Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
darealkooky

Question about mental restraint psychic power.

Recommended Posts

Does it stack? If I use it on someone multiple times in a round and they all hit, could I prevent them from doing 4-5 different active actions?

 

Obviously everything is up to house rule interpretation, but some kind of guideline if it exists would be nice to have.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see no reason why you shouldn't be able to use the same power several times in one turn:

 

"Characters can use more than one Psychic Power per turn, depending on their Psychic Potential score. When it comes to using their mental abilities, characters may employ as many Powers as they wish during the course of any given turn." - The use of psychic powers page 192.
 
Just remember that you split your potential doing this so the target will likely end up with some pretty easy PsR rolls. 
 
"Characters wanting to use more than one Power per turn divide their Psychic Potential the Powers they want to use. They are free to allocate more points to those Powers they wish to enhance the most. For instance, a character with a +50 Psychic Potential using two mental abilities may choose to apply +15 to the first Power and save the remaining +35 for the second. It is not possible to apply less than +10 to any given Power. Therefore, a character with a +40 Potential can use only 4 Psychic Powers per turn by splitting his potential into four +10 bonuses." - Psychic potential page 192.

 

Finally if you want to maintain the powers it will take 1 innate slot pr. maintained power.

 

In the end it is possible, but likely not useful unless you are a fair bit stronger then the target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the response.

 

I'm aware of how splitting your potential works, but there's two things you aren't realizing: the advantage psychic ambivalence (+5 * number of powers when using multiple powers per turn) and the courage mental pattern (automatically use a higher result with offensive powers,) that make this more viable.

 

Lets say I have +60 potential, and want to use mental restraint which I spent 1point to strengthen for another +10. Because I have +60 I can use the power 6 times at +10. However I get a +30 (6*5) potential from ambivalence and then a +10 for strengthening.

 

This means that I can turn one power at +70 into six powers at +50. Because of the courage mental pattern all six of these are automatically Medium difficulty (80 Psr) at worse, and if I roll better than 30 they're Difficult (100 PsR) because I actually need to hit a level of 40 or 80 and automatically bump it up.

 

This is all how this stuff works, yes? You don't need to maintain a power if you just use it again the next round, right? Because even if these results are a bit lower than I could by just using the power once, I feel that having to roll six times at slightly lower numbers is way better odds than rolling once with bigger ones, especially in the case of a power like mental restraint where each one that hits can do something different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is strong, maybe even broken, but the way I read the rules it should be allowed.

 

Remember if you don't maintain the power and lose initiative the next round you are in trouble.

 

Anima have a lot of these things that feel broken but the GM can usually play around any "one trick ponies" out there. Here is how I would counter it as a GM:

 

1. I would invoke the "limits subject's freedom" for +20 to the check if used in combat to limit my ability to attack.

 

2. I could use a nemesis char with matrix cancellation to punish many small abilities.

 

3. I would use a high initiative character to punish the -20 defensive projection.

 

All in all this is strong but no more overpowered the a lot of other stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought ambivalence added to the total, not each individual power.

 

My math would be +60 potential split into 6 groups of +10, plus the +30 also split into the six groups, then add the +10 to each, then figure the courage. . .

 

So, shorthand:: (60/6) + (30/6) + 10 = 25 (then increase to next level) making 40 or Basic difficulty at worst. I don't have the page, so I can't say whether that changes anything or not.

 

Did I misunderstand?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is the direct quote from the example given in the GM book.

 

A mentalist with a Psychic Potential of 100 declares that he will
use three powers that round, dividing his bonus into +40, +35, and
+25 respectively. However, he also has Psychic Ambivalence, which
allows him to add a total of +15 to each, given that he is using three
powers, resulting in final bonuses if +55, +50 and +40.

 

3 powers = +15 to all three, you add the full bonus to every one

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A small sidenode to your mental restraint example. You could use the same trick with the "Ballistics" power which would be incredibly overpowered so as a GM I would probably be careful when allowing this method to be used.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...