Dameon13

New Imp Player looking for guidance..

I'm new to Armada (also play X-wing) and I just picked up my own core set along with a 2nd movement tool and dice pack. I am wanting to primarily play Imperials but will likely get a few other Rebel bits just to make for interesting small introductory games.  Since we're now looking at Wave 6, a lot of the guides for beginners seam a bit long-in-the-tooth. 

What do you consider are must-haves? Anything that would be a "skip the ship, buy the card"?

Do you consider the Rouges and Villains squadron pack a must have? 

Is the Corellian Campaign a must get? It looks interesting but I am wondering what sort of priority purchase it should be; get it soon, or wait until I've bulked out my fleet to the 400pt mark?

Armada fortunately doesn't have much in the way of expansions you buy just for the cards. The only ones I can really think of would be the Victory SD and Neb B but only because they.

What sort of list interests you? Do you want a large flagship with its support fleet? A mix of small ships zipping around delivering justice to those who oppose order? Would a large wing of squadrons be your preference?   What models do you like aesthetically? Do you want to play competitively?  Would you prefer long-range turbo laser barrages, or short-range torpedo volleys? 

A set of rogues and villains is definitely nice to have, but I wouldn't prioritize it unless you wish to run fighter-heavy.  Honestly, I'd say the same for Correlian Conflict. The objectives and alternate unique squadrons are great, but I would round put your ships first unless you find something vital to your planning. 

If you want to play in tournaments you will want a set of CC. It is fortunate that it also acts as a perfect gateway for 4-6 people of equal skill (ie, absolute newbies) to get a slew of games in against people of similar skill level while learning the mechanics.