Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
darkevans

Hot-shot/gunner

Recommended Posts

So when you pair Hot Shot co-pilot with gunner and you roll no hits on your first attack, does the defense still have to roll and spend the focus token. My answer would be yes. I believe I read somewhere where dice still have to be rolled regardless of hits. What are your thoughts on this? Sorry if it's been asked before.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hotshot Co-pilot is a "must" ability. Gunner is a "you may" ability. If an attacking ship has Hotshot Co-pilot and Gunner, it doesn't mattaer if the attacker chooses to use Gunner. The defender must spend a focus token during the first attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hotshot Co-pilot is a "must" ability. Gunner is a "you may" ability. If an attacking ship has Hotshot Co-pilot and Gunner, it doesn't mattaer if the attacker chooses to use Gunner. The defender must spend a focus token during the first attack.

Actually it does matter if the attacker chooses to use gunner.

 

If a ship attacks with a primary weapon, it triggers Hotshot Co-pilot, so the defender must spend a focus token. If that attack misses, it triggers Gunner allowing another primary weapon attack, which in turn will trigger Hotshot Co-pilot again, forcing the defender to spend another focus token (if he still has one).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hotshot Co-pilot is a "must" ability. Gunner is a "you may" ability. If an attacking ship has Hotshot Co-pilot and Gunner, it doesn't mattaer if the attacker chooses to use Gunner. The defender must spend a focus token during the first attack.

Actually it does matter if the attacker chooses to use gunner.

 

If a ship attacks with a primary weapon, it triggers Hotshot Co-pilot, so the defender must spend a focus token. If that attack misses, it triggers Gunner allowing another primary weapon attack, which in turn will trigger Hotshot Co-pilot again, forcing the defender to spend another focus token (if he still has one).

It matters for impact on the game. It doesn't matter for the defender's choices, because there is only one choice for the defender: spend the token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Hotshot Co-pilot is a "must" ability. Gunner is a "you may" ability. If an attacking ship has Hotshot Co-pilot and Gunner, it doesn't mattaer if the attacker chooses to use Gunner. The defender must spend a focus token during the first attack.

Actually it does matter if the attacker chooses to use gunner.

 

If a ship attacks with a primary weapon, it triggers Hotshot Co-pilot, so the defender must spend a focus token. If that attack misses, it triggers Gunner allowing another primary weapon attack, which in turn will trigger Hotshot Co-pilot again, forcing the defender to spend another focus token (if he still has one).

It matters for impact on the game. It doesn't matter for the defender's choices, because there is only one choice for the defender: spend the token.

 

True, the defender has no choice. He has to spend the token on each attack if he has one available. Your initial post was somewhat confusing, as you seemed to imply that the defender only had to spend one token for both attacks, not each attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, the defender defends and has to spend the focus. But I don't think he rolls zero dice, otherwise C3PO would still work when your agility is reduced by 1, but he doesn't.

No he wouldn't; C3PO specifically says you have to roll at least one die.  Rolling 0 is a thing that you can do, but 3PO doesn't work on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes.

 

The defender still rolls dice (including 0 dice from a Decimator or VCX100), so they still have to spend the token.

 

Hasn't been FAQed yet though, so people will still argue.  Cue argument.

 

It sort of has, in Section 5: FAQ under Combat:

 

 

Q: During an attack, can the defender choose not to roll defense dice? Can the attacker choose not to roll attack dice?

A: No and no.

 

There will probably still be arguments, but the official rules are that the defender always rolls defense dice for the attack whether they want/need to or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...