Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
StalkinPanda

Damage on assets

Recommended Posts

Bit unclear about damage/horror. Can you divide damage/horror?

For example: an enemy does 3 damage. Can you then assign two damage to your investigator and 1 to an asset (with a health value) or do you assign all danage from a single source to the same subject?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can split it up as desired, with the condition that you can't allocate more than the maximum for a given asset.

 

That's a bit of a bummer. In LOTR, if you receive, say, 5 points of direct damage, you can assign it all to a 1-HP ally and just massively overkill them to protect everyone else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

You can split it up as desired, with the condition that you can't allocate more than the maximum for a given asset.

 

That's a bit of a bummer. In LOTR, if you receive, say, 5 points of direct damage, you can assign it all to a 1-HP ally and just massively overkill them to protect everyone else.

 

 

Eh, I never really liked the way that worked in LotR, so color me fine with this.

 

I assume they'll bear the differences in mind in design scenarios and enemies so that chump blocking isn't necessary like it is in LotR.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's a bit of a bummer. In LOTR, if you receive, say, 5 points of direct damage, you can assign it all to a 1-HP ally and just massively overkill them to protect everyone else.

 

Only if it says "deal 5 damage to a character you control." If it says "deal 5 damage among characters you control" (as with Archery), you can only assign each character enough damage to defeat them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's a bit of a bummer. In LOTR, if you receive, say, 5 points of direct damage, you can assign it all to a 1-HP ally and just massively overkill them to protect everyone else.

 

Only if it says "deal 5 damage to a character you control." If it says "deal 5 damage among characters you control" (as with Archery), you can only assign each character enough damage to defeat them.

Ah, the Boromir rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RRG, page 4:

 

Some assets have health and/or sanity. When an investigator is dealt damage or horror, that investigator may assign some or all of that damage or horror to eligible asset cards he or she controls (see “Dealing Damage/Horror” on page 7).

 

RRG, page 7:

An asset cannot be assigned damage beyond the amount of damage it would take to defeat the card, and cannot be assigned horror beyond the amount of horror it would take to defeat the card.
Edited by tropoFarmer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yep : 

 

==After applying damage/horror, if an asset has damage equal

to or higher than its health or horror equal to or higher than

its sanity, it is defeated and placed in its owner’s discard pile.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...