Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Drakthal

Rule questions "after reading lightly"

Recommended Posts

 

Nice one. 

Loads of combos/situations explained and best of all a clear answer to the question about multiple copies of character specific cards. 

 

Loving the Hunter question/situation at Nr 6 :) 

Edited by florianhess

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I will just continue with stupid questions in this thread :) If i choose to engage an exhausted creature, will it then still be exhausted when it enters my threatarea?

If that is the case. Then will it attack once it is the enemy phase or does it have to be ready and not just in my threat area?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I will just continue with stupid questions in this thread :) If i choose to engage an exhausted creature, will it then still be exhausted when it enters my threatarea?

If that is the case. Then will it attack once it is the enemy phase or does it have to be ready and not just in my threat area?

 

Engage Action, p. 11, references engaging an exhausted enemy. 

Can't find anywhere that this would ready the enemy hence it would not attack the investigator in the enemy phase due to it being exhausted. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you engage an enemy, you place that enemy card into your threat area (unless it's Massive). Its ready / exhausted status does not change.

 

Exhausted enemies do not move or attack during the enemy phase, do not make attacks of opportunity or retaliate.

Edited by mplain

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4. Attacking an enemy will not make you engaged with that enemy. The enemy will remain unengaged / engaged with another player.

 

I'll let you and others come up with thematic explanations for all that, I'm just here for the rules and mechanics :)

 

Wendy ducks past the Ghoul and lures it into an ambush. After an intense game of cat-and-mouse, Roland turns the tables on the cultist hunting him. Agnes informs Skids of the terrible creature that attacked her at the library; thus forewarned, he's able to get the drop on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still a little unclear on "Nearest." Who determines which way an enemy goes in the case of a tie (Hunter in the Hall, Roland in the Attic, Wendy in the Cellar)? I would assume the lead investigator, but if that was spelled out in the LTP or RRG, I must've missed it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still a little unclear on "Nearest." Who determines which way an enemy goes in the case of a tie (Hunter in the Hall, Roland in the Attic, Wendy in the Cellar)? I would assume the lead investigator, but if that was spelled out in the LTP or RRG, I must've missed it.

 

Lead Investigator chooses in any situation the Grim Rule does not apply

Edited by CEOWolf

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still a little unclear on "Nearest." Who determines which way an enemy goes in the case of a tie (Hunter in the Hall, Roland in the Attic, Wendy in the Cellar)? I would assume the lead investigator, but if that was spelled out in the LTP or RRG, I must've missed it.

Second bullet under Prey - Lead Investigator chooses

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still a little unclear on "Nearest." Who determines which way an enemy goes in the case of a tie (Hunter in the Hall, Roland in the Attic, Wendy in the Cellar)? I would assume the lead investigator, but if that was spelled out in the LTP or RRG, I must've missed it.

 

That is spelled out in the RRG. Lead Investigator chooses if there's a tie, I think under either Hunter or Prey entry but I forget exactly where.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Think of evasion like this. It isn't hiding, it is forcing the enemy to focus on you. For a large enemy or whatever, this enemy is chasing your evasion specialist around the room because they kicked it in the shin and are throwing tables in its way. It is focused on the crazy O'Toole guy because he is constantly shouting, but staying out of reach. It isn't just hiding, but evading. I can evade someone by climbing a fence or by pulling a Scooby Doo. While hiding does work, there are other ways to evade. Maybe one person is a martial artist and sits there blocking tentacles all round. There are some possible explanations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

If there are multiple equidistant investigators who qualify as “the nearest investigator,” the enemy moves towards the one of those who best meets its prey instructions. If none do, or if the enemy has no prey instructions, the lead investigator may choose an investigator for the enemy to move towards. 

 

 

Ahh, there it is, under Hunter, page 12. I must've skimmed over that second sentence.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7. Lets say a hunter creature is unengaged and on the hallway. Furthermore it has prey lowest agi. This is a two investigator game and in the hallway is an investigator with 4 agi and in the cellar is a 2 agi investigator. Who will the hunter go for?

8. Can a creature with prey lowest agi that is already engaged with a target, go for someone else in the same location if that person suits the prey requirement more?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7. Lets say a hunter creature is unengaged and on the hallway. Furthermore it has prey lowest agi. This is a two investigator game and in the hallway is an investigator with 4 agi and in the cellar is a 2 agi investigator. Who will the hunter go for?

I think it would engage the 4 agility investigator that is currently at its location. However, if the prey instructions for the enemy were to prey upon "only the lowest agility" investigator then it would ignore the hallway investigator and move to engage the agility 2 investigator.

 

8. Can a creature with prey lowest agi that is already engaged with a target, go for someone else in the same location if that person suits the prey requirement more?

I don't think enemies can change their target once they have engaged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

7. Lets say a hunter creature is unengaged and on the hallway. Furthermore it has prey lowest agi. This is a two investigator game and in the hallway is an investigator with 4 agi and in the cellar is a 2 agi investigator. Who will the hunter go for?

I think it would engage the 4 agility investigator that is currently at its location. However, if the prey instructions for the enemy were to prey upon "only the lowest agility" investigator then it would ignore the hallway investigator and move to engage the agility 2 investigator.

 

8. Can a creature with prey lowest agi that is already engaged with a target, go for someone else in the same location if that person suits the prey requirement more?

I don't think enemies can change their target once they have engaged.

 

 

I believe this is correct on all counts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let me just add an "engagement" question. One can engage an enemy engaged with another player (Learn to play - engagement). This should break the engagement with the old player and make the enemy engaged only with the new player. While this should be how it works, I cannot find this perfectly clarified anywhere so I just want to confirm, that the old engagement is indeed broken - therefore, spending two actions, Wendy could engage the monster that Roland is engaged with and couldn't quite kill this round, evade it and thus make the monster not attack this round. Right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Exactly. A non-Massive enemy can only be engaged with one investigator at a time, because the card itself can only physically be in one investigator's threat area. Engaging an enemy just to evade it is actually a very useful tactic, since some "boss" monsters have Prey abilities that will generally prioritize Roland over Wendy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...