Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Lyraeus

Post FAQ Rapid Launch Bay

Recommended Posts

After 23 pages of dead weight and back and forth let's start a bit fresh. Besides I am known for these so I might as well keep it up. 

 

So post FAQ we have 2 sides. The first is possibly interpreting the card for advantage while ignoring the card and likely read the FAQ as an Errata. 

They believe that if you can Place 3 squadrons you can still activate those 3 squadrons as part of the same Squadron Command (though this ignores the actual card itself)

 

The other believe that the card still takes precedent and that the FAQ is explaining that you still need to activate the squadrons separately. 

So that if you have 4 squadrons to activate you may use 2 of those Activations to place 2 and the last 2 Activations to actually activate those squadrons. 

 

I firmly stand in the second half of group becuase it makes sense to me. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

After 23 pages of dead weight and back and forth let's start a bit fresh. Besides I am known for these so I might as well keep it up. 

 

So post FAQ we have 2 sides. The first is possibly interpreting the card for advantage while ignoring the card and likely read the FAQ as an Errata. 

They believe that if you can Place 3 squadrons you can still activate those 3 squadrons as part of the same Squadron Command (though this ignores the actual card itself)

 

The other believe that the card still takes precedent and that the FAQ is explaining that you still need to activate the squadrons separately. 

So that if you have 4 squadrons to activate you may use 2 of those Activations to place 2 and the last 2 Activations to actually activate those squadrons. 

 

I firmly stand in the second half of group becuase it makes sense to me. 

First, stop saying "interpreting the card for advantage". No one is doing that, we're simply trying to understand the *********** that FFG created here.

Second, you have to admit there's actually nothing in the FAQ that actually confirms either of the 2 scenarios, it's still completely muddled and open to interpretation.

FAQ text: 

"When a ship with this card equipped resolves a O command, it can place its set-aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that O command. After the squadrons are placed, they can be activated (one at a time) as part of that O command, but cannot move."

Card text:

" For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation."

 

The 2 put together, IMO, means that you can activate the 4 squadrons after you put them on the table. The card text combines the fact of placing down the squadron and the fact that it can shoot as well but not move right after they are put on the table. That's how I see it at least. Hell, the faq lets you choose wether or not you want to activate them.

 

IMO, they should have settled this problem by making RLB a discard card. Discard the card, put the squadrons next to the ship, resolve your command afterwards. Something like "Before you resolve the command phase, you may discard this card to place number of squadrons bla bla bla"

 

Too late for that now though.

Edited by Sybreed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK I will bite. Let's lay it out by the rules. 

 

First Squadron rule. 

"Squadron: Resolve after revealing the ship’s  command dial.

◊Dial: Activate a number of friendly squadrons up to the ship’s squadron value that are at close–medium range of the ship. Each squadron activated in this way can attack and move in either order. The squadrons are chosen and activated one at a time."

That is what you do during a Squadron Command. There is no other ting you do unless a card states otherwise. Mind you a Squadron Command lasts until the last squadron is activated you you choose not you activate another squadron. 

 

Now Rapid Launch Bay. 

"O: For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation."

So the card states that instead of Activating a squadron as per the Squadron Rules you may Place one of your set aside squadrons. 

Obviously this takes an activation as it is a Replacement effect of Activating for Place. 

We in agreement so far? 

Now the FAQ. 

"When a ship with this card equipped resolves a O command, it can place its set-aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that O command. After the squadrons are placed, they can be activated (one at a time) as part of that O command, but cannot move."

First off this is a FAQ  it an errata so it does not change the text of the card so the "instead of" is still creating a replacement effect. 

So here we have that the Squadrons can be Placed but now they have clarified that they can be Activated as well. So they get placed unactivated but the "instead of" still replaces that activation. 

 

Not the crux. What is a Squadron Command and how long it lasts.  A Squadron Command is a ship using up to its max squadron value (plus 1 if you use a token) and lasts until you are done activating squadrons. 

So now we have it. A Squadron Command is not the individual activation of a squadron it is the culmination of the entire series of events. 

What you and others seem to believe @Sybreed is that each activation is a Squadron Command in itself. This can't be becuase you only ever have 1 Squadron command a turn. 

