Sign in to follow this  
Battle Gamer

Star Trek conversion?

I am by no means an expert on Trek, but I would suggest this is maybe not the right system for it.  Any system can be converted to run pretty much anything (after all we used to play Star Wars in d20), but each system brings with it a certain flavour (even if it's a generic system in which case the flavour is "bland").  This system is very very good for running games that feel like Star Wars, but whilst it will certainly work for Star Trek (all the mechanical details you need are there, spaceships, lasers, shields) I think tonally it's not really the right choice.  Maybe it would be more suitable if you're playing new film reboot Trek.

That said, I can't suggest a better option so this could be the best you have.  But I recommend thinking about the sort of game you want to play, what elements of the story you want to emphasise and then look for a game that does that well.

Or of you want a parody play Lasers and Feelings.

In terms of Star Trek RPGs, there is currently a new system in delevopment which you can sign up to alpha test and get an idea of how it works. It does share some designers in common but it already feels a lot more Trekky for me.

In terms of Star Trek RPGs, there is currently a new system in delevopment which you can sign up to alpha test and get an idea of how it works. It does share some designers in common but it already feels a lot more Trekky for me.

And your in luck, One of the individuals who is involved in the development of the new RPG also led the development to the core rule set for the FFG Star Wars RPG.