Sign in to follow this  
shotbyscott

Red Dice Cap (max amount of red dice)

Recent history there has been a serious power creep in the amount of red dice you can throw, attacks are developing that can regularly throw 6 dice (and have seen more) with modification. As I see it that power creep will get worse as the super power players develop even more devious was to "Crush your enemies. See them driven before you. Hear the lamentations of their women". The only way I can see the breaks being pulled on this one is an FAQ errata that states some ting like "you my never throw more that 5 dice" (maybe as well when defending)....... 

But would that be a positive for the game? Opinions please

I'm not sure if I think the issue is so serious to warrant a rule change, but I do agree that higher red dice counts per attack are getting more and more common. It really does push the poor two dice primary ships out of favor.

I think the red dice creep is real.  EVen when I started playing a year or so ago, 5-die attacks were a significant outlier obtainable only really by Phantoms, little-used EPTs, and Advanced Proton Torpedoes.  And N'Dru.  Heck, even 4 dice wasn't that common outside R1.

Now they're pretty common in the core of the meta with Fenn, Ghosts, Rey, Phantoms, Sabacc, Swarm Leader, Upsilon, Norra, etc etc etc.  Loads of ways to dump attacks which even on an average green roll, can pop a 3 die ships outright, and with Fenn Rey particularly, getting them to be super-accurate also isn't an issue, so it's not just 5 dice, it's usually 5 hits/crits.

It's an issue, but it's also a necessity to deal with token tanking. So, it's difficult to say what the solution should be...

We played around with this idea in my local x-wing club the other day. We found a way to get 8 reds and 10 greens... And yes to make that happen you will have to have a whole list build around a gimmick. But the red powercreep is real.