Rapid Launch Bay is part of the Squadron Command, not a separate entity. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

what I believe is that the squadron command is only a requirement to place the squadrons on the board and nothing else. Then, you can do whatever you want with your command. You can either activate the squadrons you just placed, but they can't move, only shoot. Or, you can activate other squadrons in range.

By saying "you may instead", it seems to imply that you're doing something OTHER than activating squadrons, which doesn't count towards the squadron command activation, if it makes sense the way I'm explaining it. By saying that, it means that if you have a command value of 4 and use a squadron command, you can place the 4 squadrons on the board, but you still haven't used your activations. You can still activate whatever squadron you want, including those you just placed, but these can't move this turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Lyraeus said:

Believe or rules? Give me one or the other. Give me the first and it is you interpreting for advantage. The other I will believe. 

Ahhhh ignoring the "instead of" again. Go read the rules. 

I think I understand what you mean now, and until we get precise TO ruling during worlds, I'll refrain from using the card. If it is like you say, it is honestly a very bad upgrade and goes in the dump pile of bad upgrades FFG came up with for Armada.

I'd like to point out that you're being very rude, and discussing this has been quite the unpleasant experience. Good day sir.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think I may be wrong but the ruling is weird. They could have simplified it by stating "these squadrons may be Activated as part of this  effect but can not move when Activated" 

That way of wording the card would preclude other squadrons from being able to move if activated. 

 

As it stands if we use it the other way an ISD could Place 4 Squadrons then Activate 4 more. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

I think I may be wrong but the ruling is weird. They could have simplified it by stating "these squadrons may be Activated as part of this  effect but can not move when Activated" 

That way of wording the card would preclude other squadrons from being able to move if activated. 

 

As it stands if we use it the other way an ISD could Place 4 Squadrons then Activate 4 more. 

Would that really be that powerful, though, if the 4 placed squadrons had to be activated by something different and couldn't move that round? 

It would be effectively very similar to simply moving them up from the backfield anyway, even assuming we gave the ISD a Flight Commander to drop them in the enemy's face.  The 4 placed squadrons have to stay unengaged for a whole activation to be able to attack a ship. 

Best-case scenario, those 4 squadrons are fighters/escorts that are placed defensively, which means you rolled with a severely diminished squadron screen up until that point in the game.

I don't know what the right interpretation of this card is, and I've swung wildly from one extreme to the other over the course of reading and rereading it this afternoon, so I don't really have an agenda here.  I just think the "dire" scenario you're presenting isn't a big deal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

Would that really be that powerful, though, if the 4 placed squadrons had to be activated by something different and couldn't move that round? 

It would be effectively very similar to simply moving them up from the backfield anyway, even assuming we gave the ISD a Flight Commander to drop them in the enemy's face.  The 4 placed squadrons have to stay unengaged for a whole activation to be able to attack a ship. 

Best-case scenario, those 4 squadrons are fighters/escorts that are placed defensively, which means you rolled with a severely diminished squadron screen up until that point in the game.

I don't know what the right interpretation of this card is, and I've swung wildly from one extreme to the other over the course of reading and rereading it this afternoon, so I don't really have an agenda here.  I just think the "dire" scenario you're presenting isn't a big deal.

Maybe. It is just very powerful to suddenly have Intel, Rhymer, Howlrunner, etc to pop out and provide their effect then get 4 activations to come and use these amazingly nice bonuses that never got the chance to be engaged and removed. It seems weak but try it out

 

Oh oh oh! Suicidal Gallant Haven with a Command Pelta giving your squadron ls a speed boost. Suddenly Nora pops out with support and the follow on squadrons jump in. Who needs Intel at that point except to prevent an engagement? 

 

Sounds weakish but I don't like how the rules are being bent by an interpretation when the FAQ is really not set up that way. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that a squadron being placed on the table with RLB is activated post placement as part of the same command that placed it. So my AFII B places 3 squads, they are placed and then are activated in an order of my choosing using the AFII B's 3 squad activation pts in the process to do so. Anyway my position is that placing a squadron on the board with RLB counts as the intent to activate the placed squadron under the condition of not being able to move as an already in play squadron would have the option of doing.

I also see your point of placing 2 using 2 pts and then activating one of the 2 placed for the 3rd pt in the case of a stock AFII B. This is also within the realm of the cards meaning.

