Sign in to follow this  
Noxragnarok

Panic vs Morale

Hi guys

Newbie here to tabletop gaming.

Question about morale and panic tokens.

Locally people are saying that when you roll the morale icon on a die during an attack you can use it to give the defender a panic token and stack them for later turns.

Is this right?

I understand you get panic tokens from missing a charge or bumping into enemy units. I am just confused by the dice icon and what it does.

Thanks

No, morale icons are spent right away, during the combat roll that produced them.  Panic tokens are spent (optionally) to add to the amount of morale icons, or to trigger a morale test on their own if a combat roll didn't produce any morale icons.

For example, I attack a unit with a panic token and roll 2 morale icons.  A severity 2 morale test will happen, but I can spend the panic token to make it a severity 3 morale test if I want.  

If a unit has 3 panic tokens and I attack and roll no morale icons, I can choose to spend any number of those panic tokens to trigger a severity 1-3 morale test, depending on how many I choose to spend.

Edited by Daverman

Is it possible to trigger a morale test at severity 4?

If not it would make units with Steadfast immune to the severity 3 test of that type. 

If you are able to trigger a severity 4 test do you spend 4 morale symbols/panic tokens to initiate the test? If so do you draw 4 cards?

Or do you spend 3 symbols/tokens  to initiate the test and then spend another if necessary to resolve a card once the 3 cards have been revealed? I think this is the correct treatment, which is still a severity 3 test, you just end up spending 4 symbols/tokens on it. 

Edited by Doodlebug

47 minutes ago, Doodlebug said:

Is it possible to trigger a morale test at severity 4?

Looking at Morale Test (53), it seems to me you can do severity 4+ morale tests. Nothing puts a cap on the number of tokens/icons you can spend on a morale test during an attack.