Sign in to follow this  
DJRAZZ

Getting started.

OK I want the game to be available for just me some times. Probably at least two people most of the time. And hopefully 4 players sometimes. So the product is confusing to me. I have a general idea of how the game works and I want decent decks to start with. So 2 Cores is must right? Plus I think the limited card pool with copies of good cards can get the deck to 50 with 2 cores. I do know that the decks will not be good in 4 player with just 2 cores. So what else should we get to build a good partnership in decks so we don't get destroyed off the bat. Deluxe Expansions, Saga sets, packs.

What should I get. I have a lot of experience with CCG's and deck building in those type of games. I understand the LCG system but have never player a LCG or a cooperative game. I am use to dropping 100's even 1,000's of dollars on CCG's so 2-3 hundred dollars would not be a problem for a fun gaming experience. 

Everyone who wants to get into the game should check out the "new player buying guide" by tales from the cards: https://talesfromthecards.wordpress.com/2013/09/13/new-player-buying-guide/
If you only want to start out with the core set one is enough for 2 players (there won't be a huge difference in power once you got some expension), for 4 I would recommend 2 cores. All quest of the core set can be won in a two player game with no extra cards, that said the last quest is pretty hard no matter what.

Some personal experience so you maybe don't have to read the full linked guide (even though I would recommend it):
- the shadow of mirkwood cycle mostly is better for his playing cards than the quests, but they aren't very hard most of the time so it's good to get into the game post-CS.
- Khazad-Dum + Dwarrowdelf Cycle have awesome cards and good quests -> highly recommended