Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Stenun

A certain encounter + a particular unique item = mild confusion

Recommended Posts

Luke Robinson is happily running around many different worlds with his Gate Box when he comes across another Other World enocunter which says to make a Speed -2 check.  If he passes it he returns to Arkham, it he fails it he is lost in time and space.  In either event, he automatically closes the gate he entered through.

So if he passes the skill check and uses the Gate Box to come out at another gate then he still closes the gate he entered through.  As per the instruction on the encounter.  And then he gets an explored marker and can close the gate he is currently sitting on, too.

At least, according to a literal reading of the cards he can ...

 

www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Gate_Box

www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Image:Gate2.png

 

Anyone want to tell me what rule/text I've missed that means this isn't allowed?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Works for me.  You are instructed to "return to arkham" which is key in getting the xplored marker.  you use the gate box to return anywhere.  You just closed the other gate as a result of the encounter and can now attempt to close this new gate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dam said:

Yay, a Brian-sighting!

Yah, I marked all forums read and decided to try to check in each day as part of my new year's resolution.  I just hate this forum layout....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow, it has been a long time! Good to see you back. I bet (based on your handle) that you are quite pleased about football this year.

I'm rooting for the Eagles. Maybe we'll see each other in the Superbowl.

 

Sorry for the off topic, but I just had to pipe up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nghtflame7 said:

Wow, it has been a long time! Good to see you back. I bet (based on your handle) that you are quite pleased about football this year.

I'm rooting for the Eagles. Maybe we'll see each other in the Superbowl.

 

Sorry for the off topic, but I just had to pipe up.

Well pretty happy.  I would have been happier sitting at 16-0 though.  But the game in February is all that really matters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...