Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
The Neverchosen

Archaeotech Shrine question

Recommended Posts

Hello any and all Relic players,

I've played a couple dozen games and like to think I know the game fairly well but I have here a card that really stumps me. Or rather has a very clear meaning and outcome to me, and another player has a contradictory interpretation and I have found no FAQ or clarification or anything to clear up the argument.

Attached is the card in question, Archaeotech Shrine. The way I read it, to interact with the card in any way, you must spend charge tokens from assets. The other player believes that this is unnessecary; that once he has a Mechanicus affiliation, landing upon the space and reaching the encounter step of Engagement phase will always yield a Cunning increase for nothing. 

Have I missed something simple here? In particular, I think the wording makes it clear that the Cunning increase is an alternative reward ('Instead') for spending the charges. In addition, it just seems wrong to have a infinite, no risk, costless source of attribute increases.

All thoughtful responses are welcome and appreciated, thank you.

Archeotech_Shrine.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At first glance, I was ready to go with your buddy (free Cunning), but mulling it over a bit, I think I lean for your side of the court. 2 charges needed, only the reward changes, depending on whether you have Mechanicus affiliation or not.

It's not an ideally formatted card IMO, leaving it somewhat open to interpretation.

Also, I think you'll get quicker responses these days posting on Boardgamegeek's Relic forums (under Rules), since Relic forums here have been relegated to the Forum Archives.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...