Jump to content
ThatMomentwhen

Okaluk and Rakash and Immobilized

Recommended Posts

It depends on the time O&R gets immobilized:

If he is immobilized in step 1.I. "Start of turn abilities" of his turn, he may decide the order in which start of turn effects resolve. He may choose to gain movement points after getting immobilized and may use them in his turn. I am actually not sure if an effect exists that can immobilize a hero in step 1.I. :)

If he is immobilized at a later step in his turn and he still has unused movement points, these movement points are lost as soon as he is immobilized.

 

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know it's a bit of a weird topic, but I've learnt to realize that Descent is a board game before being an RPG.

As per the rule says;

"You cannot perform move actions or suffer (stamina) to gain movement points"

It doesn't prevent any other way of being moved around, or any other way to gain movement points. Like O&R ability, or allied class skills that could allow you to move.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Amuny, exactly.

Sadgit, I'd be willing to bet there's a quest out there with a special rule, "If a hero starts his turn in a space on X tile, he is immibilized." That being said, I agree with your conclusion of how it would play out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/25/2017 at 9:23 AM, Sadgit said:

It depends on the time O&R gets immobilized:

If he is immobilized in step 1.I. "Start of turn abilities" of his turn, he may decide the order in which start of turn effects resolve. He may choose to gain movement points after getting immobilized and may use them in his turn. I am actually not sure if an effect exists that can immobilize a hero in step 1.I. :)

If he is immobilized at a later step in his turn and he still has unused movement points, these movement points are lost as soon as he is immobilized.

Can I ask why you see it this way? There's nothing on the Immobilized card that says you lose movement points and can't gain them. It only stops you from performing a move action or using fatigue to move. O&R's ability falls into neither of these conditions. So no matter when during his turn he receives the condition he would still be able to move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Proto Persona, there is a description in the FAQ that deals with "immobilized", and the idea is that when you become immobilized, you are forced to "end your move action." Regardless of whether you have a move action in progress, that instruction means you lose ALL unspent MP, no matter where they came from.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indeed, the official FAQ is referring to a move action and does not really clarify what happens with movement points from other sources. However, this case has been addressed by an unofficial FAQ. I guess, I should have added this reference in my original answer.

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well that is definitely clear, but it sure does feel like the rulings actually made things even more complicated. The condition doesn't mention any of this or even seem to imply it. If the application of immobilized is meant to remove any existing movement points it really should be stated on the condition card.

Feels like this would have been a lot simpler if they had just used a movement point pool. Not the first time in Descent's rules that things were more complicated than needed though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree.  I think Immobilized would have been much clearer, and more in line with what it actually is, if when you acquired this condition, for that point on, through the end of your turn (or next turn) you simply COULD NOT VOLUNTARILY MOVE FOR ANY REASON.

Edited by any2cards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...