Sign in to follow this  
SgtDurandal

2 Self Taught Newbs Prep for Their First Tournament

A bit of an intro: my buddy @durandal343 and I are gearing up for our first Organized Store Tournament of Armada come May 21st. This post is intended to show how a couple of self taught newbs prep for and play in their first legit matches. We've only ever played against each other so this should be an interesting experience.

To begin with we've started to play test the fleets we're planning on bringing to the tournament.

Leading up to this first battle report durandal343 had suffered a string of defeats for several weeks in a row. He was finally able to fill some of the holes in his fleets with a couple key purchases and the Rebel fleet he brought was well thought out and skilfully flown.

My Imperial fleet is a variation on a fleet build that I'be been flying for awhile. I've been a big fan of running dual Arquitens with Demo but I've had mixed success with it in the past.

This first battle report is a bit long as we're still working on playing faster and editing the videos down for easier consumption. We've also known each other since he was 3 and I was 1 so don't mind the bickering. :) 

Any and all constructive criticism is welcome. Enjoy.

Edited by SgtDurandal

1 hour ago, SgtDurandal said:

Leading up to this first battle report durandal343 had suffered a string of defeats for several weeks in a row.

Several weeks? I didn't win at all during March or April!  My last win was like in the second week of February... completely outclassed.

That was a dark time... 

Then I saw a light piercing through the darkness.. a hand stretched forth.. I grasped it and found myself saved by Biggs and a smattering of B-wings :)

Edited by durandal343