Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Kix

FAQ Addition Needed

Recommended Posts

INTERACTIONS THAT APPEAR TO REQUIRES OFFICIAL RULING:
Please only respond to this list if you actually have an official rules clarification (not just an interpretation), or want to submit a rule for clarification not listed here, or if I'm missing a rules interpretation for one of the ones below. I'll include both sides of the argument for the purposes of making it clear the ways it can be interpreted: you can argue them in their own threads.
 
-------------------------------------
 
GENERAL GRIEVOUS and MOS EISLEY SPACEPORT (and any other effect which lets you possess another person's card before it causes a discard or a draw of that card in play). The below example is of the above card interaction, but can apply to most any such principle.
General Grievous (Player B) claims an upgrade from Player A. Mos Eisley Spaceport lets you choose one of your upgrades and return it to your hand to gain 1 resource.
  1. Option 1: Player A can use this Battlefield to take an upgrade back from Grievous and gain a resource.
  2. Option 2: Player B/Grievous can use this Battlefield to gain a resource, but he returns the Upgrade to its owner's hand.
  3. Option 3: Player B can use this Battlefield to gain a resource, and he returns the Upgrade to his own hand.
  4. Option 3: Player B can use this Battlefield to gain a resource, and the Upgrade is discarded because it can't legally go to Grievous's hand.
-------------------------------------
 
DATAPAD and KYLO REN (and any other effect that lets you use a Special to turn a die to a Special, or a Focus to turn a die to a Focus presumably). The below example is of the above card interaction, but can apply to most any such principle:
Kylo Ren's player has Datapad in play, and it has a Special on it, which will allow it to turn any die to a non-damage side. Kylo Ren's dice show, let's say, blanks.
Kylo Ren uses the Resolve Dice action on Special(s). He uses the Special on Datapad to turn his character die to a Special. He then...
  • Option 1: Resolves that Kylo Ren die Special he just turned his character die to, because he is resolving Specials and that die is available.
  • Option 2: Cannot resolve that Kylo Ren die special because it only just entered play as a viable candidate for resolution, and was not available when "Resolve Dice" was taken as an action.
-------------------------------------
 
CUNNING and SITH HOLOCRON
Player A controls Cunning. Player B controls Sith Holocron.
Cunning allows you to resolve a special ability on another card in play as if it were on your card.
Sith Holocron says "Switch this upgrade with a Blue ability upgrade in your hand, ignoring its play restrictions. Then you may spend 1 resource to roll its die into your pool, if able."
Player A uses Cunning to resolve a special ability on Player B's Sith Holocron card in play as if it were on Player A's card.
Does Player A...
  1. Part A1: Switch Sith Holocron into their (Player A's) hand?
  2. Part A2: Switch Sith Holocron into Player B's hand?
  3. Part A3: Discard Sith Holocron because it can't go into their (Player A's) hand?
  4. Part A4: Switch Cunning into their (Player A's) hand?
  1. Part B1: Do they then play one of the Blue ability upgrades from their (Player A's) hand?
  2. Part B2: Do they play one of the Blue ability upgrades from Player B's hand onto their own (Player A's) character who had Cunning?
  3. Part B3: Do they play one of the Blue ability upgrades from Player B's hand onto Player B's character who had Sith Holocron?
  4. Part B4: Do they play one of the Blue ability upgrades from their (Player A's) hand onto Player B's character who had Sith Holocron?
(note: Part A4 will, logically, result in Part B1. That said, it seems the most improbable conclusion.)
 
-------------------------------------
 
ONE WITH THE FORCE and death
Player A has One With The Force in play on Character. One With The Force's die is currently active, on the exhausted Character. Player B kills Character.
Card reads "Before attached character is defeated, this upgrade becomes a support for the rest of the game (it starts ready)". One With The Force, with the die currently active, becomes a Support Character.
So then...
  1. Option 1) The die remain in play, because it behaves like a Redeploy, with One With The Force in a Ready state, allowing you to use the die, then exhaust One With The Force to gain the die, then use the die again.
  2. Option 2) The die returns to the card, because the process of either Readying it or it becoming a Support meant the card has to re-enter play and subsequently exhaust so as to allow Player A to have access to the die.
-------------------------------------

QUI-GON JINN and shields
Does the action of applying surplus shields to Qui-Gon Jinn allow him to activate his card effect?
  1. Option 1) Yes, because it'd be before he received a shield, and the condition of maximum has yet to be verified when his effect enters the queue.
  2. Option 2) No, because he could not gain a shield, therefore his ability would not be able to trigger.

