Jump to content
Supertoe

Dead or Drowing-Rules questions galore

Recommended Posts

Okay, so I've been trying to play dead or drowning, the seventh scenario in our Heirs of Blood campaign, but I am completely lost as to how the game is supposed to work.

So first off, several things appear to happen at the end of the overlord turn.

  • Heroes move refugees
  • Overlord moves infected (this is known to occur either before or after refugees according to the rules)
  • Overlord reinforces new zombies into spaces containing infected
  • Overlord moves reinforced zombies six spaces

Okay, so from what I can tell, not knowing what the actual order of these things are, it seems to me that the only way an infected will survive to allow a hero to cleanse them is if a newly reinforced zombie infects a villager. Because any villagers infected on the overlord turn are immediately zombiefied at the end of the overlord turn, thus meaning there is no way for the heroes to cleanse them. However, then here's my next question: Assuming an infected survives long enough for a hero turn to happen (if again the infected was infected by a reinforced zombie), then what is the point of tyrus? Because Tyrus activates after a hero turn, whereas the infected will turn into a zombie at the end of the turn. So can Tyrus even do anything at all? This scenrio is really weird.

 

Also, can a spider reinforced into a shortcut space immediately gain six movement?

Edited by Supertoe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have not played that quest myself. From the quest rules it seems that you got the instructions right but your assumptions are not completely correct. It depends on the state of the game. 
The OL has to respect group limits for the reinforcements of zombies, thus, he might not be able to turn all villagers that were infected during his turn into zombies at the end of the his turn. Tyrus can clean an infected at the end of the turn of one hero. Even if he is activated in the last hero's turn it is still before the OL turn. The OL cannot turn infected into zombies before the end of his turn.  A spider can be reinforced in a shortcut space. However, it does not gain 6 movement points as figures being placed in a space from off the map are not entering that space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

However, you have to defeat a zombie in order to infect, so that therefore there is always a zombie in the supply. And you convert zombies at the end of each players turn, not each overlord turn. So Tyrus is still useless.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

EDIT:

OK. here's how the quest works:

Zombies can infect adjacent refugees by spending 1 MP.  This will kill the zombie. Infecting the refugee turns him from a hero-friendly figure into a monster-friendly figure (only affects movement rules). 

At the end of each OL turn, the OL gets to move all the infected up 3 spaces, and the heroes get to move all the refugees up to 3 spaces. The OL chooses whether the infected or refugees move first (but they move in groups).

The heroes or Tyrus can spend an action to remove an adjacent infected from the map (cleanse).

All of the above has to do with with OL victory objective, to infect all the refugees. Cleansing doesn't stop the OL from winning at all, but the OL can use infected to corner the remaining refugees or block the heroes.

Separately, heroes adjacent to coffins can discard them for an action, and then have to test to see if they suffer 3 wound. If a hero dies within 3 spaces of a coffin, the OL gets to move him before he's defeated.

 The hero objective is to discard the coffins. Not cleanse the villagers.

 

I love this kind of quest, because it's not a push/pull (infect, cleanse, reinfect, recleanse...) The OL and the heroes have separate objectives, and they have to juggle completing their own vs. preventing the opposition from progressing.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Supertoe said:

However, you have to defeat a zombie in order to infect, so that therefore there is always a zombie in the supply. And you convert zombies at the end of each players turn, not each overlord turn. So Tyrus is still useless.

Right, missed that. Group limits do indeed not limit the number of zombie reinforcements at the end of a turn.
However, in my translation (German) of the quest book, both the activation of Tyrus and the reinforcement of zombies take place at the end of a hero's turn or at the end of a player's turn, respectively.  Thus, as the active player a hero player can decide to activate Tyrus and cleanse an infected before the OL can convert the infected to a zombie.

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see now that the confusion wasn't so much about the victory conditions as it was the zombie replacement offered by the reinforcements section.

Tyrus, being controlled by the active player, could be selected to activate before an infected is replaced with a zombie. He would have the opportunity to cleanse a villager before it can be replaced with a zombie. (In other words, I agree with Sadgit).

While Tyrus isn't a huge help, he's definitely helpful to the heroes (as he can cleanse without a hero spending an action to do so.) If he were too instrumental to the quest, the OL would just target him immediately.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to rise this old thread .. but my question is linked to this quest !

Can somebody paste / explain what happens when an infected villager is cleanse ?

I'm asking because in my translated version the [fatigue] token AND the villager token are both discarded when cleanse !

... and I find it strange ... indeed the OL objective beeing to infect all refugees, if village tokens are discarded without beeing infected, does the OL can yet win if a villager has been cleanse?
shouldn't the OL condition in that case rather be : "if all remaining refugees on the Map are infested OL wins" ?
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

In the English quest guide, infected villager token and fatigue are both discarded.

There is no way to cleanse a refugee that has not been infected. If all the refugees get infected, the OL wins.

"As an action, a hero or Tyrus may cleanse an adjacent infected." (Note, NOT "refugee").

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Ok thank you it's the same then !
My concerned was not about cleansing in itself nor how it's done  .. but more about OL conditions and the consequences of cleansing.

Up to now, in my mind :
  Cleansing = villager is not infected anymore and he shouldn't count as a refugee infected for OL victory

But now with the confirmation that the English is the same as mine and with a little bit more thinking, I understand that Cleansing as no interactions with OL victory once infected whatever happens to villager he counts as infected
Cleansing it only avoids having a Zombie being reinforced at this place nothing more !

But I stay convinced that it would have been easier to understand if it was writen like "If all the refugees yet on the Map are infected, the OL wins."

Edited by Felin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×