightsister
    ACTION-Reroll a die. Deal 1 damage to this character.
        *you may choose any die in the active pool
        *you may reroll any die then place a 7th damage token on the Nightsister to defeat her

    Obi-Wan Kenobi
    -Guardian
    -Before this character is defeated, you may play a Blue card from your hand or discard pile for free.
        *Obi-Wan is defeated immediately following the resolution of the card you play
        *no card you can play will stop Obi-Wan's defeat, healing will not stop him from being removed from play after you play your Obi-Wan triggered card
        *if you defeat your opponent's last character with Obi-Wan's triggered ability via resolving a card such as Willpower to place the last damage on them, you win, unless that other
         character is also an Obi-Wan, in which case you lose
        *if you play a card such as My Ally is the Force, Obi-Wan is deafeated and all of his dice are removed from play after you resolve the card.  Then you may take your Ambush action.
    
    Outer Rim Smuggler
    -After you play the last card from your hand, gain 1 resource.
        *this card has been errated and now reads, "The first time each round you play the last card from your hand, gain 1 resource."
        *you must play the card from your hand to trigger this effect, not discard it

    Padawan
    -While this character does not have an upgrade, the cost to attach a weapon to it is decreased by 1.
        *you may use effects such as exhausting 2 It Binds All Things to play a Blue 3 cost weapon on a Padawan for 0 resources
        *you may use a combination of effects such as claiming the Imperial Armory and exhausting 2 It Binds All Things to play a Blue 4 cost weapon on a Padawan for 0 resources
    
    Padme Amidala
    SPECIAL-Discard the top card of an opponent's deck or spend 1 resource to discard the top 2 cards of an opponent's deck.

    Poe Dameron
    SPECIAL-Discard a card from your hand to resolve one of the sides of its die, if able.  Then, if it was a vehicle card, you may pay its cost to play it from your discard pile.
        *if you resolve one of the 2 cost sides of the Smuggling Freighter's, the Freighter goes to the discard pile, not the top of the deck
    
    Qui-Gon Jinn
    -Before this character gains 1 or more shields, you may remove 1 of his shields to deal 1 damage to a character.
        *QGJ must have at least 1 shield already on him to trigger his ability
        *cards like Echo Base, Air Superiority, and Momentum shift will trigger QGJ's ability    

    Rebel Commando
    SPECIAL-Remove an opponent's die.

    Rebel Trooper
    -Guardian. (Before you activate this character, you may resolve an opponent's die showing damage against it.)
        *this card is a misprint.  It should read, "-Guardian. (Before you activate this character, you may remove an opponent's die showing damage against it.)

    Rey
    -After you play an upgrade on this character, you may take one additional action.
        *playing an upgrade with Ambush on Rey will give you 2 additional actions

    Royal Guard
    -Guardian. (Before you activate this character, you may resolve an opponent's die showing damage against it.)
    -You cannot play Blue abilities on this character.
        *this card is a misprint.  It should read, "-Guardian. (Before you activate this character, you may remove an opponent's die showing damage against it.)
                                -You cannot play Blue abilities on this character."
        *you may play the Sith Holocron on this character and use its special to get Blue abilities onto this character    

    Temmin "Snap" Wexley
    -While at least one of this die is in your pool, your opponent must spend 1 resource in order to claim the battlefield.
        *this ability applies to TSW's character dice, not his upgrade dice

    Tie Pilot
    -While this die is in your pool, your other dice showing range damage (R) cannot be removed by an opponent.
        *if you have 1 Tie Pilot character die in your pool, and all are showing range, your opponent can only remove the Tie Pilot's die
        *if you have 2 Tie Pilot character dice in your pool, your opponent cannot remove any of your dice showing range
        *your opponent can resolve your ranged dice by using cards such as Anger
        *your opponent can force you to remove your ranged dice by using cards such as Doubt 
        
    Tusken Raider
    -After you activate this character, you may discard a card fro myour hand to resolve one of its character or upgrade dice.
        *you may not resolve a modifier by itself

    Unkar Plutt
    ACTION-Remove any number of your dice showing a combined value of 3 or more.  Then discard a random card from an opponent's hand and gain resources equal to its cost.
        *remember, specials and blanks have a value of zero.  Removing dice to avoid a Chewbacca special can save you

Edited by nismojoe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

IG-88 / Confidence Question

IG-88
    SPECIAL-Play a Yellow weapon or equipment from your discard pile on this character, decreasing its cost by 2.

Can you resolve the special on IG-88 even if you don't have a weapon or equipment in your discard pile?  For example, I play Confidence (SoR 109 - Choose an opponent's die and force them to resolve it, if able.) and want to remove my opponent's IG-88 die that is showing a special.  Can I resolve the special even though it won't have any practical effect?

 

Edited by watertribe107

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, watertribe107 said:

IG-88 / Confidence Question

IG-88
    SPECIAL-Play a Yellow weapon or equipment from your discard pile on this character, decreasing its cost by 2.

Can you resolve the special on IG-88 even if you don't have a weapon or equipment in your discard pile?  For example, I play Confidence (SoR 109 - Choose an opponent's die and force them to resolve it, if able.) and want to remove my opponent's IG-88 die that is showing a special.  Can I resolve the special even though it won't have any practical effect?

 

You know.........that isnt so much a character question but more like a confidence question.  I honestly don't see why that scenario isnt legal.  You are essentially having them resolve a special that  has no effect, sort of like using confidence on Kylo but confidence was the last card in your hand.....for example purposes, not practical application.

Then I started thinking, what if it's Chewie with a special vs someone like Padme.  Can you confidence a chewie special even though the padme die is not a legal target for chewie's ability?  Are you allowed to even touch your opponent's die at that point or is chewie force to turn the die to another side anyway? waaag? any rules person care to chime in on that one?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm thinking that neither special says you "may" turn the dice or play the weapon, you can't use Confidence on the dice. I don't want to get into a fight, so I'll listen to arguments on the other side too though.

Think about it another way: I have Chewie's special on the table but none of your dice have damage sides. I know you have a Sensor Placement in your hand, because I looked at your hand using Maz's Goggles. I don't want you using my dice against me, so I resolve it but don't turn your dice because I can't. Would you let me do this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, but I don't think it's legal. Force Illusion: discard cards from the top of your deck equal to damage to block that damage. The official ruling is that you can't use it if you don't discard all the cards it says to. I don't see how a special is any different. You can't resolve something if you can't meet the initial condition for doing so. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, it looks like the Facebook debate is tipping the scales to say you can resolve an "illegal" special (and I use the term illegal for the sake of argument) regardless of if it even has any effect whatsoever. Short of Lukas showing up and saying otherwise, this might be the community decision.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...