Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Scopi

Prized Possession

Recommended Posts

So Prized Possession states, "After you play this upgrade, you may remove an opponent's character die and place it here. It is not rolled by any character and does not return to its character unless this upgrade leaves play."

 

So if I grab the only character die a character has, can it still be activated? I'm pretty sure it can, but I can see the rules being interpreted either way. Any thoughts?

Edited by Scopi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A character doesn't need a character die to activate. When you activate a character you roll all of it's dice. All includes zero.

 

RRG, pg 14:

"To activate a character or support card, a player exhausts
that card and rolls all of its dice. These dice are now in that
player’s dice pool, and that player can take an action on a
future turn to resolve their symbols"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Better question: One with the force becomes support. What about the die? Does it stay in the pool? If yes, can I activate One with the force?

Similar: I activate AT-ST, then some effect ready it. Can I activate it (while its die is in the pool)? Do I roll the die again?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Better question: One with the force becomes support. What about the die? Does it stay in the pool? If yes, can I activate One with the force?

Similar: I activate AT-ST, then some effect ready it. Can I activate it (while its die is in the pool)? Do I roll the die again?

 

I don't know the text of those cards, but in the second example I'm pretty sure the answer is, yes you can activate it (and trigger effects that happen when activated), no, you don't roll the die if it's in the pool. A die is only rolled if it's on a card. If the die is in the pool and the character/support is activated, nothing would be rolled (except any upgrades with dice on them attached to a character). I have Bala-Tik, and he is in the same boat; he can be readied by an opponent's character being defeated, but the only time I've made it happen in a game his die was in the pool on the blank side, so it didn't really matter.

Edited by Scopi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This seems like an unrelated question

 

Better question: One with the force becomes support. What about the die? Does it stay in the pool? If yes, can I activate One with the force?
Similar: I activate AT-ST, then some effect ready it. Can I activate it (while its die is in the pool)? Do I roll the die again?

 

This seems like an unrelated question, as One with the force would not become support from someone using prized possession. When a person with it is killed, it does become support - and just like with redeploy the die is removed and placed on the card. You would be able to activate the card again as a support card and when you do so roll it again. 

 

 

Activating the AT-ST would let you roll the die again if it was on the card, so you should resolve the die in the pool before activating AT-ST a second time. 

Edited by Dysz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Can the Die you remove with Prized Possesion be one from an Opponents unactivated Character?

No.  Only dice in a Pool can be manipulated.

 

Where is this in the rules? Is not ironic just to know

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Better question: One with the force becomes support. What about the die? Does it stay in the pool? If yes, can I activate One with the force?

Similar: I activate AT-ST, then some effect ready it. Can I activate it (while its die is in the pool)? Do I roll the die again?

 

I don't know the text of those cards, but in the second example I'm pretty sure the answer is, yes you can activate it (and trigger effects that happen when activated), no, you don't roll the die if it's in the pool. A die is only rolled if it's on a card. If the die is in the pool and the character/support is activated, nothing would be rolled (except any upgrades with dice on them attached to a character). I have Bala-Tik, and he is in the same boat; he can be readied by an opponent's character being defeated, but the only time I've made it happen in a game his die was in the pool on the blank side, so it didn't really matter.

 

 

I don't know about this. There's nothing in the rules reference that says when you activate a card, you only roll the dice that are on the card. It says you roll ALL the dice associated with the character and it's upgrades.

 

 

"All of the dice associated with a character (its character and upgrade dice) must be rolled when that character is activated. A player cannot pick and choose which dice to roll."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This seems like an unrelated question, as One with the force would not become support from someone using prized possession. When a person with it is killed, it does become support - and just like with redeploy the die is removed and placed on the card. You would be able to activate the card again as a support card and when you do so roll it again. 

Actually, it's not just like redeploy. Redeploy resolves after the character is defeated, and One With the Force resolves before. That's also before its die is placed in the card, so i would say tge die stays in the pool.

About the other matter, dice in the pool have already been rolled. I'm not sure if they can only be rerolled, but not rolled (again).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This seems like an unrelated question

 

Better question: One with the force becomes support. What about the die? Does it stay in the pool? If yes, can I activate One with the force?

Similar: I activate AT-ST, then some effect ready it. Can I activate it (while its die is in the pool)? Do I roll the die again?

