Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Dowydas

Lucky overlod win in The Wyrm Turns. Was it legal?

Recommended Posts

So we were playing The Wyrm Turns quest, Encounter 1.  In this quest Heroes control Belthir, and in the rule book is written that: "Treat Belthir as a hero figure during this encounter. Belthir may perform 1 move action and 1 other action." So Heroes started this quest by slaying overlord monsters, and it should be the easiest encounter 1 for them, but when they were sure that they will win, they started to take search tokens, and then overlord reminded to them, that they can search with Belthir also, because he is like a hero, they didn't thought about that. So they did that, moved with Belthir near the seach token and searched. And then overlord played Uthuk Demon Trap, a card about they were forgotten, the Belthir took strenght test, and failed to pass it, and died.  So the overlord won this Encounter. But to make sure i want to ask, was everything legal?
Btw it was so funny, because overlord just stole victory from heroes, and it was such a stupid mistake from heroes...

Edited by Dowydas

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think Belthir can search in that quest. Searching is only something heroes can do, it's not something figures treated as heroes can do (familiars treated as heroes can't search, allies can't search, etc.) As a general rule, if a figure can't hold its own equipment, it can't perform search actions. That ends up just being heroes. 

This thread on BGG has a nice explanation from Justin (Descent developer at the time, most of the way down the first page) on what Belthir can (or at least, can't) do regarding his Cry Havoc action.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But in the quest book is written that "Belthir may perform 1 move action and 1 other action", it's not written that Belthir can move and attack, when u have allies or familiars there is exactly written what actions they can do. So what those other actions are that Belthir can do and what actions he can't do?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree the rules are quite loose on the matter. But yeah in that context, I would assume action can only be a move or an attack. Which means he can either double move, or move and attack (and vice-versa). I don't think he can even open a door, although monsters can do that. Some things are not quite logical.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't see any reason why he can't open a door (though I don't remember whether this quest has a door he can open).

Search actions are unique because they

1) grant search cards

2) may grant gear

That presents a problem for figure who cannot hold gear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...