Jump to content
intothenight

Rules Question: Upgrades vs. Reductions

Recommended Posts

Suppose I have a Politico. Said Politico wishes to get through a door. This door is guarded by a single Rival. The Politico chooses to use Deception to convince the Rival to leave his post. The Rival has a Willpower of 3, no ranks in Discipline, and Nobody's Fool 2, which upgrades the difficulty of incoming Deception checks by 2.

The Politico really wants this check to work, so she went into this using her Signature Ability: Unmatched Expertise. She's bought it up a bit, but not all the way. As it currently stands, she can reduce the difficulty of Colonist Career skills by 2.

Now, with that Rival's Willpower of 3 (and 0 ranks in Discipline), the base difficulty is 3 Purples. Thanks to Nobody's Fool 2, the Rival would normally upgrade that to 2 Reds, 1 Purple. However, with the Politico reducing difficulty, what happens first? What should the final difficulty dice pool look like?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, awayputurwpn said:

You reduce difficulty before upgrading it. The final dice pool would be 1 Challenge die, 1 Difficulty die. 

Is this really right? The Edge of the Empire Core Book says:

"Sometimes abilities will call for both dice upgrades
and downgrades. When this occurs, all upgrades are
applied first. Then, any downgrades are applied
This
is important, since upgrading dice could potentially
add more dice to the overall pool."

So the dice would first be upgraded to 2 Reds, 1 Purple. Then downgraded to 3 Purple.

As I understand it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Laddeus said:

Is this really right? The Edge of the Empire Core Book says:

"Sometimes abilities will call for both dice upgrades
and downgrades. When this occurs, all upgrades are
applied first. Then, any downgrades are applied
This
is important, since upgrading dice could potentially
add more dice to the overall pool."

So the dice would first be upgraded to 2 Reds, 1 Purple. Then downgraded to 3 Purple.

As I understand it.

Verbiage is critical.  Reduce, Increase, Downgrade, Upgrade, are synonyms in the English language, they don't mean the same thing in dice mechanics.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...