Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Filippo

Living Doll's curiosity

Recommended Posts

LIVING DOLL

You must take the Doll and ditch all of your other Objects. You may have no other Objects until you visit the Alchemist in the City and discard this Object to gain a gold.

 

 

What's the point of this part of description? It's totally useless: Every object can be discarded to gain a gold.

 

ps: It's different from Opal. Opal is "justified" by Prospector.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LIVING DOLL

You must take the Doll and ditch all of your other Objects. You may have no other Objects until you visit the Alchemist in the City and discard this Object to gain a gold.

 

 

What's the point of this part of description? It's totally useless: Every object can be discarded to gain a gold.

 

ps: It's different from Opal. Opal is "justified" by Prospector.

I guess it's there simply to give players a clue as to how they can get rid of it. 

 

Opal's text isn't justified by prospector, because all prospector needs is object's name, not abilities. In other words, it opal had no text whatsoever, it would still works exactly the same with prospector.

Edited by Bludgeon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say it's there because you usually can't voluntarily discard cursed objects (or followers) and this is an exception to that rule.

I disagree. Cursed is about ditching, not discard. I can discard what I want: it's not stated by the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

LIVING DOLL

You must take the Doll and ditch all of your other Objects. You may have no other Objects until you visit the Alchemist in the City and discard this Object to gain a gold.

 

 

What's the point of this part of description? It's totally useless: Every object can be discarded to gain a gold.

 

ps: It's different from Opal. Opal is "justified" by Prospector.

I guess it's there simply to give players a clue as to how they can get rid of it. 

 

Opal's text isn't justified by prospector, because all prospector needs is object's name, not abilities. In other words, it opal had no text whatsoever, it would still works exactly the same with prospector.

 

PROSPECTOR

You may sell any of your gems to the Prospector; discard the LodestoneOpalEmeraldRuby, orDiamond as if you were at the City and gain the indicated amount of gold.

Abilities of cards are considerable. Opal's text is justified by prospector because the ability. Living doll's text is not justified by other cards like prospector.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I would say it's there because you usually can't voluntarily discard cursed objects (or followers) and this is an exception to that rule.

I disagree. Cursed is about ditching, not discard. I can discard what I want: it's not stated by the rules.

 

 

The only time you actually discard anything is when you are instructed to discard something. If you choose to drop something, it is solely considered as ditching!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I would say it's there because you usually can't voluntarily discard cursed objects (or followers) and this is an exception to that rule.

I disagree. Cursed is about ditching, not discard. I can discard what I want: it's not stated by the rules.

 

 

The only time you actually discard anything is when you are instructed to discard something. If you choose to drop something, it is solely considered as ditching!

 

Of course. I mean, I can voluntarily discard cursed objects when I visit the alchemist.

Edited by Filippo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LIVING DOLL

You must take the Doll and ditch all of your other Objects. You may have no other Objects until you visit the Alchemist in the City and discard this Object to gain a gold.

 

 

What's the point of this part of description? It's totally useless: Every object can be discarded to gain a gold.

 

ps: It's different from Opal. Opal is "justified" by Prospector.

This is an interesting condition.  Does this mean that you cannot use the Alchemy spell, the Alchemist follower, or the Alchemist character's special ability to get rid of the Living Doll?  With such an explicit condition for getting rid of the Living Doll, I would say that yes, it does mean that.

 

Or, more accurately, if you use any of those other means to get rid of the Living Doll, the condition of not being able to have any other objects remains in effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...