Jump to content
Rekkon

Corellian Conflict Questions: Dev Answers

Recommended Posts

The Hyperlane house rule Green Knight proposed in his house rules that has got a lot of traction has been that the Rebels gain any tokens on Imperial ships still in the Imperial starting zone at the end of the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Cusm said:

The Hyperlane house rule Green Knight proposed in his house rules that has got a lot of traction has been that the Rebels gain any tokens on Imperial ships still in the Imperial starting zone at the end of the game.

This is the rule I have suggested to my group (as a result of seeing it here) for the next time we run CC. Seems like the most elegant and balanced fix 

Edited by ManInTheBox

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone asked if Reiken allowing destroyed ships to hyperspace out and avoid scaring is intended?  We have tested it and it is stupidly overpowered.  Makes me wonder if they play tested it RAW or RAI.  RAW is they get away.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, SlappyWhite said:

Has anyone asked if Reiken allowing destroyed ships to hyperspace out and avoid scaring is intended?  We have tested it and it is stupidly overpowered.  Makes me wonder if they play tested it RAW or RAI.  RAW is they get away.

You know, at first, I also thought it was an error, or way overpowered.  However after really thinking about it, I think they intended this.  The Hyperspace and Rieekan rules mesh so much that it looks like they intended the wording.

I personally believe that it is just an extension of Rieekan's power.  It makes him much more attractive to take, much like the Interdictor is a CC beast.  The only thing it does in game is prevent you from paying the 1/2 refit cost.  You still lose the ship for points on the table.  I think that can work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You've thought about it have you played it?  It confers a significant point advantage to the rebel player of Reiken.  Maybe they did intend for it to be this way, but it seems more like an oversight where they would have tested it differently.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, SlappyWhite said:

You've thought about it have you played it?  It confers a significant point advantage to the rebel player of Reiken.  Maybe they did intend for it to be this way, but it seems more like an oversight where they would have tested it differently.

Ha! only Rebel scum play Rieekan.  The rebels need all the help they can get in CC...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So maybe someone can answer this question.

At the begining of the campaign you can only equip one upgrade card per ship aside from the commander card.  However, it is not clear if that is the rule for the duration of the campaign.  When I buy new upgrade cards can I equip multiply to one ship or do I have to swap them out?

 I would think you can have multiple upgrades after the first campaign turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rule is only in place when initially creating your fleet.  It doesn't follow the rest of the campaign.  You can add upgrades to your heart's content.  However, if you decide to retire your fleet and start over, the initial build of the new fleet follows the initial 1 upgrade restriction again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

More reiken problems

 

Last ship hyperspaces

Squad phase

Ten numb dies reiken kicks in

Luke kills a fire spray.

Status phase

Ship is removed no more rebel ships on table

Game ends before numb dies.  Luke didnt die but killed 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

More reiken problems

 

Last ship hyperspaces

Squad phase

Ten numb dies reiken kicks in

Luke kills a fire spray.

Status phase

Ship is removed no more rebel ships on table

Game ends before numb dies.  Luke didnt die but killed 

 

Wjat happens we think

 

Ten numb i not scarred no vet for luke

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, SlappyWhite said:

More reiken problems

 

Last ship hyperspaces

Squad phase

Ten numb dies reiken kicks in

Luke kills a fire spray.

Status phase

Ship is removed no more rebel ships on table

Game ends before numb dies.  Luke didnt die but killed 

 

Wjat happens we think

 

Ten numb i not scarred no vet for luke

 

Why no vet for Luke? 

This seems pretty consistent to me. If your opponent was in a bad enough spot to jump out all his ships and cede the game, did failing to scar Nunb really make that much of a difference? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Reeiken and HSE with a dead ship. Is it scarred or not. Based on the wording we are playing no scar (HSE start status, Reeiken end of) no but I hope this is wrong. It's ******* stupid that someone has God mode for the purpose of fleet repair. Reeiken is good enough let alone warping/ignoring an entire campaign mechanic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Trizzo2 said:

Reeiken and HSE with a dead ship. Is it scarred or not. Based on the wording we are playing no scar (HSE start status, Reeiken end of) no but I hope this is wrong. It's ******* stupid that someone has God mode for the purpose of fleet repair. Reeiken is good enough let alone warping/ignoring an entire campaign mechanic.

HSE?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Xindell said:

The rule is only in place when initially creating your fleet.  It doesn't follow the rest of the campaign.  You can add upgrades to your heart's content.  However, if you decide to retire your fleet and start over, the initial build of the new fleet follows the initial 1 upgrade restriction again.