Disagree fully that you can place 3 squadrons and then activate 3 more unactivated squadrons with that command. The word 'instead' says that I am still spending one of my activation pts to place the squad on the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

Disagree fully that you can place 3 squadrons and then activate 3 more unactivated squadrons with that command. The word 'instead' says that I am still spending one of my activation pts to place the squad on the board.

It just seems like so many downsides as stated with the FAQ.  It already needs a token to activate the card, right?  Then you have to double-spend squadron activation points to then attack with the squads placed?  So a ship with a value of '4' would spend a token, and then place two squads and then attack with those two squads, and then it's action is spent?

 In my home games we saw the placing of the squadrons on the board from the card counting as their 'movement', which is why they do not get a normal move.  And then they can attack from those positions, if able, as part of the activation of them like any other squadron.  The ship's still restricted to activating no more than it's original number of squadrons.  It's just that the balance to the RLB squads being immune to attack while 'inside' the ship is that they don't get their full movement during activation like other, vulnerable ships, just the range '1' placement from the card.

So our situation essentially made the 'instead' of the card set up a temporary and alternate style of activating a squadron(s), but which is still restricted to the total value of that parent ship's Squadron action for that turn, which can include a mix of other, normally activated, squadrons who get to make their full move and attack.

Edited by AegisGrimm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Warlord Zepnick said:

This is how the card works:

1. Place X squadrons.

2. Activate any number of the squadrons you just placed, if you wish, one at a time.

It's really that simple.

I just responded to you in the other thread, tell me what you think about it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Warlord Zepnick said:

This is how the card works:

1. Place X squadrons.

2. Activate any number of the squadrons you just placed, if you wish, one at a time.

It's really that simple.

Except the card does not say that and the FAQ states that it is part of the same Squadron Command. Remember the Squadron Command is the ENTIRE command not just moving and shooting/placing a single squadron. 

 

Remember, it is a FAQ not an Eratta 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Lyraeus said:

Except the card does not say that and the FAQ states that it is part of the same Squadron Command. Remember the Squadron Command is the ENTIRE command not just moving and shooting/placing a single squadron. 

 

Remember, it is a FAQ not an Eratta 

I'll try and break it down for all to see one more time then.

RLB text.

"Before deploying fleets, you may set aside a number of friendly squadrons up to your squadron value next to your ship card.

Icon Command Squadron: For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation."

"For each squadron you would activate..."

When you use a squadron command with RLB, you're not activating the squadrons, your placing them.

"[P]lace 1 of your set aside squadrons...it cannot move this activation."

It is singular. Similarly, the number 1 is singular. Thus, it refers to the squadron(s) you place.

The only restriction on the squadron is that it cannot move, but the card does not expressly preclude the squadron from attacking.

Typically when a squadron command is used, you can move and attack with a squadron. Thus, the squadron is placed and activated, but is only allowed to attack.

FAQ

When a ship with this card equipped resolves a Icon Command Squadron command, it can place its set-aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that Icon Command Squadroncommand. After the squadrons are placed, they can be activated (one at a time) as part of that Icon Command Squadron command, but cannot move.

We have already established that a squadron(s) is being activated via RLB.

Think of the placement of the squadron within distance 1 as being a substitute for the squadron's movement.

All the FAQ does is require you to place all the squadrons before activating them one at at time, which essentially allows you do both benefit from Mith's effect via placement, and Boba's through activation once he is placed on the board.

 

There is literally nothing in the language of the card and the FAQ that supports the notion that you have to use 1 point of your squadron value to deploy the squadron, and another point of your squadron value to activate the card.

Both the card and the FAQ make clear that you are activating the squadrons you are deploying.

Edited by Warlord Zepnick

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Warlord Zepnick said:

I'll try and break it down for all to see one more time then.

RLB text.

"Before deploying fleets, you may set aside a number of friendly squadrons up to your squadron value next to your ship card.

Icon Command Squadron: For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation."

"For each squadron you would activate..."

When you use a squadron command with RLB, you're not activating the squadrons, your placing them.

"[P]lace 1 of your set aside squadrons...it cannot move this activation."