 

This seems like an unrelated question, as One with the force would not become support from someone using prized possession. When a person with it is killed, it does become support - and just like with redeploy the die is removed and placed on the card. You would be able to activate the card again as a support card and when you do so roll it again. 

 

 

 

If the die for One with the Force is in the pool when a character is defeated, the die remains in the pool. One with the Force can then be activated again in the same round.

 

http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/33838-one-with-the-force-becoming-a-support/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

About the other matter, dice in the pool have already been rolled. I'm not sure if they can only be rerolled, but not rolled (again).

 

 

That would be the argument that's floating around against it it working that way. I could see it going either way. Semantics is fun.

 

It would be nice as it gives certain things a little more flexibility (Bala-Tik and Leadership).

Edited by netherspirit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Can the Die you remove with Prized Possesion be one from an Opponents unactivated Character?

No.  Only dice in a Pool can be manipulated.

 

Where is this in the rules? Is not ironic just to know

 

DICE POOL  RRG_1.1  PG 10
This is where dice are rolled. Each player has their own dice
pool. Dice are always placed on their matching cards when
not in a dice pool.
••A player can only resolve dice in their own dice pool.
••Dice in a player’s dice pool can be manipulated (removed,
turned, etc.) or used as a reference for card effects that
require a specific side to be showing.
 
DICE ON CARDS RRG_1.1  PG 10
When dice are not in a dice pool, they are placed on their
matching card.
••These dice are not active, cannot be manipulated, and none
of their sides are considered to be showing.
Edited by Versch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I line playing prized possession, beating that character essentially dead and then Playing a second copy for free to replace the old card and take a different character dice.

 

while hilarious, unless you have a huge generation of resources in your deck, wouldn't it be more worth it to beat down the stronger character first while leaving the other neutered?  you'll take less damage overall and save 4 resources to spend on other upgrades, support and events

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I line playing prized possession, beating that character essentially dead and then Playing a second copy for free to replace the old card and take a different character dice.

 

while hilarious, unless you have a huge generation of resources in your deck, wouldn't it be more worth it to beat down the stronger character first while leaving the other neutered?  you'll take less damage overall and save 4 resources to spend on other upgrades, support and events

So far I've had success neutering their strongest character and then targeting that character. Then right as that character is dead, replace It with the same card for no cost and neuter a second character.

It's still a pain to get hose initial 4 resources though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I line playing prized possession, beating that character essentially dead and then Playing a second copy for free to replace the old card and take a different character dice.

 

while hilarious, unless you have a huge generation of resources in your deck, wouldn't it be more worth it to beat down the stronger character first while leaving the other neutered?  you'll take less damage overall and save 4 resources to spend on other upgrades, support and events

So far I've had success neutering their strongest character and then targeting that character. Then right as that character is dead, replace It with the same card for no cost and neuter a second character.

It's still a pain to get hose initial 4 resources though.

 

My question though is, how does it stack? If you get rid of the first Prized Possession (even by playing a new one over it), isn't that upgrade "leaving play" therefore their dice is returned to them?

~D

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I line playing prized possession, beating that character essentially dead and then Playing a second copy for free to replace the old card and take a different character dice.

 

while hilarious, unless you have a huge generation of resources in your deck, wouldn't it be more worth it to beat down the stronger character first while leaving the other neutered?  you'll take less damage overall and save 4 resources to spend on other upgrades, support and events

So far I've had success neutering their strongest character and then targeting that character. Then right as that character is dead, replace It with the same card for no cost and neuter a second character.

It's still a pain to get hose initial 4 resources though.

 

 

also assuming you draw the secondary one from your deck before you kill the first one

i mean, i guess it depends on which characters you're facing that will ultimately make your decision a must, such as an eVader, neuter him and beat him down because his ability alone is annoying and it's much easier to deal with what ever else he's paired up with.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

I line playing prized possession, beating that character essentially dead and then Playing a second copy for free to replace the old card and take a different character dice.

 

while hilarious, unless you have a huge generation of resources in your deck, wouldn't it be more worth it to beat down the stronger character first while leaving the other neutered?  you'll take less damage overall and save 4 resources to spend on other upgrades, support and events

So far I've had success neutering their strongest character and then targeting that character. Then right as that character is dead, replace It with the same card for no cost and neuter a second character.

It's still a pain to get hose initial 4 resources though.

 

My question though is, how does it stack? If you get rid of the first Prized Possession (even by playing a new one over it), isn't that upgrade "leaving play" therefore their dice is returned to them?

