Abaath

Monster Encounter Question

7 posts in this topic

On page 14 of the rules book (base game) it says "Sometimes monsters appear as the result of a location or gate encounter.  ................However, these monsters never remain on the board after the encounter is resolved.  Return to cup."

 

So, I get the part about location monster encounters but I have no idea what a monster gate encounter is.   I hope I haven't been missing anything with this.   I know you have Other World encounters and monsters can appear there but what is a gate encounter?   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's just an encounter with a monster in one of the Other World locations that are accessed via the gates.

 

Example: Investigator X has entered a gate to R'lyeh. During the Other World encounter phase a card is drawn that says Monster Y appears. If the investigator evades the monster it is immediately returned to the cup. Likewise if the investigator fights the monster and is defeated by it, then monster is returned to the cup. Of course if the investigator defeats the monster, then the monster can be claimed as a trophy.

Facsantos and Julia like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope. Areas are both streets and locations, but locations are locations, and streets are streets. There are no encounters to be resolved in the streets, unless you're resolving a gate in the streets (only possible case: moving gates coming with the Lurker expansion).

So, in the game there are no effects asking you to resolve an encounter in a street area that could result in a monster appearing (and then being removed)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What's interesting is that in the rulebook, there appears to be a discrepancy about encountering monsters when they suddenly appear.  One part said to return it to the cup whether it's defeated or evaded, and then a couple sentences later it says that you can take it as a trophy when defeated.  So they're contradicting themselves.

What I do is that whenever a monster appears on the spot, either in an Other World or Arkham location, I either evade it and return it to the cup, or I defeat it and take it as a trophy.

When in a location and it says "gate and monster appear", I put the gate down first and then go through the gate to be delayed in an Other World.  I don't fight the monster.  It stays where the gate is.  And a doom token is added to the track.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, gpd924 said:

What I do is that whenever a monster appears on the spot, either in an Other World or Arkham location, I either evade it and return it to the cup, or I defeat it and take it as a trophy.

When in a location and it says "gate and monster appear", I put the gate down first and then go through the gate to be delayed in an Other World.  I don't fight the monster.  It stays where the gate is.  And a doom token is added to the track.

Both are correct

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now