• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ChristiantheCloakedSchemer

Sea Neon and new Magic

13 posts in this topic

Because it got answered months ago somewhere.

Seebeeay to dig out thread.

I know if you're using the old Magic cards before they gained their /Attack accoutrement then they definitely do bypass Sea Neon. As for the Magic/Attack equivalents, I believe that they still work because they're only half cancelled or something like that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know about getting answered before now...I just didn't comment cause I honestly didn't know how to answer it.

 

If I were to make an educated guess?  The old ones wouldn't be, but the new ones would because they say Magic/Attack

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So which is it? I mean if we go by the card text, then the New Magic would indeed be stopped.
However, knowing FFG as they were, they probably only added the "/Attack" because of the confusion that adding Magic to challenges caused. And trying to go via FFG logic, they woulda said similar to Troth, "they're not REALLY attack so Sea Neon doesn't affect them" or somethin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Querry:  Has anyone check'd the rulebook on the matter? 

I would have to agree:  FFG tried makin somethin new outta somethin original, just to stop people from addin the questions of 'can I this?  Can I that?', 'n ended up screwin up another fundamental portion of the game. 

They are just magic cards.  Nothin more, nothin less.  You can add them to your attack value if you use them to challenge your opponent. 

Why does it say attack?  How many people do we know forgot to give the rulebook a once more over just to clarify if we could use the magic cards in a challenge.  I remember wonderin that myself, until I read through the rulebook, specifically around the 'magic' section.

Matter of fact, I'll quote the whole magic part from the rulebook:

"4.  Magic Cards

Magic Cards represent the magical spells the player and his/her companions may use.  The Magic Value of Player Cards, Friend Cards, and Magic/Friend Cards are used to bring Magic Cards into play.

Magic Cards provide a variety of benefits:  Some cause damage to an opponent's cards (Magic/Attack), while others are played to recover Heart Points or alter the state of the game in some way (Magic).  When playing a Magic Card, a player should place it on his/her play mat until its effects have worn off, then discard it."

As you may note in the second paragraph, magic/attack cards are still classified as magic cards overall.  Sea Neon will not stop these cards. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

they shudda just made it "Magic/Support" It would have cleared up the "Can they be used in Challenges?" question as well as stopped questions like this from happening

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

devilmonkey said:

they shudda just made it "Magic/Support" It would have cleared up the "Can they be used in Challenges?" question as well as stopped questions like this from happening

Well after reading the rulebook it seems like they didn't add the "/Attack" to try and clarify the challenge issue, they added it to divide Magic cards into two groups like they do with "Friends" and "Magic/Friends"....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looking at it from that point of view...I'd say if it's used to "Attack" or deal damage to something then Sebastian makes it 0...if not, then he does nothing to it.

....or maybe he just makes them asplode...

....FFG can go right to hell with this crap, seriously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm just goin to say no. 

It's a magic card.  It will always be a magic card.   It can have support, attack, tech, friend, player, or whatever afterwards, but it will always be a magic card. 

'N this is why I believe particular erratas ought be made. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0