Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Showtimebrad

Striker Rules

Recommended Posts

If this question has already been posted sorry for missing it.

If a striker does it's pre boost and bumps it can still do its movement. Can it preform and action though? My initial thought is "yes" but has this been officially clarified

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are multiple threads on this in the Rules subforum. The RAW camp screams NO! The fly casual camp says YES.

There is zero debate about this. During an interview with Team Covenant the devs state that a bump with the title does not affect the activation phase.

Edit: Found it

https://youtu.be/6EmRHVLV_RA

Edited by Rinzler in a Tie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They've stated via other rules clarifications requests that:

'A ship only skips its “Perform Action” step when it overlaps during the “Execute Maneuver” step of the Activation phase.'

So it's quite clear really.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The other effects of the obstacle (such as damage) will still apply - so for a debris field:
 

When a ship executes a maneuver in which either the maneuver template or the ship’s base physically overlaps a debris cloud token, follow these steps:


Ships execute maneuvers during the Activation phase by resolving the "Execute Maneuvers" step.
◾ When an ability instructs a ship to execute a specific maneuver, it resolves only the "Execute Maneuver" step of the Activation phase.


Execute Maneuver: Resolve the following substeps in order: ◾ Move Ship: Slide the maneuver template between the front guides (the two small bumps) of the ship's base so that it is flush against the base. Holding the template firmly in place, lift the ship and place it at the opposite end of the template, sliding the rear guides of the base into the opposite end of the template. ◾ When a ship executes a maneuver, it is picked up from its starting position and placed in its final position. The full width of the ship's base is ignored except in its starting and final positions.

◾ Check Pilot Stress: If the maneuver is red, assign one stress token to the ship; if the maneuver is green, remove one stress token from the ship.
◾ Clean Up: Return the maneuver template to the pile of maneuver templates. Place the revealed dial outside the play area next to the ship's Ship card.

 

Since the 'extra' Execute Maneuver step that you're doing with Adaptive Ailerons includes a Check Pilot Stress substep 'nested' within it, if you fly through debris with Adaptive Ailerons, you will be stressed at the point you reveal your dial.

 

Which means that if you reveal a red move, you're buggered, but If you reveal a green move, your next check pilot stress step will remove the stress, so (provided you don't pick up another for flying through the debris again) means a striker can - with a certain degree of timing - slip through debris without any ill effects.

 


 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...