Jump to content

Recommended Posts

30 minutes ago, Builder2 said:

I really hope TC or somebody ends up doing acrylic sakura petals for fate tokens. Seems like a way more evocative symbol for the fleetingness of life IMO.

If http://www.brokenegggames.com/ adapts these roses to 12874180_10153350318647413_1953448154_o. cherry blossoms I am good to go!

What I really want to see are good acrylic Ring tokens, and Clan specific Honor counters (&dials).

This game has enough tokens and widgets for 3rd party producers to go nuts with... :D

Edited by C3gorach

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, C3gorach said:

If http://www.brokenegggames.com/ adapts these roses to 12874180_10153350318647413_1953448154_o. cherry blossoms I am good to go!

What I really want to see are good acrylic Ring tokens, and Clan specific Honor counters (&dials).

This game has enough tokens and widgets for 3rd party producers to go nuts with... :D

Yes, I want Clan dials so much... :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, SavageTofu said:

If, there is an enlightenment alternate win con... what do you suppose it would be?

a holding? A province? Will it even be possible to collect all five ring tokens?

I know that enlightment victory is your very thing.
I believe that if we will ever see it, it will be written on a Stronghold.

There is absolutely no way for now, to claim more than 3 rings. (2 normally, but theres crab province)

I guess they could combine Stronghold + Province + Holding + Philosophy cards to obtain your desired win condition. Which I would also like ofcourse, but I really don't know if they are willing to do so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Arkhonai said:

I know that enlightment victory is your very thing.
I believe that if we will ever see it, it will be written on a Stronghold.

There is absolutely no way for now, to claim more than 3 rings. (2 normally, but theres crab province)

I guess they could combine Stronghold + Province + Holding + Philosophy cards to obtain your desired win condition. Which I would also like ofcourse, but I really don't know if they are willing to do so.

I thought you could potentially claim four Rings (from winning both attacks and both defenses), but only get the benefits of the two you declared while attacking (plus the additional one for Crab)?

Guess we may find out more in next week's article!

Edited by JJ48

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, JJ48 said:

I thought you could potentially claim four Rings (from winning both attacks and both defenses), but only get the benefits of the two you declared while attacking (plus the additional one for Crab)?

I am not sure if claiming = getting benefits.
But yeah, you are right on this, arcticle mentiones that "winner claims the ring".
But why defender should claim it as it's been already assigned and cannot be assigned twice, dunno. Maybe for wording purposes (as in provinces ... "unclaimed ring....") 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Arkhonai said:

I am not sure if claiming = getting benefits.
But yeah, you are right on this, arcticle mentiones that "winner claims the ring".
But why defender should claim it as it's been already assigned and cannot be assigned twice, dunno. Maybe for wording purposes (as in provinces ... "unclaimed ring....") 

I think the "unclaimed ring" thing may figure into it.  Also, it's entirely possible we could see cards that offer some benefit "while you control the Ring of Fire" or "if you control two or more Rings" or something like that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like enlightenment too, as a former Brotherhood player. Based on what we've seen I doubt it's a win condition. I'd be surprised if it wasn't in the game at all though. Currently my thought is that there will either be a card or rulebook effect that basically says "If you fulfil some (conditions), you achieve enlightenment and receive (huge gameplay bonus)." So it wouldn't directly cause you to win but would give a major advantage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Tonbo Karasu said:

I think you are slightly incorrect.

A) Attacker is weaker than Defender --> Attacker loses, Defender claims the ring, but not the benefits.

B) Attacker is stronger than Defender, but not strong enough to break a Province --> Attacker wins and gets to claim the Ring and the associated benefits.

C) Attacker is stronger than Defender and strong enough to break a Province --> Attacker wins, gets to claim the Ring and benefits, and breaks a Province.

If the Defender didn't get to claim the Ring when they won, then it would be available at least for Ring-switching shenanigans if not outright selection.

I don't believe the Defender gets to claim the Ring, if that even means anything yet, but we'll see in the conflict article next week.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Danwarr said:

I don't believe the Defender gets to claim the Ring, if that even means anything yet, but we'll see in the conflict article next week.

It was indeed stated in one of the articles that the winner of each conflict claims the ring, but only gets the benefit of the ring if he was the attacking player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Ser Nakata said:

It was indeed stated in one of the articles that the winner of each conflict claims the ring, but only gets the benefit of the ring if he was the attacking player.

I found it!

Quote

Eventually, however, both players will pass, and one of you will win the conflict. In addition, if your skill surpasses the defender’s skill by a sufficient amount, you will break your opponent’s province, bringing you one step closer to victory! Then, the victor claims the contested ring, all attacking and defending characters bow and return home, and the conflict is at an end.

So claiming Rings must have a in-game implication on some level, but I don't know if we've seen any cards that reference that game-state yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 minutes ago, Danwarr said:

I found it!

So claiming Rings must have a in-game implication on some level, but I don't know if we've seen any cards that reference that game-state yet.

The 2 provinces for changing rings say that you can change for any Unclaimed Ring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, Danwarr said:

I found it!

So claiming Rings must have a in-game implication on some level, but I don't know if we've seen any cards that reference that game-state yet.

The quote you mention however makes the Crab Province: "Defend the Wall" not make sense as a card.  If the victor (not the attacker) claims the benefits of the ring, why does "Defend the Wall" exist?  I feel like there is a typo somewhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Mirith said:

The quote you mention however makes the Crab Province: "Defend the Wall" not make sense as a card. If the victor (not the attacker) claims the benefits of the ring, why does "Defend the Wall" exist? I feel like there is a typo somewhere.

There seems to be a mechanical difference between claiming a Ring and claiming a Ring Benefit. Though FFG articles are prone to errors so who knows.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Mirith said:

The quote you mention however makes the Crab Province: "Defend the Wall" not make sense as a card.  If the victor (not the attacker) claims the benefits of the ring, why does "Defend the Wall" exist?  I feel like there is a typo somewhere.

Because claiming the ring =/= as gaining the benefits of that ring.  The winner claims the ring, the attacker gains the benefit if they win.  Unless the defender is at the Crab Province.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 hours ago, JJ48 said:

I thought you could potentially claim four Rings (from winning both attacks and both defenses), but only get the benefits of the two you declared while attacking (plus the additional one for Crab)?

Guess we may find out more in next week's article!

You don't win Ring bonuses from successfully defending.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Dovla said:

tokens!???

 

what is this FFGesque abomination! Original ccg never had tokens like this FFG frankenstein of  a game! I object!

Sake tokens should be shotglasses filled with sake. And when you spend one you have to drink it! *

 

*Only iif you are of legal drinking age. Play safe kids!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Robin Graves said:

Sake tokens should be shotglasses filled with sake. And when you spend one you have to drink it! *

 

*Only iif you are of legal drinking age. Play safe kids!

Shots for something (10 honor, ring into play, broken province) was standard ruleset for what we called Drunken Draft and was part of evert Firiday night before Kotei. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Dovla said:

tokens!???

 

what is this FFGesque abomination! Original ccg never had tokens like this FFG frankenstein of  a game! I object!

Yeah, every player around had to grab truck full of tokens with him! I heard terryfing stories about players that drown in piles of tokens during koteis. Some top players had their huge safes where they swimming in scrooge mrduck style.  Tokens were a core sense of CCG. Initial design of this game was like Legend of the Five Millions Tokens, but later some dumbass changed it into Rings (tell me why!?).  

Tokens for life!

Edited by kempy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...