-------------------------------------

 

Any other quandaries are good; but this is less the place to argue them. I promise none of these are perfectly clarified currently, though there are some strong arguments for many of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding Qui-Gon Jinn, you should remove that from an FAQ request, as it is plainly written on the card that _before_ you gain shields you may remove one to do damage.

 

Then you add gained shields (and if you have surplus then they are removed).

 

An example:

 

Qui-Gon had three shields to start with and gains two. He can then remove one to do one damage, he gains the two and one flows off him since maximum is three.

 

Archie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another interaction that isn't 100% clear is, when a character becomes ready after having previously being activated, what happens to his characters and upgrade dice that are still in the pool?

The likely result is that both used and pool dice are all returned to the character and rerolled, but that is not specifically stated in the rules reference (unless I've overlooked it)


Also, agree that the Qui-Gonn clarification is not needed. His card wording covers this fine. Shields are removed before shields are gained.


Cheers for making this list!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

-------------------------------------

 

ONE WITH THE FORCE and death

Player A has One With The Force in play on Character. One With The Force's die is currently active, on the exhausted Character. Player B kills Character.

Card reads "Before attached character is defeated, this upgrade becomes a support for the rest of the game (it starts ready)". One With The Force, with the die currently active, becomes a Support Character.

So then...

  • Option 1) The die remain in play, because it behaves like a Redeploy, with One With The Force in a Ready state, allowing you to use the die, then exhaust One With The Force to gain the die, then use the die again.
  • Option 2) The die returns to the card, because the process of either Readying it or it becoming a Support meant the card has to re-enter play and subsequently exhaust so as to allow Player A to have access to the die.

 

"If a card with a matching die leaves play, the matching die is also immediately removed from the game and set aside. The removed die can enter the game again at a later time, if its card enters play again" Since One With The Force never leaves play, if the die is in your dice pool it should not leave. AND when you spend the OWTF die, it goes back to an untapped card, which means you can use it a second time. :) If the die was already used and OWTF turns into a support, you can still use it a second time that turn. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are going to have to excuse the generalities in my following anecdote, but I had a very similar problem come up in a game last weekend too.

 

I had Milennium Falcon dice rolled in the pool, so the support was exhausted.

I played an event that allowed me to ready any support.

I played the Millenium Falcon die and returned to the now-readied MF card.

I attempted to roll the MF die to return it to my pool, but was told I could not by my opponent because it had already been used that turn.

 

I thought that my opponent was wrong, but whenever there is a rules dispute I almost never press the issue if I am the beneficiary of what I consider to be the "correct" play, just to increase peace and harmony for all involved. So I simply moved on and allowed my opponents interpretation of the rule to ride.

 

However, it sounds like what you described Sug, would mean that my interpretation is correct, and I could have rolled my readied MF die and added back into my dice pool. Is that correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lucas said in the Knights of Ren interview that Cards you own can not go into other players Hands or Decks, and any effect that would attempt to do so fails in its entirety.  It's already a known issue that'll be in the FAQ, and answers the Mos Eisley Spaceport and Cunning+Holocron questions.   :)

Edited by IsawaChuckles

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great idea I think this really should be a sticky post pending further rule clarifications by FFG.

 

My question then comments on the original post. Rey's ability

If you have the resources and the upgrades can you attach and activate Rey's ability until you have 3 resources?  My buddy had 2 attachments, added a 3rd attachment his Special action was to replace one of the existing attachments. That was technically a new attachment as well so we agreed he could take another action.  We've seen ambush and Rey's ability described in other places, but is there any limit to stacking Rey's ability as long as you have the attachments and or resources.

