BayushiCroy

Names: HOW DO YOU SAY THEM?

So I am starting a project I have been wanting to do for a while. But what I am worried about is the pronunciation of the characters names. I have voice training, but I am not good at Japanese or Japanese-esque names. I am hoping the community can help me with a pronunciation guide for names. Be aware I can read phonetics like 70% of the time and never quickly, but I would generally prefer that over typing it out as it is less AK - YOU - WRIT

I will start by just listing all the names we have seen and wondering how you guys would say it:

Rokugan
Fu Leng
Jigoku
Kaiu
Kami
Togashi
Tao
Shinsei
Bayushi
Bushidō
Hantei
Ki-Rin

meishōdō
Shinjo
Chrysanthemum
Doji
Hotaru
Satsume
Akodo
Arasou
Matsu
Tsuko
Toturi
Altansarnai
Utaku 
Kamoko 
Shiba
Ujimitsu
shugenja
Togashi
Yokuni
oni
Hida
Kisada

So I have included several that I am pretty sure I know how to say =P
Just adding them all for completion. Thanks for any and all guidance.

It's weird for me to type it out, because I don't know how to type using proper IPA and Japanese uses very similar phonemes to Swiss-German. The 'u' is a bit different and emphasis is placed differently (SG tends to super-overstress the first syllable). Typing the 'i' and 'u' sound out as 'ee' or 'oo' also doesn't imply that they're long.
But here goes:

• Róhkoogahn
  • Foo Leng
  • Jigóhkoo
  • Kaheeoo
  • Kahmee
  • Tohgahshi

and so on. I try to pronounce things the Japanese way, anyway.

Fu Leng is a hard one, since it's not based on Japanese (anyone else notice that the only kami with a Chinese name is the evil one?). Is it in Wade-Giles or Pinyin? I'm pretty sure the -eng ending is pronounced differently in the two systems. When I was studying Mandarin, I always thought -eng sounded closer to the English sound in the word "lung" than the way we would immediately assume it should be pronounced.