Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
kotlok

[Rules] Non unique Characters and dice belonging

Recommended Posts

Example:

You have 2 stormtroopers A and B both activated and their dice are already in the dice pool.

A has 1 health left, B is unwounded.

 

Your opponent has a triggered character also with only 1 health left and with a combat die showing a damage symbol in the dice pool.

 

Its your turn and you discard to reroll your two stromtrooper dice. Afterwards 1 shows a damage symbol, 1 shows a blank.

Now its very important how you distribute theese dice to your stormtroopers:

 

Can you choose which die is distributed to whom? Or do you have to use exactly the die, that was affiliated to each stromtrooper before the reroll (which makes tracking while rerolling a couple of dice at the same time fiddly)?

 

If the damaged stormtrooper A had to take the 1 damage die and the unwounded stormtrooper B had to take the ressource die, your opponent could kill stromtrooper A resolving his damage die.

Then, the damage die belonging to the killed stormtrooper A would also be removed which prevents you from killing your opponents character in response.

 

If you could distribute the stormtrooper dice as you wish, you could give the undamaged stromtrooper B the die with the 1 damage result, which allows you to kill the opponents charcter after he resolves his die.

 

So, how this situation has to be resolved?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DICE LEAVING PLAY p9:
bullet.jpg If a card with a matching die leaves play, the matching die is also immediately removed from the game and set aside. The removed die can enter the game again at a later time, if its card enters play again
bullet.jpg If a player has two copies of the same upgrade on a character, and both of those upgrade dice are in their dice pool when they have to discard an upgrade from play, the player can choose which die to remove and set aside. If a player has two copies of the same upgrade on different characters (one upgrade on each character), they must make sure to track each die separately.

 

You try your best and pair up the card and dice, when the card leaves play so does the dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As pointed out by those rules.  If your two Stormtroopers are at full health and nothing else to distinguish them, feel free to roll their dice at the same time.  As soon as there's a difference in the state of two identical dice that are being rolled at the same time then you need to declare which die belongs to which and roll them separately.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your quick answers. I totally missed that exact ruling in the rulebook. So then in some situations you can't roll all dice together.

Edited by kotlok

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You always activate Characters one at a time (since they are seperate actions) and according to the rules place their die in front of their character. Following this you should always know which die to get rid of when a Stormtrooper dies. In other words: don't lump all dice together when it's from more than one character or support and this should never be a problem. (upgrade dice still go with the character they are attached to which is why that particular ruling above was necessary)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You always activate Characters one at a time (since they are seperate actions) and according to the rules place their die in front of their character. Following this you should always know which die to get rid of when a Stormtrooper dies. In other words: don't lump all dice together when it's from more than one character or support and this should never be a problem. (upgrade dice still go with the character they are attached to which is why that particular ruling above was necessary)

Yeah, the problem occurs more likely, when you discard to reroll a random amount of dice from different characters. It is just more comfortable to reroll all together than rerolling consecutively. But i see the necessity of it in several occasions.

Edited by kotlok

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Keep in mind, you must declare what you are re-rolling before you re-roll any dice. You cannot declare to re-roll one trooper and then, unsatisfied with the result re-roll the other one in the same action.

Yes,this is important too. I am aware. Thanks for the hint.

Maybe this conversation help others too! ;)

Edited by kotlok

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...