It is singular. Similarly, the number 1 is singular. Thus, it refers to the squadron(s) you place.

The only restriction on the squadron is that it cannot move, but the card does not expressly preclude the squadron from attacking.

Typically when a squadron command is used, you can move and attack with a squadron. Thus, the squadron is placed and activated, but is only allowed to attack.

FAQ

When a ship with this card equipped resolves a Icon Command Squadron command, it can place its set-aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that Icon Command Squadroncommand. After the squadrons are placed, they can be activated (one at a time) as part of that Icon Command Squadron command, but cannot move.

We have already established that a squadron(s) is being activated via RLB.

Think of the placement of the squadron within distance 1 as being a substitute for the squadron's movement.

All the FAQ does is require you to place all the squadrons before activating them one at at time, which essentially allows you do both benefit from Mith's effect via placement, and Boba's through activation once he is placed on the board.

 

There is literally nothing in the language of the card and the FAQ that supports the notion that you have to use 1 point of your squadron value to deploy the squadron, and another point of your squadron value to activate the card.

Both the card and the FAQ make clear that you are activating the squadrons you are deploying.

Please read my thirst post here if you want to discuss cart Syntax 

 

Then there is this post I did last night. I will just post what I wrote. 

"If you would Activate a squadron" ok, so this part means, if I was going to Activate a squadron I can do something else replacing this. 

"with this Command," 

Seems simple enough, this is a command not like Engine Techs then since these interact with each other and not just need it to work. You need it to do things with this effect. 

"you may instead 

Oh the fun part. Here is the part that tells us we are doing doing something in place if another. 

"place" 

The thing we do. So this is the thing we do instead of Activating. 

Single English syntax 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Usually when you activate squadrons you do so one at a time.

So you have a ship with the capability to activate 4 squadrons, it has a squadron command dial, you pick your first squadron, that is in range to be activated, and it can move&shoot, shoot&move, shoot and not move, move and not shoot, it can do nothing, and afterwards you flip its activation slider, that squadron has now been activated, and you pick the next squadron, and you continue to do so ONE at a time, until you hit your activation cap, in this example 4.

Obviously on RLB they thought there was some confusion about the wording "For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place one of your set aside squadrons, within distance one." that sentence can be read you only place one, no matter what your squadron activation value is.

So the FAQ/Errata says "When a ship with this card equipped resolves a (Squad) command, it can place its set-aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that (squad) command.

Now it clearly states with no ambiguity you place up to your allotted squadron command, but that is a direct contravention of "activate one squadron at a time." so instead it says "you can" giving permission for them all to shoot, even though technically you place and shoot, or you missed its slot to fire, by the time squadron 4 is placed, squadrons one, two & three missed shooting. Hence the permission of "you can"

The "you can" is not an option for activating them, they are activated, and you just used your dial to do so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, TheEasternKing said:

Usually when you activate squadrons you do so one at a time.

So you have a ship with the capability to activate 4 squadrons, it has a squadron command dial, you pick your first squadron, that is in range to be activated, and it can move&shoot, shoot&move, shoot and not move, move and not shoot, it can do nothing, and afterwards you flip its activation slider, that squadron has now been activated, and you pick the next squadron, and you continue to do so ONE at a time, until you hit your activation cap, in this example 4.

Obviously on RLB they thought there was some confusion about the wording "For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place one of your set aside squadrons, within distance one." that sentence can be read you only place one, no matter what your squadron activation value is.

So the FAQ/Errata says "When a ship with this card equipped resolves a (Squad) command, it can place its set-aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that (squad) command.

Now it clearly states with no ambiguity you place up to your allotted squadron command, but that is a direct contravention of "activate one squadron at a time." so instead it says "you can" giving permission for them all to shoot, even though technically you place and shoot, or you missed its slot to fire, by the time squadron 4 is placed, squadrons one, two & three missed shooting. Hence the permission of "you can"

The "you can" is not an option for activating them, they are activated, and you just used your dial to do so.

Except that it is a clarification of the card not an errata. So there is nothing the card clearly states. If anything we have a direction on what to do with the squadrons. However, it still does not change the fact that becuase of the "instead of" part of the card, you replace Activation with Place. 

