Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
bgrelle

Bala-Tik and his ability?

Recommended Posts

If Bala-Tik has been exhausted but the dice (his plus upgrades assigned to him) are still in the dice pool ready to be used when another character is killed do you have to remove the dice from the pool to use his ability to be readied or can you just ready him and then use those dice and then roll them again when you exhaust him again that round?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, keep in mind, once Bala-Tik readies per his ability, you can then activate him again at anytime. You don't have to wait for his dice to return. But when/if you do activate him again, you must roll ALL his dice, even those currently in your pool.

 

 

As for a rule to show your wife, From page 15 of the RRG:

 

READY
A card is ready when it is in an upright position. Ready cards
can be exhausted (turned sideways). A player instructed to
ready a card should turn the card to an upright position.

 

There is nothing in the rules about returning dice to cards when they are readied.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote ffg about this and got an answer from Lukas saying that, if you activate a character that has some of his/her dice in the pool, you only roll dice that are on the card, while the ones in the pool remain unaffected.

That was my thought before i wrote them, because dice in the pool are already rolled. If you pick them to throw them you would be rerolling them, not rolling, and that's not what the rules tell you to do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote ffg about this and got an answer from Lukas saying that, if you activate a character that has some of his/her dice in the pool, you only roll dice that are on the card, while the ones in the pool remain unaffected.

That was my thought before i wrote them, because dice in the pool are already rolled. If you pick them to throw them you would be rerolling them, not rolling, and that's not what the rules tell you to do.

 

Exactly, and why would I activate a ready character if they still have dice in the pool to use anyway when all I have to do is use them first then activate and roll them again.  :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I wrote ffg about this and got an answer from Lukas saying that, if you activate a character that has some of his/her dice in the pool, you only roll dice that are on the card, while the ones in the pool remain unaffected.

That was my thought before i wrote them, because dice in the pool are already rolled. If you pick them to throw them you would be rerolling them, not rolling, and that's not what the rules tell you to do.

 

Exactly, and why would I activate a ready character if they still have dice in the pool to use anyway when all I have to do is use them first then activate and roll them again.   :D

 

Many reasons. For example you cannot resolve blanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote ffg about this and got an answer from Lukas saying that, if you activate a character that has some of his/her dice in the pool, you only roll dice that are on the card, while the ones in the pool remain unaffected.

That was my thought before i wrote them, because dice in the pool are already rolled. If you pick them to throw them you would be rerolling them, not rolling, and that's not what the rules tell you to do.

Hmmmm, this isn't totally clear in the rules. Hopefully an FAQ or update to the RRG is coming. People have been playing this wrong since the RRG very clearly says when you activate a character you roll all of their dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lets assume that Bala has two of his dice and one jetpack.  All three dice are in the pool and rolled.  1 Ranged, Blank and Jetpack +3 Ranged.  The 1 Ranged and +3 Ranged are resolved to do 4 damage to an opponent's character that result in that character being defeated.

 

The 1 bala dice and the 1 jetpack dice go out of the pool and return to Bala since they were resolved.  The blank stays in play.  Bala then becomes ready.  The blank dice stays in the pool.

 

Should the bala player have a card or ability that can reroll the blank they can give that a shot but the blank dice stays out there.  If the player is out of cards for reroll then the blank stays out even when bala is activated again.  Assume that the blank die couldn't be rerolled or altered.  When Bala activates the blank die stays in the pool when the rest of the dice are rolled into the pool. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote ffg about this and got an answer from Lukas saying that, if you activate a character that has some of his/her dice in the pool, you only roll dice that are on the card, while the ones in the pool remain unaffected.

That was my thought before i wrote them, because dice in the pool are already rolled. If you pick them to throw them you would be rerolling them, not rolling, and that's not what the rules tell you to do.

Do you still have this email?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I wrote ffg about this and got an answer from Lukas saying that, if you activate a character that has some of his/her dice in the pool, you only roll dice that are on the card, while the ones in the pool remain unaffected.

That was my thought before i wrote them, because dice in the pool are already rolled. If you pick them to throw them you would be rerolling them, not rolling, and that's not what the rules tell you to do.

 

Exactly, and why would I activate a ready character if they still have dice in the pool to use anyway when all I have to do is use them first then activate and roll them again.   :D

 

Many reasons. For example you cannot resolve blanks.

