Sign in to follow this  
Helios85

After the core set...

Hi gang,

Another Armada newbie here! I've invested in the Rebels side of the Core Set. I'm just curious what might be good purchases for the next step. I can't afford to buy 2 or 3 of everything just yet, but looking to get a basic Force of 300 and then upto 400 points to start with that won't cost the Earth. Is there anything in particular that people recommend?

Are you focusing on just Rebels?

If so to get up and running I suggest getting these: 

At least one Rebel Squadron I Pack, although two is more advisable. 

An Assault Frigate MK II

Either a MC-80 Home One (Has powerful broadsides) or MC-80 Liberty (Powerful Bow/Front guns)

Eventually you'll want to get one of everything and two of some such as CR-90's. 

Edited by Forresto

buy what you think looks good and fun to play with, Plus some fighters to go with, the good thing especially with rebels is every ship is powerful in their own way from the smallest ship (bright hope) which can be a pain the arse to get rid of to the big capitol ships that can rain death on the opposition from their sides or front.

I would recommend the Assault Frigate Mark II as it can be a great flagship for the 300 point games, medium based like the Victory - has good shields and firepower and the Gallant Haven title will toughen your x wing squadrons if used right, and get one or two Squadron packs, either I or II depending what small ship fighters you like the most.

The other way you could go is get the new Phoenix Home Expansion Pack - if you watch Star Wars Rebel's you know the ship.

When you got your 300 pts Fleet up and running and you plan to go to 400 pts then get either a Home One or a Liberty as they can go toe to toe with the ISD.

Assault Frigate Mark II can be a great flagship for the 300 point games, medium based like the Victory, had good shields and firepower and the Gallant Haven title will toughen your x wing squadrons if used right.