 

Since you are not "Activating" those squadrons but instead they are being Placed (but they are placed while replacing the term Activating with the term Place in the Squadron Command rule) you do not follow the Squadron Activation rule and so Moving and Shooting are never in the equation until you actually choose to Activate those squadrons later in the use of the Squadron Command. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Lyraeus said:

After 23 pages of dead weight and back and forth let's start a bit fresh. Besides I am known for these so I might as well keep it up. 

 

So post FAQ we have 2 sides. The first is possibly interpreting the card for advantage while ignoring the card and likely read the FAQ as an Errata. 

They believe that if you can Place 3 squadrons you can still activate those 3 squadrons as part of the same Squadron Command (though this ignores the actual card itself)

 

The other believe that the card still takes precedent and that the FAQ is explaining that you still need to activate the squadrons separately. 

So that if you have 4 squadrons to activate you may use 2 of those Activations to place 2 and the last 2 Activations to actually activate those squadrons. 

 

I firmly stand in the second half of group becuase it makes sense to me. 

And you are also interpreting the card for advantage with trying to essentially halve the squadron value of the ship equipping RLB. If the teamPurple version (i.e. you need to be entitled to four activations to place and shoot with two squadrons) is "correct" NO ONE WILL USE THIS UPGRADE.

The designers in no way shape or form released an upgrade like that. They'll let stuff out that isn't as good a choice as stuff that's already out but not stuff that is obviously just a completely terrible and awful deal. This card is costed highest amongst the squadron centric upgrades that go in its slot. It comes with other drawbacks for its use meaning the advantage it conveys comes at a cost and requires decisions in strategy and fleet building. 

In my view the FAQ supports neither the prior view of teamOrange nor TeamPurple. My reading of the FAQ suggests that you RESOLVE the effect in this manner presuming a ship equipped with RLB and fighters set aside:

1) Choose to resolve a squadron command. 

2) Place some portion of the set aside squadrons within range 1 of the ship equipped with RLB. Place the set aside squadrons with their sliders matching the current turn's color for indicating "unactivated." 

3) Resolve the squadron command as normal with the caveat that any of the just placed squadrons may not move if they are chosen for activation with this command. 

4) Treat the just placed squadrons just as though they were deployed as normal at the beginning of the game for the remainder of the game. 

This is simple and makes the RLB worth equipping and is in line with the FAQ. It incorporates some of the teamOrange understanding and some of the teamPurple understanding and handles some of the issues that informed or came up in those arguments. 

We should view this as a compromise and have an end to it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While I agree with you on many point @Frimmel, the rules don't agree. 

 

They need to straight up errata the damned card to fix it. It's not about advantage for me it is about the interaction of the rules. 

 

Suddenly you get to set up X number of squadrons and then activate X more. You suddenly don't need Intel anymore. You don't need it becuase you can hang those squadrons in the bays and then jump them forward. Suddenly there is the ability to alpha strike whatever you want. Think of Rhymer, Jendon, Jonas, Nora, Howlrunner, etc and what happens. Think of any future Synergistic effects like those. That is where my interpretation goes. It thinks about the ramifications 

 

On top of that now, the way the card is, you can launch them then later Activate them with a different ship ignoring movement restrictions. I can't argue at all that you can't do that becuase even the rule clarification states that can happen. 

 

On your interpretation Frimmel, you ignore the entire replacement effect of the card. You. Treat the FAQ as if it was an errata. Nothing on the card changed. Not one dang thing. They just clarified that you can launch the squadrons unactivated which makes sense becuase you are resolving a Squadron Command without the word Activated in it. Hence replacement effect 

Edited by Lyraeus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/21/2017 at 6:25 PM, Lyraeus said:

OK I will bite. Let's lay it out by the rules. 

 

First Squadron rule. 

"Squadron: Resolve after revealing the ship’s  command dial.

◊Dial: Activate a number of friendly squadrons up to the ship’s squadron value that are at close–medium range of the ship. Each squadron activated in this way can attack and move in either order. The squadrons are chosen and activated one at a time."

That is what you do during a Squadron Command. There is no other ting you do unless a card states otherwise. Mind you a Squadron Command lasts until the last squadron is activated you you choose not you activate another squadron. 

 

Now Rapid Launch Bay. 

"O: For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation."