~D

 

 

 

If the character whose die has been taken by Prized Possession is defeated, the die still remains on the card. After they're defeated, you then play a second PP, removing the original Prized and returning their character's die (but who cares, they've been defeated) and then use the new prized to grab the die of another one of their characters.

Edited by malcogent

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Except you can't play the second instance per the rulebook:

 

"A player cannot have more than one copy of a unique card in play at the same time. There cannot be more than one copy of a unique character on a team, and a player cannot play a unique support or unique upgrade if they already have another copy of that card in play."

 

There is no rule that I can find that allows you to overwrite a unique card in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Except you can't play the second instance per the rulebook:

 

"A player cannot have more than one copy of a unique card in play at the same time. There cannot be more than one copy of a unique character on a team, and a player cannot play a unique support or unique upgrade if they already have another copy of that card in play."

 

There is no rule that I can find that allows you to overwrite a unique card in play.

 

that's because when you go to play another ability or upgrade you can sacrifice one that's currently in play to pay partial or full for another upgrade, so you've already removed the first prized possession before the secondary one has even hit the field

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was originally thinking it was a support card.....but on the other hand, You are not allowed to discard a previous upgrade until you play the new upgrade.....so if you are not allowed to play the card, how do you get to the discard step?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was originally thinking it was a support card.....but on the other hand, You are not allowed to discard a previous upgrade until you play the new upgrade.....so if you are not allowed to play the card, how do you get to the discard step?

 

you can't play more than 3 upgrades on a character, so your window timing seems flawed, in order to play that final upgrade you must first remove one of the 3 upgrades and you can use it to pay for the cost of the new one that's coming in

 

how else are you able to use currently equipped upgrades to pay for the new upgrade you wish to play? you first have to get rid of them to gain the resources to pay for that upgrade in the first place

for instance.  say i only have 2 resources in play, but my prized possession costs 4.  but i already have a prized possession that contains the die of a character that has been killed.  i remove that prized possession to gain those 4 resources (these resources never actually come into your resource pool in token form) and use them to pay for the next one coming in and take control of a new die of my choice

Edited by executor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe you can't replace a unique upgrade with itself, because you can't even play the card from your hand.

 

"There cannot be more than one copy of a unique character on a team, and a player cannot play a unique support or unique upgrade if they already have another copy of that card in play."

 

Not only that, look at how you're supposed to play upgrades, you put it in play first, then replace one if you want, then you pay the cost..so...

 

"Playing an Upgrade: The player chooses and attaches the upgrade to a character by placing it next to or below that character. Before paying the cost to play an upgrade, the player can choose to replace an upgrade that is already on the chosen character. The cost to play the new upgrade is decreased by the cost of the old upgrade, and the old upgrade is discarded when the new one comes into play. If the old upgrade costs equal to or more than the new one, then the new upgrade is free."

Edited by netherspirit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I was originally thinking it was a support card.....but on the other hand, You are not allowed to discard a previous upgrade until you play the new upgrade.....so if you are not allowed to play the card, how do you get to the discard step?

 

you can't play more than 3 upgrades on a character, so your window timing seems flawed, in order to play that final upgrade you must first remove one of the 3 upgrades and you can use it to pay for the cost of the new one that's coming in

 

how else are you able to use currently equipped upgrades to pay for the new upgrade you wish to play? you first have to get rid of them to gain the resources to pay for that upgrade in the first place

for instance.  say i only have 2 resources in play, but my prized possession costs 4.  but i already have a prized possession that contains the die of a character that has been killed.  i remove that prized possession to gain those 4 resources (these resources never actually come into your resource pool in token form) and use them to pay for the next one coming in and take control of a new die of my choice

 

Actually looking at the rules and the FAQ reference, there is no clear "decision" on how this works. There's logic to both:

 

Lusiphor's point: the ability to play a unique card must be allowed to play on the table first, with it already being on the table, it's an "illegal" action to attempt to play it on the table. Whether the end result is the first unique is going to be discard or not. The second copy cannot be played because it was an illegal action to play a second unique card.

 

executor's point: at what point does the option to play the fourth upgrade come into play? do you have to "discard/remove" one of the three upgrades first, or does the fourth play on the character and THEN have to discard down to three?

 

Edit: netherspirit basically said what I was trying to point out, but I can see it being a little muddy in the understanding/timing.

 

~D

Edited by HoodieDM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...