Sign in to follow this  
migs6000

Finally made the jump to Armada

Long-time X-Wing player here (started around wave 2) and today I have finally made the jump to Armada. 

Reading through the rule book I feel like a complete noob again but God it looks fun.

My son is really the one who wanted this so he finally convinced me. Both of us are heavy into X-Wing, me being more into the competitive scene. Any tips for a new guy? Thanks in advance.

And especially don't make any assumptions about how this game works vs X-Wing.  MANY things are different.  Multiple rerolls, almost never dealing more than one crit at a time, what/when premeasuring is allowed, etc.  It's a big list of differences - make no assumptions!

Ramp up slowly. Play the learning scenario, then play a couple at a lower points total like 300 before hitting 400.

When in doubt, navigate commands.

Most severe fighting generally occurs rounds 3-5, which is helpful to know as a beginner trying to set commands several turns in advance.

Have fun! Welcome to Armada!

Learn To play scenario first. Really would help in understanding the basic flow of the game.

There is also a very nice attack-step write up in the Rules Questions sub-forum that can help you out once you play heavier games and get lost in the timing order. And other stuff for when the rules reference fails you.

Play more games! Like X-wing, experience is the fastest teacher. Unlike X-wing, the playstyle of the game is different(i.e. shoot before move), so approach it as a new game!

Watch batreps on youtube too!

Welcome to star wars at the commander's level! ;)

Edited by Muelmuel

When in doubt, as a beginner:

Navigate/Navigate/Navigate/Repair/Repair/Repair