So the card states that instead of Activating a squadron as per the Squadron Rules you may Place one of your set aside squadrons. 

Obviously this takes an activation as it is a Replacement effect of Activating for Place. 

We in agreement so far? 

Now the FAQ. 

"When a ship with this card equipped resolves a O command, it can place its set-aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that O command. After the squadrons are placed, they can be activated (one at a time) as part of that O command, but cannot move."

First off this is a FAQ  it an errata so it does not change the text of the card so the "instead of" is still creating a replacement effect. 

So here we have that the Squadrons can be Placed but now they have clarified that they can be Activated as well. So they get placed unactivated but the "instead of" still replaces that activation. 

 

Not the crux. What is a Squadron Command and how long it lasts.  A Squadron Command is a ship using up to its max squadron value (plus 1 if you use a token) and lasts until you are done activating squadrons. 

So now we have it. A Squadron Command is not the individual activation of a squadron it is the culmination of the entire series of events. 

What you and others seem to believe @Sybreed is that each activation is a Squadron Command in itself. This can't be becuase you only ever have 1 Squadron command a turn. 

Rapid Launch Bay is part of the Squadron Command, not a separate entity. 

So I have read and re-read your position, and my response is:  you are still wrong, for a simple reason.

The "instead of" isn't referencing activating a squadron you placed.  It's "instead of" activating a squadron on the board already, because that would be the normal use of a squadron command.  The new FAQ makes this clear.  You place the squadrons on the board, and then may activate them "as part of that [squadron] command."  The squadron command is allowing you to activate the squadrons that were placed, up to the number that you placed on the board.  And this is because RLB has replaced the original squadron command rule with a new ability.

The "may activate" isn't saying that you might or might not be able to activate a squadron instead of placing it, it's the same "may" that is in the existing squadron command - that you can choose not to activate a squadron if the timing wouldn't be appropriate.  But you can still place as part of the squadron command and may or may not activate what has been placed.

Edited by thecactusman17
clarification.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So let's try an actual play example for a change:

My Avenger ISD-I w/FC/EH/RLB

It has Maarek, Jendon, Vader, Dengar, and Boba Fett (or maybe Rhymer in there, if I want more range - or Jonus for the Accs) sitting inside, idling.

(I'm just making this up... but you know you want to try)

The ISD reveals a squad command on round X.

I decides to use FC. It makes some pew pew, then goes rumbling down the table at speed 3. Weeee!!!

I place the 5 squads in front of my ISD (within 1).

I now have the OPTION of activating those squads, 1 at a time, as normal.

OC I do, hammering that poor MC80 I'm parked next to.

Caveat 1: None of my activated squads can move this activation.

Caveat 2: I can't activate OTHER squads: I've used RLB to trigger an alternate use of the squad command. The only squads I can activate are those that got placed.

Since I'm 1st player (the rest of my list is just bid and activation padding), I activate Avenger last/first. My bomber ball wrecks face and Avenger finishes the job with battery fire. Boom!!! :D

Note: If I was some sort of rebel scum, with Yavaris and whatnot, I might drop activating 1 or more squads. I'd just place them and leave them unacitvated for later shenanigans.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A mental fart:

Projection experts let you do something else as part of the engineering command resolution. They require you from spending engineering points but it doesn't mean anything. If ffg would not write the points part you still being able of telegraphing shields. Yes, it doesn't have "as part of" in its wording but RLB doesn't.

If the FAQ would say "you may activate them with this command" then you would be able to do using this command and its rules. "You may activate them as part of this command resolution" means: 

1. You may or not activate them. Great!

2. "As part means" that one of the effects of just resolving (thanks to RLB) that squadron command is that you are able to do point 1.

In other words. Activate squadrons with your squadron value is a part of resolving a squadron command. It is basically the only part it has unless you add upgrades. RLB allow you do somethings else as part of that resolution.

If ffg wanted us to activate those squadrons normally. They would say probably "with" but I will agree about it is just speculation. You asked why they didn't put "you may activate those squadrons" but then we would have a big difference. The fact that they allow to consider the activation of those squadrons as part of the squadron command means things as FC works on this squadrons without breaking the fact that the squadrons placed don't have to wait for an eventually activation from the ship that launched them or any other.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...