Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Cremate

Jet Troopers on the (Over)run.

Recommended Posts

This is not a question as much as an answer (from FFG).
 

Quote


"Overrun triggers when you enter the space, but the restriction prevents you from entering the space, and the damage can’t be triggered. Overrun doesn’t quite clear this restriction."

I guess the question could be something like: The movement section in the RRG tells us that a figure cannot spend its last movement point to move on top of (through) another figure - is this also the case if you have played Overrun and that doing so would kill that figure?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm. 

What's the exact wording in the RRG about spending your last movement point to go onto a figure? 

I thought it was you just can't end your movement in a space containing another figure. 

 

During regionals, when everyone had jet troopers doing overrun, it played out on multiple occasions that a jet trooper finished out their move onto a figure that died from overrun, thus leaving an empty space for the jet trooper to end their move. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the RRG

Quote

Figures can move through other figures’ spaces. The figure

must spend one additional movement point to enter a space

containing a hostile figure. Some abilities allow figures to move

through spaces containing blocking and impassable terrain.

The definition of “moving through a space” is that the figure

can enter the space as long as it does not end its movement

in the space. The figure cannot enter the space if this would

spend its last movement point.

So from this if you have only 1 movement point left you technically cannot enter another figures space to trigger Overrun even if you are mobile. With exceptions for Massive Figures that can end their movement on small figures and push them out of their space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that the last movement point part is just clarification, but the rule is that you cannot move through a space with another figure if you don't have enough movement (points) to legally end movement.

To enter the space you should not be able to depend on things that may happen in the future. Where do you draw the line?

What if the figure does not die from Overrun due to an ability or a command card in the opponent's hand that you don't know about?

Do you use different rules in campaign and skirmish? In the campaign it is possible for a figure to suffer damage upto its health and not be defeated.

 

 

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are contingency rules, though, for how to handle if you move through a different figure and other game elements then suddenly make you unable to move off them again. I would have preferred that the last movement could be used with Overrun, with this as a way out if the figure somehow found a way to survive.

But they're sticking to RAW and intend us to, so that's what we'll have to do even if we prefer the alternative.

Edited by Cremate

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its pretty clear that, even though it seems counter intuitive, the movement rules prevent entering the space prior to the defeat happening.

It doesn't matter if the figure would be defeated because the movement into that space is illegal in the first place. (when using their last movement point)

It just means that someone doing Overrun has to be more careful with their positioning and how many movement points they have remaining

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Bivistheman said:

When you use overrun with a group that has 2 or more figures do you get the ability with all figures in that group or just 1 figure?

One, just the figure activating with the card Overrun

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...