Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Seam

Engaged with two or more enemies

Recommended Posts

Our play group is not absolutely sure what happens in certain situations:

 

1 An investigator is enganged with two or more enemies. What happens

a)  if the investigator attacks one of the enemies: does the other enemy get a chance for an attack of opportunity?

b)  if the investigator attacks another enemy, exhausted at his location: do both enemies he is engaged with get a chance for attacks of opportunity?

c)   if the investigator attacks another enemy enganged with another investigator at his place?

2 An investigator is again engaged with two or more enemies. What happens if the investigator wants to evade one/all enemies? How exactly can an investigator evade two or more enemies he is engaged with?

     Exhausted enemies, for simplicities sake, count as if they weren’t there until they are readied, right?

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Several actions do not provoke attacks of opportunity. The basic actions that do not are: Fight, Evade, Parley, Resign. Therefore, no option in your list is correct. However, if you Fight and fail against an enemy with Retaliate they will do damage. 

2. An investigator that wants to evade multiple enemies will need to succeed at an Evade check against each. As per the previous question, this does not provoke an attack of opportunity.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) Combat actions, whatever they're directed at, don't trigger attacks of opportunity, so you can effectively punch them all in sequence, and they will obligingly wait their turn.

2) You have to evade each one, unless you have a card that enable some you to evade all enemies in your threat area. Again, these evade attempts don't trigger attacks of opportunity. Obviously, if you only have three actions, and you're engaged with 3 or more enemies, then that's all of your turn just to avoid attacks in the enemy phase, at which point you have to do it all again, unless someone's coming to help you"

3) Kind of, they're still at your location for the purposes of card effects,  it no, they won't interact unless they have card text which affects investigators at their location.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1)      a) No. As said above - Fight/Evade/Parley/Resign actions do not trigger attacks of opportunity

          b) Again, no. Fight actions do not trigger attacks of opportunity

          c) Attacking an enemy engaged with a different investigator - this is allowed and if you are successful, resolve as normal. However, if you fail, you deal the damage you would have dealt the enemy to the investigator the enemy is engaged with.

2) You have to take an Evade action for each enemy separately. If you do not have enough actions you will not be able to Evade all the enemies.

3)Exhausted enemies: They do not engage any investigator, they do not move or attack during the Enemy Phase. Otherwise they count as being at the same location - which can trigger effects such as when you draw certain symbols from the chaos bag during certain scenarios that say, for example, "If there is a Ghoul at your location, take 1 damage." - this will still take place. But this can be beneficial as well, using Agnes' ability of dealing a damage to an enemy at her location whenever she takes one or more Horror. They do automatically engage any valid investigator at their location as soon as they are readied during the Upkeep Phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, zooeyglass said:

"To avoid opportunity attacks upon you,

Fight evade parley or resign you must do."

Whilst it rhymes, this is not logically sound, and it is important to crush all joy beneath the weight of reason. Your rhyme suggests that anything that is not [Fight, evade, parley, resign] will provoke an attack of opportunity: this could lead someone who wants to read your response literally but doesn't want to read the rulebook to conclude that reaction and free triggers provoke attacks of opportunity.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/30/2017 at 11:22 AM, crowdedmind said:

Whilst it rhymes, this is not logically sound, and it is important to crush all joy beneath the weight of reason. Your rhyme suggests that anything that is not [Fight, evade, parley, resign] will provoke an attack of opportunity: this could lead someone who wants to read your response literally but doesn't want to read the rulebook to conclude that reaction and free triggers provoke attacks of opportunity.

Hopefully no one is taking poorly scanned doggerel and taking it literally, but yes, good point. Will begin composing a further couplet...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...