 

---

Grievous/Spaceport - I think this one needs FFG clarification, I would think the attachment you took from the defeated player isn't yours so you couldn't return it to your hand.

 

Datapad\Kylo - you would need to resolve both specials at the same time then act on the in an order you choose.  Option 2 I believe is the appropriate answer.

 

Cunning\Holocron - Another I think FFG should clarify; you might be able to resolve the special but you don't own the upgrade so I don't think you could bounce the card.  So the question becomes can you resolve it without returning holocron to your hand.

 

One With The Force - the card never leaves play but I like the redeploy analogy and believe the die should be removed from the pool and placed on a readied support.  So with the other post that used the Millenium Falcon example I think you needed to use that Die before you Ready the support because that would cause the die to return to the card.

 

Quigon and shields - the first comment makes the most sense, resolve the first part and remove 1 shield then place shields on quigon up to 3.

---

 

Great post I look forward to the discussion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question about "discard this upgrade from play".

 

Destiny%20Card%20Question%20small.jpg

 

You'll notice that Hunker Down reads differently than the Thermal Detonator and the Infantry Grenades.  When Hunker Down is discarded, it goes to the discard pile.  Is the same true for the Thermal Detonator and the Infantry Grenades?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rule book uses "discard to the discard pile" (on p6 Events for example) and elsewhere "discard" (on p7 Upgrade for example).

 

As such I think the terms can be used in either form to mean the same thing.

 

DISCARD PILE p10:
The discard pile is a faceup pile near a player’s deck where they place their discarded cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 22.11.2016 at 5:21 AM, Kix said:
DATAPAD and KYLO REN (and any other effect that lets you use a Special to turn a die to a Special, or a Focus to turn a die to a Focus presumably). The below example is of the above card interaction, but can apply to most any such principle:
Kylo Ren's player has Datapad in play, and it has a Special on it, which will allow it to turn any die to a non-damage side. Kylo Ren's dice show, let's say, blanks.
Kylo Ren uses the Resolve Dice action on Special(s). He uses the Special on Datapad to turn his character die to a Special. He then...
  • Option 1: Resolves that Kylo Ren die Special he just turned his character die to, because he is resolving Specials and that die is available.
  • Option 2: Cannot resolve that Kylo Ren die special because it only just entered play as a viable candidate for resolution, and was not available when "Resolve Dice" was taken as an action.

Many pro players showed that option 1 is the option to go to without even talking about if there could be another way.

And I just checked, it's in the rules reference on page 14:

" A player can resolve any dice with the same symbol, even
if those dice were not showing that symbol when the player
started resolving dice."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/22/2016 at 6:19 PM, CaptKirkRx said:

Great idea I think this really should be a sticky post pending further rule clarifications by FFG.

 

My question then comments on the original post. Rey's ability

If you have the resources and the upgrades can you attach and activate Rey's ability until you have 3 resources?  My buddy had 2 attachments, added a 3rd attachment his Special action was to replace one of the existing attachments. That was technically a new attachment as well so we agreed he could take another action.  We've seen ambush and Rey's ability described in other places, but is there any limit to stacking Rey's ability as long as you have the attachments and or resources.

No, you can continue to stack on Rey.

 

In fact, if you went holdout, overwrite into holdout, you'd get to take three actions before you ended the turn because:

Holdout onto Rey (+2 actions for Rey and ambush), then take an action to overwrite holdout (-1 = 1, +2 ((Rey and Ambush)) = 3).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, ForAiur said:

Many pro players showed that option 1 is the option to go to without even talking about if there could be another way.

And I just checked, it's in the rules reference on page 14:

" A player can resolve any dice with the same symbol, even
if those dice were not showing that symbol when the player
started resolving dice."

The section you quoted wasn't in the rules when this question was originally asked and discussed, and those same "pro" players also thought you could keep on rolling dice like BB-8 or Black One in the same action as long as you kept hitting the special, which turned out to be wrong.

Seriously, even if you were perfectly right, who necros a two-month old thread just to gloat???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...