Jump to content
Keithandor

FN - 2199 question

Recommended Posts

latest?cb=20170328133651

When is says "if able, immediately resolve it" can you resolve that die only,  or can you link it with other dice" ?

 

Anyone run FN -2199 yet ? I only have one dice , I'm not sure who he would pair with if only one dice ?

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anytime you are allowed to resolve 'a dice', that's it. You can't resolve modifiers with it. However, resolving the dice is optional - so if it's a modifier, you can choose to resolve it later in the turn alongside other dice.

As for team members, he's kind of going to go fine with any decks that runs weapons, so probably anything except heavy Blue. He's generic enough that I can see him fitting into some kind of deck with eBala and whatever; Tusken Raider does feel like a good fit with the split damage and a similar 'hit fast' ability. With full deck building, I can see him pairing up with IG-88 to feed his special.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
30 minutes ago, Keithandor said:

I'm thinking

FN 2198 / Deathtrooper /Plutt

I'm hoping to pull a second one so I can try eFN-2199/eDooku. It'll be like Dooku/eGrievous but faster and deadlier. Really, FN's cheap point cost at elite and his great ability make him an easy fit in many different deck types.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Biohunter21 is right! eKylo, trooper, FN are a very good pairing. I was just going to suggest that. 

In response to your original question, there's a lot of cards now that "resolve a die", and yes, unfortunately they only resolve that one dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I played eKylo FN FOS and 3-0 8 player event too but yesterday I played him with yellow cards. Vibroknuckles and Flamethrower are rly strong with 4 respectively 5 dice sides you can resolve right away with no other needs. I only had 3 starting dice with FN Bala Dooku and it seemed slower (less resource symbols and dmg sides) but once the yellow weapons dropped it was hell for opponent. I want to try eFN Bala RoyalGuard when I got the dice. One thing I loved with Dooku is that every redeploy from dead FN goes to strong character that can carry the rest of the game. Also the ratio of weapons support cards and removal is hard to tackle. You can go multiple routs. Control with few strong weapons and a lot of control cards or all in 20 weapons. I played from 8-16 weapons decks and both routes seemed legit to me. Especially blue red deck with 10 weapons 14 removal and 6 support cards was feeling rly smooth. To craft perfect deck with FN and so many card options is going to be challenge. Sorry for long post and bad English. May the force be with you :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I ran FN-2199/Dooku/Raider tonight at our local small tourney.

I was thinking about eKylo , but I just dont like his dice.

I won one  , lost two ,  which is pretty good for me I usually don't win any games.

Might be worth refining my deck and having another go.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a follow-up question on this card/ability.
If I play holdout blaster on FN, then use the ability to roll and resolve that die, can I re-roll the holdout blaster if I activate FN on the ambush action?
I guess the real question is can the same die be activated/resolved multiple time in the same round?

I assume yes, since if you move a weapon from redeploy it can be re-used, right?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess the real question is, can you roll this die if FN has yet to activate. There is nothing in the rules saying you may or may not from what I can tell. The only clue comes from the FN card itself, if able, mean there are times you will not be able to roll the die. I am not sure what those times would be.

Otherwise, once you resolve the weapon die, it goes back to the card and will be rolled back into the dice pool when the character is activated.

I am just sad that eFN and eGrievous can't be a thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/25/2017 at 9:40 PM, Anubisfm said:

I have a follow-up question on this card/ability.
If I play holdout blaster on FN, then use the ability to roll and resolve that die, can I re-roll the holdout blaster if I activate FN on the ambush action?
I guess the real question is can the same die be activated/resolved multiple time in the same round?

I assume yes, since if you move a weapon from redeploy it can be re-used, right?

 

 

This was my question as well. After you are able to resolve that weapon die it goes back to the card and can be rolled again upon activation?

Questions aside, I ran eFN-2199 with Death Trooper and FO Trooper and it's pretty awesome. 4 dice for opening roll almost guarantees you go 1st. Paired with the Secret Facility battlefield so you can claim early and still do tons of damage

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/25/2017 at 9:40 PM, Anubisfm said:

I have a follow-up question on this card/ability.
If I play holdout blaster on FN, then use the ability to roll and resolve that die, can I re-roll the holdout blaster if I activate FN on the ambush action?
I guess the real question is can the same die be activated/resolved multiple time in the same round?

I assume yes, since if you move a weapon from redeploy it can be re-used, right?

 

 

 

Yes, you can roll the die again when you activate off of the ambush action.  However, if you rolled a blank on the Holdout Blaster and then activated FN on the ambush, that blank would remain in the die pool.  You do no roll die already in the pool when activating a character.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Situation (FN not activated): I equip something (with ambush). I roll it. It cannot be resolved. I cast a card that says remove one of my dice to remove one of theirs. I remove that die from my pool. Can that die be rolled again when FN activates?
Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...