Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
NicoDavout

Soft Spot

Recommended Posts

After the dice are rolled and it is a successful roll. I'd tell you if the target goes down rightvaway and wouldn't make you waste it. I'd also tell you whether you did damage or not to see if you needed it to try and score a crit. I'd even likely be nice and tell you not to bother if it wouldn't help.

Edited by 2P51

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tell my players also rightaway if damage is landed and if the target is still alife.

 

No need to be the @ss GM (at least not all the Time :P ).

 

 

Destiny is meant to be helpful when spend so if you let your players spend it on a killing a corpse even more it wouldn't be what it should be!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But you must not have spent a Destiny Point in any other way on that skill check.

Eg You can't upgrade the check with a Destiny Point then activate Soft Spot after you successfully hit.

 

I can´t? The rules says "a player can spend only one light side DP during a single action". One could argue that an action is the skill check only and activating a talent is a seperate thing, in this case an incidental. Was there an official ruling about this matter?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But you must not have spent a Destiny Point in any other way on that skill check.

Eg You can't upgrade the check with a Destiny Point then activate Soft Spot after you successfully hit.

 

I can´t? The rules says "a player can spend only one light side DP during a single action". One could argue that an action is the skill check only and activating a talent is a seperate thing, in this case an incidental. Was there an official ruling about this matter?

I'm sure that it had, but now I'll have to go searching for it.

I know for sure it's the case with spending opposite Force Pips on any Force Powers check, but your suggestion of the Incidental is a very good case for it being as you described.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The action is the attack itself.

 

If you use a DP to Upgrade the dicepool you already used one DP for this Action.

If you want to use a DP to Upgrade the Damage (Anatomie lesson e.g.) it would be the same action (the attack) and therefore only possible if you didn't used a DP to upgrade the check.

 

that is also the reason why you can't use different typs of damage rising due to DP talents at once like, Anatomie lesson and Softspot, or even an maneuver like Terryfing Kill since it is linked directly to the action of the attack

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a character has multiple of those kinds of talents, and they're already used one, I will sometimes let a Triumph be spent to activate a second, if the situation makes sense. But that is 100% a house-rule.

And to clarify and add my voice to the posters above me: yes, spending a Destiny Point to activate Soft Spot is part of the same action as the attack, so you cannot spend a Destiny Point to upgrade the attack and then another to activate Soft Spot.

While I don't have my books right now, the proof is in the Make a Combat Check section. The steps to making an attack are, generally: declare you target, declare your weapon, assemble your dice pool (with any skills, talents, Force powers, and Destiny Point usage that are relevant), roll, cancel opposing symbols, apply damage, resolve Advantage/Triumph, resolve Threat/Despair. Since "apply damage" is sandwiched in before Advantage/Threat, it makes sense that it's part of the same action as the roll.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tell my players also rightaway if damage is landed and if the target is still alife.

 

No need to be the @ss GM (at least not all the Time :P ).

 

 

Destiny is meant to be helpful when spend so if you let your players spend it on a killing a corpse even more it wouldn't be what it should be!

You really have to imo as a crit can't be triggered in the next step unless damage has bypassed Soak. So while you don't have to say how much got through, death should be self evident....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I tell my players also rightaway if damage is landed and if the target is still alife.

 

No need to be the @ss GM (at least not all the Time :P ).

 

 

Destiny is meant to be helpful when spend so if you let your players spend it on a killing a corpse even more it wouldn't be what it should be!

You really have to imo as a crit can't be triggered in the next step unless damage has bypassed Soak. So while you don't have to say how much got through, death should be self evident....

 

Newbie question: Crits can't be triggered unless damage has bypassed soak?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...