Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Osbo25

Teleporting to the Crown of Command is Against the Rules

Recommended Posts

I have never been a fan of using Arknell, etc. to jump directly to the Crown of Command.  It turns out that this is an illegal move.

 

From the Talisman Core Rulebook, p. 20: "The last space on the board is the Crown of Command. It can only be reached from the Valley of Fire space, which can only be entered by characters that have a Talisman."

 

You cannot get to the Crown of Command without going through the Valley of Fire.

 

I'm not happy about the teleport from the Lord of Darkness, but at least that's written onto the board.  But any other teleport is not allowable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting question. I can certainly see where you're going it has this. I also dislike the teleport option through the inner region and would like to agree with this. I've to run this through my gaming group.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Arnkel, Cloak of Feathers, the "switch spaces"-spell and so on are all legal. They override core rules just like the Lord of Darkness result.

 

..and for anyone reading this who is not super into the rules: The teleportation spell does not work. This is because it is worded "instead of rolling for movement", the others are worded "instead of your move". This is intentional. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Arnkel, Cloak of Feathers, the "switch spaces"-spell and so on are all legal. They override core rules just like the Lord of Darkness result.

 

..and for anyone reading this who is not super into the rules: The teleportation spell does not work. This is because it is worded "instead of rolling for movement", the others are worded "instead of your move". This is intentional. 

Where do those cards grant special permission to override the rules of the game? The standing rule is that you must travel through the Valley of Fire.  It requires special permission to break that rule (such as the Lord of Darkness).  Without explicitly stating that they override the standing rules of the game, they do not override the standing rules of the game.  Otherwise, what's the point of having standing rules?

Because the rule explicitly states that a character must pass through the Valley of Fire with a Talisman, unless something gives pointed exception to that rule, the rule stands.

 

So no, it is against the rules to teleport from the Plain of Peril (or any other inner region space) to the Crown of Command.

Edited by Osbo25

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>Where do those cards grant special permission to override the rules of the game?<

 

If the card say "any space", you can choose any space. The card overrules the rulebook.

 

Think about how the inner region is structured, as in what spaces are next to eachother. If the rule about going to CoC only from VoF wasn't there, you could just walk into Mines and then straight into CoC. That's what the rule is for - to force players to go to VoF first. It isn't there to prevent teleportation.

Edited by Bludgeon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Arnkel, Cloak of Feathers, the "switch spaces"-spell and so on are all legal. They override core rules just like the Lord of Darkness result.

 

..and for anyone reading this who is not super into the rules: The teleportation spell does not work. This is because it is worded "instead of rolling for movement", the others are worded "instead of your move". This is intentional. 

Where do those cards grant special permission to override the rules of the game? The standing rule is that you must travel through the Valley of Fire.  It requires special permission to break that rule (such as the Lord of Darkness).  Without explicitly stating that they override the standing rules of the game, they do not override the standing rules of the game.  Otherwise, what's the point of having standing rules?

Because the rule explicitly states that a character must pass through the Valley of Fire with a Talisman, unless something gives pointed exception to that rule, the rule stands.

 

So no, it is against the rules to teleport from the Plain of Peril (or any other inner region space) to the Crown of Command.

 

 

The FAQ 1.1 explicitly states that the Arnkell does this, and also explains that anything with the mention of "instead of moving normally" that also includes teleporting within the Region does as well. Furthering this is the Golden Rule of Special Abilities Vs. Rules, which also says that any card effect that conflicts with a rule is resolved by giving deference to the card effect.

 

I personally wish the game did not include such loopholes, but that is how it is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where do those cards grant special permission to override the rules of the game? The standing rule is that you must travel through the Valley of Fire.  It requires special permission to break that rule (such as the Lord of Darkness).  Without explicitly stating that they override the standing rules of the game, they do not override the standing rules of the game.  Otherwise, what's the point of having standing rules?

Here:

 

Special Ability vs. Rules

In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variance

with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always

overrides the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[This topic is a question!]
'Teleporting to the Crown of Command is Against the Rules?'

 

NO!

 

Some further answers and explanations:

 

Golden Rules (see Talisman core rule book)

The following rules are Talisman’s “Golden Rules,” which
supersede all others.

Special Ability vs. Rules
In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a vari-
ance with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always
overrides the rules.

 

Arnkell (see FAQ 1.1)

Q: Can a character in the Inner Region use the Arnkell to
teleport to the Crown of Command space?

 

A: Yes

Emerge From the Treasure Chamber (see Dungeon rules)

After a character kills the Lord of Darkness, has a stand-off,
or is defeated, he must leave the Treasure Chamber and deter-
mine where he emerges on the board.

To determine where the character emerges, subtract the Lord
of Darkness’s attack score from the character’s attack score
and consult the chart on the Treasure Chamber space. The
greater a character’s attack score, the closer he emerges to the
Inner Region. If a character’s attack score beats the Lord of
Darkness’s score by eight or more, he emerges directly on the
Crown of Command! If the Lord of Darkness’s attack score is
greater than the character’s attack score, the character must
use the “0” result on the Treasure Chamber’s chart.

Characters that emerge on the Crown of Command do not need
to have a Talisman to enter the space.


If a character kills the Lord of Darkness without resolving an
attack (such as by casting the Finger of Death Spell), the char-
acter must use the “0” result on the Treasure Chamber’s chart.

Edited by azoic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...