Jump to content
Shanearmstrong

New Player to this game with unanswered question.

Recommended Posts

Hello Everyone,

I am sorry if these have been answered before and I did not see the answers. I am new to Eldritch Horror and it's vast complexities. I played it for the first time yesterday (by myself) with 2 characters so I can get a feel for the game and answer any questions my friends will have.

There is still a question I have though that I can't seem to find answers to. I looked in the manuals, FAQ's etc.. but still didn't answer my question, so I am hoping some of you may be able to assist me.

I am only playing the base game, no expansions (yet). Here is the question I have:

Q: If you are occupying a town space (e.g. San Francisco etc...) that has a gate spawned and a monster on it, and you fail to defeat the monster during the encounter phase, do you still spawn the event card for San Franciso (green cards) or the gate (portal card) as part of the encounter phase in order to close the gate? I know you can choose either the gate or the city as a choice but in this scenario, you would obviously want to close the gate. Or do you not get that encounter card until the enemy is defeated on that space?

Again total noob here, so any help would be appreciated....my mind was literally melted yesterday after reading through the manuals etc... I played for 3.5 hours before I had to remove the game from our dinner table :( so I did not get to finish, but I know I would have lost lol. 

Thanks All for the assitance!

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Shanearmstrong said:

Disregard this.

I apparently am blind and it's clear in black and white in the rules. Even though I've read them twice, 3rd times a charm I suppose. 

Sorry to bother everyone.

No worries.  If you're stuck on something, don't be afraid to ask.  We're pretty friendly around here.  Worst case scenario, we give you a tiny bit of flak first... but we'll help you out.  ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great Thank You!

I found a question that I need help with. It revolves around the expedition spaces (Amazon, Jungle, Antarctica, Pyramids, Himalayas, and Tunguska).

Do they count as a city (by that I mean like Rome or San Francisco) so that you can prepare for travel from them?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Shanearmstrong said:

Great Thank You!

I found a question that I need help with. It revolves around the expedition spaces (Amazon, Jungle, Antarctica, Pyramids, Himalayas, and Tunguska).

Do they count as a city (by that I mean like Rome or San Francisco) so that you can prepare for travel from them?

 

Welcome Shane! It has to be a city space. These are noted by the Black City Icon that is by the location name. All the expedition spaces fall under the category of Wilderness. They are meant to be discovering stuff out in the middle of nowhere away from civilization, so you can't count on a ticket broker to be there to help you out! Like KBlumhardt said, we're all here to share knowledge, and even ask our own questions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Thanks for the reply LordPyrex. That's what I thought, but wanted to be sure.

Thanks for that info Meretrix. Currently I'm only playing the base game, but I like it, so I'll probably expand. It's good to know that info.

Thanks everyone!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I think this is my last question, and I'm sure it's a no brainer, but my wife and I have different view points, so here for clarification.

 

When you acquire asset cards, and they say "action" in bold, does it cost one of your 2 actions at the begining of your turn to use these or do you get to use your 2 actions first then use these cards?

I'm under the impression that it counts as 1 of your 2 actions, but my wife thinks you get 2 actions plus these cards.

Which of the 2 is it?

 

As for stats Runko....0/3 Lol.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Shanearmstrong said:

Ok I think this is my last question, and I'm sure it's a no brainer, but my wife and I have different view points, so here for clarification.

 

When you acquire asset cards, and they say "action" in bold, does it cost one of your 2 actions at the begining of your turn to use these or do you get to use your 2 actions first then use these cards?

I'm under the impression that it counts as 1 of your 2 actions, but my wife thinks you get 2 actions plus these cards.

Which of the 2 is it?

 

As for stats Runko....0/3 Lol.

If the card has "Action:" then you are correct, it costs one of your two actions to use.

Edited by KBlumhardt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 hours ago, Shanearmstrong said:

As for stats Runko....0/3 Lol.

If you're interested, there's a thread on the General Discussion board that allows you to plug in all the information. Such as Ancient Old One, Investigators used, outcomes, and more. It helps to keep track of how balance is and how the game is working out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...