Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Eldalion

Apothecary rules clarification

8 posts in this topic

Hi, my local group argue with me about rules on these 4 cards, so I need clarification here on forum to have bulletproof evidence.

 

Here are the cards:

 

http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/descent2e/images/b/b3/Apothecary_-_Herbal_Lore.png/revision/latest?cb=20160618153108

http://vignette4.wikia.nocookie.net/descent2e/images/9/91/Apothecary_-_Protective_Tonic.png/revision/latest?cb=20160618215852

http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/descent2e/images/f/f4/Apothecary_-_Secret_Formula.png/revision/latest?cb=20160618215902

http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/descent2e/images/0/0f/Apothecary_-_Potent_Remedies.png/revision/latest?cb=20160618215926

 

Lets asume I have a healer hero, class Apothecary.

 

1. Herbal Lore card:  ,, when a hero discards 1 elixir token,, - Does this refer only to my hero, or every hero in my party ?

2. Protective Tonic: ,, after a hero discards an elixir token,,  , ,, a hero may discard 1 of his hero tokens,, - Does this refer only to my hero, or every hero in my party ?

3. Secret Formula: ,, when a hero with an elixir token,, - Does this refer only to my hero, or every hero in party ?

4. Potent Remedies: ,, when a hero discards an elixir token ,, - Does this refer only to my hero, or every hero in party ?

 

Thx in advance for your time.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am pretty sure that in all of the above cases it is applicable to all heroes in the party.

Otherwise it would say for example "You or an adjecent hero with an elixer token" or something like that. It is simply "a hero" and since you can all be characterized as such, it must count for all of you.

Eldalion likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For all of the above, the ability can apply to any hero in the party, it doesn't have to be the apothecary. 

 

The card is useable (or exhaustable, as the case may be) when the triggering condition is met. For all of these cards, the trigger is "a hero with an elixir token" doing a specific thing with that token (usually discarding it, sometimes declaring an attack).

 

Let's say Jaes discards an elixir token. Is that a hero discarding an elixir token? Absolutely. Tomble? Yes, he's a hero, too.

 

However, it's important to point out that the apothecary must be the one to use/exhaust the card and pay the fatigue cost, unless otherwise specified. So, if Jaes has an elixir token and declares the target of an attack, the apothecary can exhaust Secret Formula and suffer 1 fatigue so that Jaes can add a green die to his attack.

Eldalion, Sadgit and Alarmed like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What I like is that there are no line of sight or within 3 squares restrictions, so to use Secret Formula, for example, all that is really required is that the apothecary can cover the fatigue cost.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm just wondering if the hero tokens should or should not be removed at the end of an Encounter/Quest from the Protective Tocic card?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2017. 09. 26. at 9:35 AM, Zaltyre said:

I would say yes. Just about everything resets at the end of an encounter, for SURE at the end of a quest.

Well it's not mentioned anywhere, no sign of this on the card text but it would make sense (what you wrote). That's why I'm asking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, for end of quest, it definitely says. In the description of the campaign phase:

2. Cleanup: All heroes recover all damage and all fatigue. The overlord
combines his draw and discard pile into one deck. All Condition cards
are discarded, all effects end, the map is disassembled, and the quest is
generally cleaned up as the players prepare for the next one.

I bolded what I believe to be a very relevant phrase.

For encounter transitions, we have:

When players transition from one encounter of a quest to another, they
perform the following steps:
• Heroes keep all damage suffered during Encounter 1.
• Heroes recover all fatigue suffered during Encounter 1.
• Heroes keep all conditions they had at the end of Encounter 1.
• Each hero player flips his Hero sheet faceup.
• Heroes keep all search cards; any flipped cards remain flipped.
• Any knocked out heroes may perform a stand up action for free.
• The overlord player keeps his current hand of Overlord cards.
• Players disassemble the map for Encounter 1 and refer to the Quest
Guide in order to set up the map for Encounter 2.

There is nothing there that explicitly says the hero tokens would go away at the end of an encounter.

Alarin likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0