Thank you. This was my assumption but I didn't feel it was spacifically stated to I wanted to make sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Ardaedhel said:

Why no vet for Luke? 

This seems pretty consistent to me. If your opponent was in a bad enough spot to jump out all his ships and cede the game, did failing to scar Nunb really make that much of a difference? 

It's simple by Raw and timing, the same reason Ten Numb doesn't scar.

 

Look at the timing.

Current conditions.

Luke has a kill

Ten Numb is being treated as not destroyed under reiken.

MC80 is last ship on the board

MC80 is awaiting HS Jump

Begin Status Phase

MC80 Jumps to hyperspace.  Apply rule RRG pg 13

If all ships in a fleet are destroyed, ignoring squadrons,
the game immediately ends. The player with one or
more ships remaining in the play area is the winner.

All squadrons count as destroyed but not scared see FAQ on page 1 of this thread.  This keeps Ten Numb from Scaring, but also stops Luke from gaining veteran

Page 10 of CCCG - Each unique non-vet squadron that was not destroyed during the battle and that destroyed at least one enemy ship or squadron also becomes a veteran.  They count as destroyed stopping the veteran from happening but it also saves Ten Numb since he was awaiting scaring destruction at the end of the status phase which doesn't happen.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, SlappyWhite said:

It's simple by Raw and timing, the same reason Ten Numb doesn't scar.

 

Look at the timing.

Current conditions.

Luke has a kill

Ten Numb is being treated as not destroyed under reiken.

MC80 is last ship on the board

MC80 is awaiting HS Jump

Begin Status Phase

MC80 Jumps to hyperspace.  Apply rule RRG pg 13

If all ships in a fleet are destroyed, ignoring squadrons,
the game immediately ends. The player with one or
more ships remaining in the play area is the winner.

All squadrons count as destroyed but not scared see FAQ on page 1 of this thread.  This keeps Ten Numb from Scaring, but also stops Luke from gaining veteran

Page 10 of CCCG - Each unique non-vet squadron that was not destroyed during the battle and that destroyed at least one enemy ship or squadron also becomes a veteran.  They count as destroyed stopping the veteran from happening but it also saves Ten Numb since he was awaiting scaring destruction at the end of the status phase which doesn't happen.

9:  If a battle ends because all of one player's ships have been destroyed, what happens to any of his remaining squadrons?

A:  They are counted as destroyed for the purposes of scoring the scenario, but they do not become scarred.

I would argue that Luke WOULD get veterancy, as counting as destroyed for scoring purposes is not the same as being destroyed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Caldias said:

9:  If a battle ends because all of one player's ships have been destroyed, what happens to any of his remaining squadrons?

A:  They are counted as destroyed for the purposes of scoring the scenario, but they do not become scarred.

I would argue that Luke WOULD get veterancy, as counting as destroyed for scoring purposes is not the same as being destroyed.

Argue is all we can do till FFG gets it together and fixes all these holes with a nice FAQ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, SlappyWhite said:

Argue is all we can do till FFG gets it together and fixes all these holes with a nice FAQ.

Luke definitely gets veterancy.  His kill is not a "remaining" squadron.  It was removed from play before the status phase, and would be scarred.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

NOWHERE does it state that remaining squadrons are destroyed

Here is a post from our local CC FB group.

 

"The question came up as to whether all squadrons would be scarred if your ships were all DESTROYED (and subsequently scarred). Initially we assumed yes but after digging through the rules we have found that not to be true.

Per the CC rule book ships and squadrons that are DESTROYED are scarred. Thats as in depth as that gets.

Now the general assumption in tournaments was that if a player's ships are all DESTROYED once at the status phase, then all remaining squadrons were automatically DESTROYED and the winner gets 400 points. After digging through the RRG and the Tourny rules turns out that is NOT entirely true. It never says the squadrons are DESTROYED it only states that the game ends and the winner is awarded a 400 victory point win. (Victory points don't matter much for us.)

So then we went to the RRG to see if it defined DESTROYED and it did.

"A ship is DESTROYED when it has damage cards equaling or
exceeding its hull value. A squadron is DESTROYED when
it is reduced to zero hull points. Additionally, a ship or
squadron is DESTROYED if a portion of its base is outside the
play area."
- RRG pg 5

By this definition if you are tabled but still have squadrons on the table they will NOT be scarred. Also of note is that if your last ship Hyperspaces away to save itself, any remaining squadrons will not be scarred either."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...