 

First, that is only one not many.  Second, obviously I wasn't talking about using a blank since there is nothing to use.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote ffg about this and got an answer from Lukas saying that, if you activate a character that has some of his/her dice in the pool, you only roll dice that are on the card, while the ones in the pool remain unaffected.

That was my thought before i wrote them, because dice in the pool are already rolled. If you pick them to throw them you would be rerolling them, not rolling, and that's not what the rules tell you to do.

 

Exactly, and why would I activate a ready character if they still have dice in the pool to use anyway when all I have to do is use them first then activate and roll them again.   :D

Many reasons. For example you cannot resolve blanks.

 

First, that is only one not many.  Second, obviously I wasn't talking about using a blank since there is nothing to use.

If you don't like what they have in the pool, even if you can use it, it might be more action efficient to just activate them again and roll it all. Yes, you give up being able to resolve the die twice, but sometimes you need that speed. It is all situation specific.

Now, according to this apparent email ruling, you don't have that option. That's fine, I could just see why people would want it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules say clearly that, when a character is defeated, his or her dice are removed from play

I believe that poster was talking about Bala-Tik's dice. They stay in the pool until he uses them.

 

I was answering to this post:

 

So if a character is killed his already rolled dice stay in your pool?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules say clearly that, when a character is defeated, his or her dice are removed from play

I believe that poster was talking about Bala-Tik's dice. They stay in the pool until he uses them.

 

I was answering to this post:

 

So if a character is killed his already rolled dice stay in your pool?

I know, and "his" could be indicating Bala-Tik, not the killed character, in the context of this thread.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The email reaponse seems to contradict the "Activate a Character or Support" rules from the rules reference.

There it states:

"All of the dice associated with a character (its character and upgrade dice) must be rolled when that character is activated. A player cannot pick and choose which dice to roll." (p14)

Acording to this then, any dice currently in the dice pool would be rolled when activating Bala-Tik a second time.

Edited by madday92

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The email reaponse seems to contradict the "Activate a Character or Support" rules from the rules reference.

There it states:

"All of the dice associated with a character (its character and upgrade dice) must be rolled when that character is activated. A player cannot pick and choose which dice to roll." (p14)

Acording to this then, any dice currently in the dice pool would be rolled when activating Bala-Tik a second time.

If I'm understanding the rationale behind the email correctly, you're not rolling dice already in the pool because that would be a 're-roll'. Which differs from a 'roll'. Edited by Stu35

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'l copy/paste the question and the answer i got. Dont know if there's a better way to write it here.

Here is the question i asked:

"Rules Question:

Hi. First of all, congratulations and thanks for this awesome game. In my group we have a question and couldn't find an answer in neither the rules nor the forum: When you activate a character that already has one or more of its associated dice in the pool (lets say, a just readied Bala-Tik or someone readied by Leadership), do you roll the dice in the pool too? Some of us think that this would be a reroll, not a roll, and should remain in the pool. Others think that, since the rules instruct you to roll ALL associated dice, those should be rolled too. Thanks!"

And here's the answer:

"Willy,

Thanks for the question. Whenever you activate a character, you roll any of its dice that are on that character. Dice in the pool remain in the pool and are unaffected. Before activating a character like Bala-Tik again, you could spend his dice in your pool so that he could roll more of them.

May the force be with you,

-Lukas"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'l copy/paste the question and the answer i got. Dont know if there's a better way to write it here.

Here is the question i asked:

"Rules Question:

Hi. First of all, congratulations and thanks for this awesome game. In my group we have a question and couldn't find an answer in neither the rules nor the forum: When you activate a character that already has one or more of its associated dice in the pool (lets say, a just readied Bala-Tik or someone readied by Leadership), do you roll the dice in the pool too? Some of us think that this would be a reroll, not a roll, and should remain in the pool. Others think that, since the rules instruct you to roll ALL associated dice, those should be rolled too. Thanks!"

And here's the answer:

"Willy,

Thanks for the question. Whenever you activate a character, you roll any of its dice that are on that character. Dice in the pool remain in the pool and are unaffected. Before activating a character like Bala-Tik again, you could spend his dice in your pool so that he could roll more of them.

May the force be with you,

-Lukas"

 

Thanks for sharing that. Hopefully they'll tweak the rules reference at some point to reflect that distinction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...