Jump to content
Markspinner

Enemy Engagement Question

Recommended Posts

Buddy and I came across a couple situations that we didn't see answers for (or missed) in the rulebook.

If you successfully evade an enemy with no special keywords (prey, hunter, etc) and leave the location, doesthe enemy stay there permanently unless you happen to re-enter the location?  And the enemy could also re-engage you if you stay in the location after it ready's correct?

Bonus question : Can one investigator have two of the same talent out in play?  For example, can Skids have two Burglary talents out?  Seems kind of awkward from a thematic standpoint, but since it's not a unique card, I don't see why not? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, Markspinner said:

If you successfully evade an enemy with no special keywords (prey, hunter, etc) and leave the location, does the enemy stay there permanently unless you happen to re-enter the location?  And the enemy could also re-engage you if you stay in the location after it ready's correct?

Bonus question : Can one investigator have two of the same talent out in play?  For example, can Skids have two Burglary talents out?  Seems kind of awkward from a thematic standpoint, but since it's not a unique card, I don't see why not? 

First question - Yes, the enemy remains there until you reenter the location. Some enemies spawn in empty locations, waiting for you to arrive...

Second question - Yes, if you evade, but remain in a location until the enemy readies, then they will re-engage, assuming it doesn't have a 'Prey-only' instruction.

Third question - Yes, you can. Each Burglary would have to be used separately, as an action. However, if you had 2 Pickpocketings out, they could both trigger on 1 evasion, I believe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, mwmcintyre said:

The only cards that would be limited are the ones that have the small asterisk by the name of the card, indicating it is a unique card and so only one may be in play at a time across the entire game board.

So unique cards are unique to the whole board state, not just to each investigator?  For example, two separate investigators could not run their own copy of Leo De Luca ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct, Unique is across the entire board (see Unique, RR, p 20), with the caveat that if somehow a Unique encounter card enters play with the same title as a Unique player card, the encounter card Unique gets priority (this is impossible right now).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Gaffa said:

Correct, Unique is across the entire board (see Unique, RR, p 20), with the caveat that if somehow a Unique encounter card enters play with the same title as a Unique player card, the encounter card Unique gets priority (this is impossible right now).

But I'm sure it will happen at some point.  "But wait, Asenath you were supposed to be on our side  .... "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some engagement questions came up

1) An enemy's "Prey" keyword would only affect investigators at the same location correct?  Meaning if we evade and leave the location, the enemy would not follow us (unless it also had the "Hunter" keyword).

2) If investigator A and B are at the same location and investigator A evades an enemy there, can investigator B still attack it?  If so, I assume another engage action would be required first?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) Correct. Barring card effects, prey only affects which investigator an enemy engages when it has the option on which to engage. Notably this excludes when you draw  (non-Spawn keyword) enemy, which must engage the investigator who drew it.

 

2) You can attack any enemy at your location, which includes enemies engaged with investigators at your location, as well as unengaged enemies at your location.

Note that if you miss an enemy engaged with another investigator, you deal the attack's damage to that investigator instead of your target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) Prey only comes in when an enemy has to choose between more than one viable target, e.g. equidistant investigators at different locations, or more then one at the same location, so you are correct that if you have a monster with Prey but NOT Hunter, they stay there and jump on the first investigator to come across it. Do we have an enemy in the game with Prey but not Hunter? It would rarely have an effect as Prey doesn't even affect drawn encounter cards during the Mythos phase.

2) You can attack any monster at your location (including those engaged with other investigators, and those exhausted by somebody evading them) *unless* it has the Aloof keyword, in which case it needs to be engaged with an investigator, but not necessarily the one attacking it. There are some other interactions that need you to be engaged, like the additional damage on the Machete, but evading an enemy, and then attacking it is often a good tactic, it (usually) stops them hitting you in the Enemy phase, and stops Retaliate attacks and attacks of opportunity if you want to draw a gun, or whatever first. So in your example, investigator B can start laying the smack down on that enemy straight away UNLESS it has the Aloof keyword.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...